We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Preference for the Four Season or Ritz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
Ranked #3 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Preference for the Four Season or Ritz”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We just returned from a long weekend in Chicago. We have enjoyed staying at either the Ritz or Four Seasons several times a year for the past four or five years. After reading so many positive reviews about the Peninsula, we decided to switch it up a little. We truly did go into the weekend with an open mind, ready to be amazed. I guess it is best to leave a good thing alone and stay loyal to the business who has treated you well. We have grown to really enjoy a warm, inviting place after being out for the day or evening. We did not experience that feel at the Peninsula.

The hotel is beautiful, the suite was well appointed (yet smaller than the accommodations at the previously mentioned hotels for similar dollars), the housekeeping service was very routine and thorough, but a few things were not as well delivered.

For example, when I call the concierge for a dinner suggestion, I prefer a concrete recommendation, not four or five wishy washy options that could work. When I called to inquire about the best option for Cubs tickets, I was told that they could work on it or I could just research the best tickets online. Similarly, the bell staff was adequate, but not over the top. It is adequate to obtain the taxi, but exceptional to tell the driver where the guest is headed.

We travel with our children, and there is no comparison between the Peninsula pool and the pool at the Four Seasons. Granted, the pool at the Peninsula is very pretty, and room service is glad to deliver a meal if desired. It is not a family friendly environment though. The hotel also did not provide children friendly amenities, like shampoo or robes that fit. These may seem like little things, but when you are used to that kind of service, an expectation is set when visiting this kind of property.

Lastly, coffee availability in the room would have been nice. Instead, we ordered room service every morning to just have coffee delivered. We also had room service the first night so we could make a show on time. It was timely, safe, but nothing we ordered was over the top. One dining experience that did wow us was the chocolate dessert that is available on Friday and Saturday nights- well worth it.

You cannot beat the location and again the hotel is very pretty. However, there was something missing as far as the warm, friendly, and comfortable environment that a property like this should be delivering to its guests.

Room Tip: We were in a suite that had decent views of the Michigan Avenue, no lake view which is very common i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CBDigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear CBDigger,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for sharing your review. We are very disappointed to learn you found the staff to be mediocre, and our hotel not family friendly but we appreciate the feedback as an opportunity for improvement. It is concerning you did not find the staff to be friendly or helpful and we find this unacceptable. I would be grateful for the opportunity to speak with you directly and I hope you will please contact me directly at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com.

We hope to welcome you and your family back for a Peninsula experience.

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,179
    140
    54
    18
    15
See reviews for
246
440
75
427
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have been staying at The Peninsula Chicago for many years and it is about time that I write a review! The location, the staff, the food, the service is ALWAYS on point! When traveling to Chicago this is the only place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Best hotel in town for service, accommodation and location. Staff were friendly, food was excellent, and the gym was clean. We were upgraded to a great corner suite without asking and the staff made sure every detail was perfect. This is a great location for business or personal travel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eleftherios M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Peninsula is simply magnificent! I stay here every time I visit Chicago which is on average five to six times a year. They know us there. I have a son who uses their concierge even when we are not staying there and no one questions it. It is like returning home when we enter the revolving doors. You cannot beat the location just off the Michigan Ave, yet faces onto it. Luxury, incredible attention to detail, amazing beds, a shower I would love to have at home, and service that is top notch. Everyone goes out of his/her way to make your stay the best it can be. Ritz-Carlton may have the awards for excellence in service but The Peninsula Chicago lives it every day. Probably only one of two hotels where I have bothered to write the manager and say how special my stay was and who made it so. It is truly a hotel worth the price because it is so wonderful when you "come home" to it

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bemvindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
252 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed on their "Urban Retreat" package for our recent anniversary weekend. It was fantastic! Their attention to detail is especially memorable. All of the staff somehow knew it was our anniversary and offered congratulations. The package included an afternoon in their onsite spa with a couples massage...very relaxing. We also took advantage of being onsite to enjoy dinner at the highly rate Shanghai Terrace restaurant as well as afternoon tea in The Lobby restaurant. We lived in England for 4 years and this is the best afternoon cream tea I've had since England. Our room was beautifully appointed with a nice view of Chicago's historic Water Tower and Lake Michigan beyond. I also ordered a selection of chocolate delights as an in room gift for my wife and we weren't disappointed. This was our first experience staying at a Peninsula property and their reputation for excellence is well deserved.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I think my partner will regret taking me to the Peninsula. I am now spoiled and won't want to stay anywhere else!

The location is fantastic if you want to get out and around Chicago without worrying about taxi service or a car. Restaurants, shopping (LOTS of shopping), the lakeshore and entertainment are all a quick walk away.

The service was excellent. I loved the changing area and storage space, the bathroom with the huge tub (and television), turn down service, water at the bedside, and the comfortable bed. Little things like the bookmarks in my books and magazines, and soft music on the television at night made the visit more special.

I did visit the workout center a couple of times and was pleasantly surprised by its size and the amenities. Fresh towels, complimentary water and headphones were appreciated! Next time I will definitely participate in one of the yoga classes.

Room Tip: We were in a standard room which faced away from Michigan Avenue. Room was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
253 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was our first visit to a peninsula property and their reputation is well deserved. The standard room was very quiet and well appointed. Beautiful linens, amazing comfortable bed, great bathroom with soaking tub and large shower. The room wasn't huge but perfectly acceptable nevertheless. What put them over the top was the service which was top notch. Everyone was super friendly and helpful,especially the front desk staff. Our room was straightened twice a day, and the turndown service included slippers and robe each night. Even the complimentary coffee in the lobby and the spa was delicious. We've stayed at lots of hotels over the years but this one tops them all. It would be our privilege to return one day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear John L,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Peninsula Chicago. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your first stay with us and enjoyed all of the room amenities and service we offer.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We all look forward to your return visit again soon!

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Property: The Peninsula Chicago
Address: 108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing