We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getaway in the city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Peninsula Chicago
Ranked #4 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Skokie
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Getaway in the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed at the Peninsula for mini getaways. This time I went by myself to recharge. The hotel is stunning. The concierge gave me good shopping recommendations. The people at the front desk were very nice too. The room I had faced Michigan avenue. I feel like the room and pool that I used need to be refurbished. I loved that they had water and fresh fruit outside of the pool area. I didn't think the complimentary coffee in the lobby was that good. I thought the location was great. A few blocks away from whole foods and wonderful boutiques. Had a very relaxing stay. Was a bit underwhelmed with the bath and bath products.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dahl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Dahl18,

We are always happy to hear from returning guest, and I am glad to know that you enjoyed our service, your room and its view of Michigan Avenue, the pool and of course the shopping. We are sorry that our “complimentary coffee” was not to your liking. Thank for your honest feedback, and I have shared your comments with our Director of Food and Beverage.

Furthermore, you mentioned that “the room and pool….need to be refurbished.” We believe it is important to make updates and are continuously doing soft renovations and improvements to our facilities and guestrooms.

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago as your place to stay and for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,159
    137
    53
    17
    15
See reviews for
239
429
75
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel has the most comfortable beds! The room is spacious, elegantly appointed, and extremely clean and well kept. The bathroom is amazing with every detail laid out perfectly. We visited the spa and I HIGHLY recommend Mario if you plan on getting a massage. I have been back again to the spa and request him each time. Perfect location in addition to be an exceptional hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susieluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed with my 2 daughters for weekend. This was our first stay. Usual prefer Ritz but was so pleasantly surprised. Room was very large, comfortable and bathroom was a wonderful use of space. Staff was excellent, helpful, and smiling. Only glitch was toilet. Had problems the entire time despite service calls. Water running continuously and never seemed to get fixed despite service calls. Our stay ended in a catastrophic overflow. Our clothing got wet, couldn't get dressed, almost missed our flight due to this mini disaster. Threw wet clothes into suite case No one seemed to care and basically were on our own. Hate that our beautiful stay ended on that note. Need to follow through to the end. Not sure if I will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kjp_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear kjp_3,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Peninsula Chicago. We are always pleased to welcome first time guests. I am glad to read that you and your daughters enjoyed your sizeable guestroom and found our staff helpful and pleasant. In regards to the unfortunate occurrence with the toilet, I wish to extend my sincere apologies. I truly understand how this really diminished your experience with us.

We strive to provide the finest possible service, but on this occasion it seems there has been an oversight for which there is no excuse. Our housekeeping supervisors conduct an inspection of the operation of all components, fixtures and pluming in each guestroom. If you are willing, I would like to know which guestroom you were in so we can ensure that this does not occur again. I would greatly appreciate it if you can call me 312-573-6520. I look forward to speaking with you and hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you once again to The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
160 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I've always been a Ritz fan, but they have a competitor.
I really enjoyed our stay at The Peninsula. It is a elegant and has an overall good quality feeling about it. We had issues, but aside from them, it ranks up there with The Ritz. I loved the feel of our room. Large, warm, and quiet!
This hotel is so so quiet. I like not hearing ice machines and closing doors. The room was spacious and felt good. I like being able to dim all lights in room with the touch of a button. Bathroom was large and had good quality fixtures. We did have AC and plumbing issues. First two nights the room was cold during day and hot at night. There is a sensor in the system that maint can unplug to fix this...if you like a cold room, have it done at check-in. Shower wouldn't drain and that was resolved on 3rd day but it still flooded the entrance floor each time we showered. Toilet overflow was an issue and it was resolved. These things happen, but should be found by hotel and not guests. When I called, they immediately fixed everything as expected. It's just hard to report the issues because we don't like to stay somewhere just to have workers in our room.
Aside from the issues. I must say the hotel staff did their best to make us comfortable, greet us each day, and I really appreciate that. I'll go back in the next few months and follow- up my review.
Location is perfect. Seemed we were anywhere we wanted to be in 5-10 min walk or a $6 cab fare.

If you've never stayed but are considering, think you'll be impressed.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank spiderelliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Tom E.,

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the feel, size and atmosphere of your guestroom and all of its amenities; as well as our convenient location to most of the city’s popular sites. However, I am troubled to learn of all the issues you had with your guestroom. I agree that these problems should have been caught by our staff and not our guests. We appreciate your honest feedback, as it gives us insight in the areas we need to improve. If you are willing, I would like to hear in more detail about your stay. I can be reached either by email at richardsorensen@peninsula.com or telephone at 312-573-6576.

We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
184 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

And have to tell, hard to impress. However, when I got in the shower and was blown away by the water pressure, I was in love. Has all of the other things it should, staff, beauty, luxury. Attention to details seems higher here. I have two line phone in my room, my own fax machine and number to use, they saw we had wine with us and brought us a wine fridge to our room.

Room Tip: We were in 1533, I care more about quiet which it was, don't know if it had a good view or not
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear westlinn,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your guestroom and all of its features, and that our staff provided you with a wine fridge for your wine during your stay. We are always happy to hear from satisfied guests. It is comments like yours that encourage our employees to do their utmost for our guests.

We wish to thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We hope to welcome you back for another great Peninsula experience.

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new orleans
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

What a wonderful hotel! Got a great deal through American Express, three wonderful nights at the Peninsula. Great service, the concierge Gary (I think, day time duty) was so helpful with my needs. He booked me a chiropractor on Saturday morning for 9 am within a four block walk of the hotel and did this in 30 minutes--what a life saver he was. The bar was lovely, service was five star and the surprise---the drinks were reasonably priced. We have eaten before at Shanghai Terrace in the past, but didn't get the chance on this trip but was wonderful on our last visit. The room was so comfortable and our housekeepers were never seen yet the room was always put back in order no matter what the time of day. The only not five star area which does not make me remove my five stars as it could have been an off morning---the coffee shop/restaurant on the corner of the hotel which I assume is part of the hotel wasn't as "on it" as the rest of the hotel--they were friendly, coffee and breakfast was good, but very very slow service (it took over five minutes to get a cup of coffee and water after the server took our order--no special orders, just coffee and water. Rounding things out....the front desk helpful, doormen so professional, spa staff friendly and helpful. What more can I say....we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear davidnola,

We truly appreciate your kind comments about our service, amenities, The Bar and Spa. We are especially delighted that you mentioned Gary and how “helpful” he was. We are always happy to hear from satisfied guests, but its comments like yours, that encourage our employees to do their utmost.

We are sorry for the delay in service during breakfast. Your feedback is very important to us as it helps us improve our services and guest experience. Your comments have been discussed with our Director of Food and Beverage for corrective measures.

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago, and we look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Peninsula last month. It is truly a five star, top luxury hotel. We found all of the staff to be very nice, lobby to be beautiful and we loved our room which was luxurious yet contemporary. It had great views of both Michigan Avenue and the Lake.

We had a wonderful dinner at the Shanghai Terrace (see separate review) and thought our breakfast was good too. We met a friend at the bar and generally liked its living room feel although it was a little dark.

Overall we had a great stay and would recommend this property strongly and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Scott J,

Thank you for visiting The Peninsula Chicago and sharing your gracious comments. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit, your guestroom, and our service. I am also glad you had a wonderful experience at Shanghai Terrace and The Bar.

Thank you for your kind recommendation, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#9 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Property: The Peninsula Chicago
Address: 108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing