We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very interesting place”
Review of Jibek Jolu

Jibek Jolu
Ranked #777 of 9,530 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: US$6 - US$12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Winnemac St
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A very interesting place”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

As of the time of this review, I was trying to find and get to know some hidden gems of Chicago, as well as doing and seeing things very different or almost impossible to find in my home country. Of course, food is included.
Jibek Jolu is a central-Asian restaurant and I had no idea of what to expect. Besides a few words in Russian, all I knew was the geography pf the place. Turns out people there have a good taste in food actually.
I started with a Chebureki (fried pie with lamb, pretty similar to Brazilian Pastel) and a Stuffed Blini, a Russian pancake with beef, the last one being very good. The one thing that got more of my attention on the menu was the Mongolian Beef. It was indeed a good choice, very good meat, but for some reason it got cold quickly. Overall, the food was above what I expected.
I must say that what I liked the most was the Kompot juice. It is of some very clear pink color and looks like it is basically just water with some juice in it, but it is actually a very good combination of some fruits. If you like to mix things, go for it.
For anyone looking for something different (as for most this would be different), you've just found it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diogo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Serbian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous and interesting find in Lincoln Square”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Fabulous fine on Lincoln Ave. Food is a wonderful combination of Eastern European, Indian and Asian flavors. It's not fusion but Kyrgystani food. We had two types of dumplings filled with ground meat and flavored with vegetables and dill. They were wonderful with homemade sourcream. Salads were similiar to Greek salads (minus feta) but flavored with cilantro (ala Asian flavors). Prices were very inexpensive. They seemed to do a lot of carry out which I can understand. Why cook when a wonderful appetizer came be three dollars or have a main course for a couple of dollars more. Not a big selection of drinks and they do not have a liquor license. Next time I will remember to bring a nice beer to enjoy.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank balima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
293 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Here is a unique one!”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I believe this may be the only Kyrgyz restaurant in Chicago area, if not in Illinois. It is not a fancy one but has good home-cooked type food. Menu seems to have influences of the Russian,Mongol and Turkish (plus a few others?) cousines. We had samsy,Korean carrot salad,manty and plov and recommend them all. For drinks airan (yoghurt drink) is very good. We liked both the honey cake and baklava. Service was fine. It is a small restaurant. We went early on a Saturday night with reservations, but there were empty tables. The restaurant is near N.Lincoln and Foster and parking on the street was easy(You can park very near on the east side of Lincoln). Prices are very reasonable. We paid $42 for 2 including tax and tip. No alcohol or BYOB.
If you want to try unique and tasty food, this is the place.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ryokogasuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cicero, IL
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“One great taste after another”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Chicago has always been and will always be a city populated with immigrants. One shouldn't come to Chicago without exploring the rich offering of ethnic restaurants and Jibek Jolu should be on the top of your list. The first and only Central Asian (i.e. Kyrghyzstani) restaurant, there is a wealth of Russian and Mongol-influenced outstandingly tasting dishes. Bite into your first appetizer and the flavors explode in your mouth. Taste one of the soups and entrees and, just when you thought you've tried the best-tasting thing you've ever eaten, you're surprised with something even better. Don't expect haute cuisine or decor here. Make no mistake, this is a stereotypical hole-in-the-wall restaurant--good food, very reasonable prices, but a store front with minimal decor. No alcohol is served and BYOB is not allowed. Instead, try one of their ethnic drinks and enjoy.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EdK_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Jibek Jolu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing