We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets and exceeds expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
Ranked #2 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I love any hotel where the staff seemingly doesn't know how to say "no" . Everyone was quick to accommodate requests, provide directions , help out in any way possible. Oh yes and the accommodations were first class . Lots of amenities. Clean comfortable rooms. Nice bar and Shanghai Terrace is outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerChicagoarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We come to Chicago often and usually stay at this property or a couple of others around this vicinity. The last time we stayed at this property was about 18 months ago.
Stayed here in early August 2014 for 2 nights in an Executive Suite. Overall, the property is holding up quite well, but is beginning to look its age, especially given the number of newer properties in this city.
Pros:
- The public spaces and room are clean and well maintained.
- Overall, staff are polite and helpful.
- The switches and functions in the room for lights, tv, a/c are all in working order.
- The water pressure in the bathroom and tub were fantastic. Still is good size tub and very enjoyable soak.

Cons:
- Everything looks tired and dated. Our room furnishings are the same as they were 10 years ago. The bathroom sink has a significant crack, and the lighting was limited.
- The bed is too soft. The mattress is more than ready for replacement.
- One evening we decided to have a drink in the bar and dinner at the Chinese restaurant. The public areas were packed with men in suits and women in evening gowns attending various banquets. Since we were not in suits or gowns, we were stopped (politely) several times by different staff who wanted to know if we needed assistance. However, we appeared to be the only ones being stopped by staff - perhaps security staff need to be more vigilant about consistency towards all guests in the public areas.
- The food in the Chinese restaurant has gone downhill. It does not have the caliber or refined taste as it did in previous visits. And the worse - now there's plenty of msg in the food!

Hopefully, this property will revamp their rooms and public areas, and do a better job with the Chinese restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank HuarenToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear HuarenToronto,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for sharing your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit, our amenities and found our staff “polite and helpful.” We regret that you had an unsatisfactory experience at Shanghai Terrace. Chef Ivan Yuen believes in using the freshest ingredients that are chosen carefully on a daily basis.

In addition, you mentioned that our “room furnishings are the same as they were 10 years ago.” Even though The Peninsula Chicago only opened in 2001, we believe it is important to continue to make updates and improve our facilities and guestrooms. We are continuously doing soft renovations and improvements to our property and have a preventative maintenance program in place.

We appreciate hearing your feedback as an opportunity to improve our services and guest experiences. I would like to have the opportunity to speak with you directly to learn more about your stay and the comments in your review in hopes to improve our services. I hope you will contact me directly at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com.

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A friend has consistently raved about the Peninsula in Chicago so when plans called for a weekend in the Windy City, I knew I had to give it a try. We couldn't have been happier with our stay at the Peninsula; it's an absolutely beautiful hotel in a great location. The staff are truly accommodating, extremely polite, and pleasant to deal with. Our Executive Suite was terrific - plenty of room, beautifully appointed, and great corner views of the city from both the living room and bedroom. Don't miss the amazing chocolate dessert display at night in the lobby dining room!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VinoVeritasZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear VinoVeritasZZ,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughtful review of The Peninsula Chicago. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your first stay with us, our “beautiful hotel,” location and service. I am also pleased you enjoyed our guestrooms and The Lobby restaurant, specifically our chocolate bar.

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago! We look forward to welcoming you again when you visit Chicago.


Warm regards,


Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I love everything about this hotel, the lobby is beautiful, the rooms and service are great. The location is very good, in the middle on magnificent mile. The pool is so beautiful with a great view and the gym is very nice!!! I would come back in a blink

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Tatiambrosio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Was in Chicago for a Business trip and my wife came with me... we chose the Peninsula because of the reviews and location and we were not disappointed. Everyone was very friendly upon check in from Valet to Doorman to Front Desk. We were shown to our room by the Front Desk clerk and explained the features of the room and given info about the hotel.

Rooms were very nice, as to be expected at a Peninsula, however, the staff's attentiveness set this apart from some other hotels we have stayed at in the area.

Turn down service each night left us with bottled water and incredible chocolates... and one night we asked for extra and they brought us 3 extra boxes of the treats!!

Spa was great, we both had massages and enjoyed the pool, hot tub, and terrace.

Had dinner at the Chinese restaurant in the hotel and was fantastic, and not overpriced (as can be at some high end hotels) Also, had breakfast each morning at the French restaurant on the lower level of the hotel.. again, food and service was great, and we enjoyed sitting outside as it was great weather. Concierge was also helpful at getting us a reservations at RPM Italian restaurant which was supposedly booked up... Thanks Peninsula Concierge!!!

Location is unbeatable, as you are steps from Michigan ave shopping, and just a block or two down Rush to the famous Gold Coast restaurants like Gibsons, Hugos, and Carmines.

Would stay at the Peninsula again, and would recommend to any business travelers (especially if you have your wife with you!).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TrippinTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear TrippinTaylor,

Thank you for visiting The Peninsula Chicago and for posting your thoughtful review. We are grateful to hear you had a wonderful experience in Chicago, from the pampering from our staff to taking advantage of our restaurants as well as the nearby restaurants.

Thank you for your recommendation! We look forward to welcoming you again when you visit Chicago.


Warm regards,

Maria Razumich-Zec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We went to try the breakfast there and the hall was very nice decoration and the color was amazing ..

The service very good .. And the food nice ..

But they have buffet in this day ..
As a buffet they have to put more choice and kind of food ..
They have to but something that we can heat the croissant .. And cinnamon ..

The eggs i had it not very good even a child could do better ..


But the other things good .. See my picture for more detailed..

Stayed: July 2014
Thank QATAR2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear QATAR2007,

Thank you for visiting The Peninsula Chicago and sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. I am pleased you enjoyed our service and décor, but I am sorry to hear our buffet did not meet your expectations. I appreciate your recommendation about adding more food selections to our buffet.

I would like to hear more about your experience should you be willing to discuss this further. I hope you will please contact me directly at (312) 573-6562 or via e-mail at mariazec@peninsula.com.



Warm regards,

Maria Razumich-Zec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel would have to be one of the best in Chicago. The service starts when you arrive with the doorman and continues throughout, especially with every little housekeeping detail. The rooms are large, with separate bedroom, hallway, foyer and large bathroom comprising of toilet, shower, bathtub, sink,TV and spear the makeup mirror.
I love the outside temperature on the I room display, helps you know if a jacket or something more was needed.
There are a number of restaurants within a 5-20 minute walk and the shopping on Michigan Ave is right around the corner.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kev_deb2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear kev_deb2012,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for taking the time to share your thoughtful review. I am flattered by your kind comment about our hotel being the “best in Chicago.” I am very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us, our location, service and your room.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you again in the near future!

Warm regards,

Maria Razumich-Zec
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,547 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#10 of 192 in Chicago
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
The Guesthouse Hotel
#1 of 192 in Chicago
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Address: 108 E Superior St, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £263 - £641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing