We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOTO GP”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Chicago - Lakeshore
Ranked #97 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights after arriving from London. We had a lake view room on the 32 floor which was great but not spectacular. Navy Pier was only a five minute walk away and in the other direction are a number of local bars and restaurants. When we first arrived we thought we had picked the wrong hotel as it seemed to be full of business people. However, in the evening the hotel takes on a new persona and you get to meet local people, who were all very friendly. Make sure you say hello to Hector in the bar who really knows how to look after his clients. One negative is the restaurant which feels a little sterile.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gerardiom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChicagoLakeshore, Manager at W Chicago - Lakeshore, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience! I am glad to know that you had a great time overall! Thank you for taking the time to recognize Hector, we will make sure to do the same!

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and additional feedback.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Alejandra R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,536 - 1,542 of 1,620 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Rooms are attractively refurnished with comfortable beds and great lighting. Air conditioning and thermostat kept the room comfortably and quietly cool all night. I had a room facing the lake - beautiful view with minor traffic noise from Lake Shore Drive down below. During the summer, on a nice day, wake up early, cross the street, and join the joggers (or swimmers!!) as they follow the shore of Lake Michigan. It's an easy walk to Navy Pier for souvenir shopping but you'll find better food if you head the other direction towards Michigan Avenue.

Not sure why the water pressure is so low in the shower. I found prices in the ground floor restaurant a bit on the high side.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank edsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChicagoLakeshore, Manager at W Chicago - Lakeshore, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Great to hear of your experience! I am happy to know that you had a great time while with us and that you were able to enjoy all Lake Michigan and Chicago have to offer. I appreciate your additional feedback, if you contact me direct I can follow up on the issue with your specific room.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!

Alejandra R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have stayed at this W more time than I can count and never had a bad experience. Make sure you request the lakeside view. Great location for walking to Michigan Ave and Navy Pier. Side note for guys: The reading selection down in the bar and lounge area is surprisingly amazing. All of those glossy $200 car and motorcycle tablebooks you see in magazines and say to yourself " Self, who buys this stuff?". THIS IS WHO BUYS THIS STUFF. I sat at the bar last time for an hour sipping booze and reading books. Thanks Starwood book buyer with someone else's credit card!!! Can't wait to come back for Christmas 2014.

Room Tip: up high and on the lakeside. The elivators are not too loud, so take the elivator room if it means...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChicagoLakeshore, Manager at W Chicago - Lakeshore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your loyalty and for taking the time to share your experience! I am glad to hear you enjoyed our book selection, we will make sure to refresh it by Christmas so you see some new things then!

See you next time!

Alejandra R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here as part of a package deal, and we're glad we did. Everything was very clean, and the rooms were quite comfortable. The staff was extremely accommodating when it came to storing our luggage (we arrived early and departed late). There were nice touches like bowls of apples and cookies in the afternoon.

Like many pricier hotels, in-room internet was an extra charge, but free wi-fi in the lobby worked great.

The location was terrific for accessing all of the major city sights and for walking around downtown.

The only drawback was the funky black light in the hallways, and the elevators were very dark, but that wasn't a big deal since you don't spend a lot of time in hallways and elevators :)

We had one lunch at the hotel restaurant which was excellent, if a little pricy (typical with hotel restaurants)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChicagoLakeshore, Manager at W Chicago - Lakeshore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your escape with us.

Have a great weekend!

Alejandra R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The W is a beautiful hotel with awesome views and perfect location. The Bliss Spa is wonderful there. I'd say the bathroom lacked privacy. Also the valet service was a little lacking in service. I expect more from a hotel like this. They didn't seem eager to please.

Room Tip: of course a view of the water is what you want!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChicagoLakeshore, Manager at W Chicago - Lakeshore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback! I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your constructive feedback.

Hope to see you next time soon!

Kind regards,

Alejandra R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is right next to Lake Michigan and close to the Navy Pier. Loved that it was not right downtown, but within walking distance of going downtown. The lobby was chic and very modern and I loved the sitting area outside of the lobby where you could sit and rock in the big rocking chairs. The room was spacious and comfortable. It was an easy check-in and check-out. Loved the free coffee in the morning and the lemon water in afternoon in the lobby area. Would definitely stay at this hotel again. It had the right amount of everything!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking Lake Michigan. You will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WChicagoLakeshore, Manager at W Chicago - Lakeshore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Sounds like you had a great time! Thank you for sharing your experience with others!

Hopefully we will be welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

AlejandraR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We just returned from another visit to the Windy City. My favorite summer destination! We stayed at the W on Lakeshore Drive. It is very close to the Navy Pier and Timothy O'Tooles a great restaurant/pub. The W staff has always been pleasant and check in is quick and painless. The We had a room with 2 Double beds that I thought was plenty large with a gorgeous view, so I'm not sure about the other reviews stating that rooms are small. They have recently undergone some major renovations, but they still have the rocking chairs out front facing Lakeshore drive. My favorite place for drinking coffee and people watching.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ourfamilyof4_4-fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WCityCenter, Manager at W Chicago - Lakeshore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your great review! I am happy to know that you enjoyed our renovations and your overall experience!

I am glad we decided to keep the rocking chairs! They are a favorite among our loyal guests!

Hope to see you next summer!

Kind regards,

Alejandra R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#115 of 192 in Chicago
2,603 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#75 of 192 in Chicago
5,121 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,911 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Chicago - Lakeshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Chicago - Lakeshore

Address: 644 N Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Chicago
#25 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#47 Business Hotel in Chicago
#59 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#78 Family Hotel in Chicago
#83 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £95 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W Chicago - Lakeshore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Chicago - Lakeshore is the closest hotel to Navy Pier with stunning views of Lake Michigan and Ohio Street beach. The property is just 3 blocks from the Magnificent Mile with world class shopping and restaurants. We offer a fab Italian Mediterranean dining option on property with Current Restaurant and the Living Room Lounge. Perfect for both business and leisure travelers, W Chicago - Lakeshore offers flexible meeting space with incredible views that is perfect for a corporate meeting or a lavish wedding. Please contact us today and ask for our Sales and Catering Department to get you a rate to host your next event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your W Chicago - Lakeshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago Lakeshore Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing