We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best thing about O'Hare” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wicker Park Seafood & Sushi

Wicker Park Seafood & Sushi
Ranked #865 of 9,466 Restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: East Side
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Best thing about O'Hare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Let me start by saying that I really detest O'Hare. I am always getting stuck there due to cancelled/delayed flights. But on the weekend I found Wicker Park sushi place and suddenly my views of O'Hare changed - well, sort of. This place has very good sushi and lots of choice. Freshly made, not made elsewhere and then transported to the airport three days later in a container. Good wines too. The price was reasonable for an airport. It is now my go-to place when at O'Hare.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    72
    15
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Alternative for Airport Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Sushi and oysters in O'hare? Hmmmn... sure why not?

In the middle of a concourse down from the Johnny Rockets is a respite from fatty, processed airport food. As someone who was stuck in the airpot for the Polar Vortex/Storm of January 2014 I was happy to redeem my crummy United Airlines food vouchers here. Cool and attractive seating and dining option.

I had a plate of oysters on the half and a plate of their tenderloin steak salad. Both were very well done. Service was VERY friendly and attentive.

TIP - Sitting on the other side of the raw bar by the window is pretty and casual but FREEZING cold.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank flacaSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Arlington, Ohio
Level Contributor
161 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best Airport Food at O'Hare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

This is a surprisingly good sushi restaurant right in Terminal Two at O'Hare - next to Butch O'Hare's airplane, close to the walkway to Terminal One. The value is good for an airport restaurant, once you accept that airport food is more expensive than an equivalent place outside.

My go-to food here is normally either the sashimi appetizer plate or one of the rolls. I have eaten here five or six times and the quality has always been very consistent. There is occasionally a short wait for a seat, but once you are seated the service is very good. They have Sapporo and Asahi beers on tap, as well as other beers, saki and wine.

Next time you want better than snack food and have a few extra minutes it is worth a try. Also the view of the tarmac is very good if you like to watch the airplanes!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 43220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
359 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“O'Hare's hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Location location location. Not on the main drag in a terminal. I fly United out of Terminal 1 and if it is meal time and I have some time I will walk to the area between terminals 1 and 2 for sushi. The location avoids the crowds. Unless you have to make the walk it isn't somewhere people normally walk by. Sushi is normally expensive plus it's an airport so add 20%. That is just the way it is. However tr standard rolls are 8 pieces instead of the typical 6. If you have time and like sushi I'd recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gondekp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
976 reviews
540 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Cool place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

I have been here a few times of the years and have always left a happy customer. Great service, quick and swift. I think these guys must have figured out - all guests have a flight to catch. Oh, forgot to mention the place is between O'Hare's terminal 1 and 2 - after security. They offer a good selection of rolls - California style. There is a selection of Sashimi and Sushi. Prices a bit on the higher side but not outrageous - if you dine here you are at an airport where most food comes at a premium.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reslimpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wicker Park Seafood & Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Wicker Park Seafood & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing