We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a special treat!”
Review of Wheeler Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wheeler Mansion
Ranked #149 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Last week we slipped away to Chicago for a few days to see a concert. We found the Wheeler Mansion online and thought it looked ever so wonderful and when we arrived were amazed to find that it was even more beautiful than we could've expected. We travel a lot and are tiring of generic high end hotels, the idea of a boutique inn was appealing and since we really love luxury this was the best choice we could've ever made. We arrived early for check in and were greeted by Roseanne, Stephanie and Deb, they were so friendly and knowledgable and we were soon shown to our beautiful room and then off to lunch at a nearby restaurant recommended to us. On the way to our room we noticed that the attention to detail was everywhere, each piece of furniture, drapery, etc. was carefully selected and shone of impeccable taste and quality. The building itself is lovely, the care and attention that went into restoring this grand lady was evident everywhere, the workmanship in the mansion is of such high quality, no corners were cut, the details are stunning. The woodwork, high ceilings and beautiful windows make it feel just like a castle. The mansion is spotlessly clean and fresh, our bed beautiful and comfortable. Refreshments are available at any time and were laid out very beautifully with cloth napkins, china cups and saucers, a great selection of special teas, keurig coffees and lemon water. We were shown around and told if there was anything at all that we needed just to call the number anytime, twenty four hours a day, our every need was looked after, we were made to feel right at home. Our breakfast was absolutely delicious with fresh fruit, granola and yogurt to start, then a hot breakfast to follow, all of the very highest quality. The location of the mansion is great, in a beautiful, safe neighbourhood, close enough to walk to everything with easy access to cabs and the train. I can’t wait to return in the winter to skate on the outdoor rink in the mansion’s backyard and then again in the summer to enjoy the lovely backyard and the Wheeler Mansion Market. This would be a great venue for a wedding, corporate meeting, romantic getaway, pretty much anything. The owner is wonderful and has put her heart and soul into making this special property as fantastic as it possibly could be. The focus on customer service by Deb and her staff make this great house a delightful treat. On a scale of one to ten I’d rate it a fifteen!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wheeler47, Owner at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

We have many guests stay and few take the time to write such a in depth review. I thank you for your kind words. More importantly thank you for recognizing the details we believe so strongly make a important statement about our business. Our staff focuses on doing things right, as I believe many of life's simple pleasures are in the details. I run a family business that is my children's future. We do the best of our ability.....thank-you for recognizing our life's work.
Wonderful inspiration for myself and staff to continue to work hard to exceed expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

This has been one of our most amazing trips and experiences ever. The Wheeler mansion is divine. The attention to detail in the hotel is beautiful. The outdoor garden area is lovely to relax and take in the atmosphere. The host was most welcoming and helpful during our stay, to recommend events or places to see, it really felt like a personalised service and experience. We decided to extend our stay and our room was made available at a fantastic rate. I will recommend this hotel to friends and family it’s truly an experience that Nat and I will remember for ever.
Keep up the good work kind regards
Nik&Nat from
Australia

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms and enjoyed both of them. The rooms are all spacious and equipped wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wheeler47, General Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Dear Guest,

We are grateful for taking the time to write a review with such kind words. We were so happy to learn that your stay was so wonderful, as we take pride in planning fun experiences in our beautiful city. Thank you for noticing the details of our hotel, it is very important to us. We have recently reconstructed our garden to add lawn games and new private areas to enjoy our sanctuary in the heart of the city! Come back and see us soon!

Beautiful Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Several issues:
First of all the shortage of staff for over a year reflects in the quality of service(11 room hotel). Like all previous comments did we too, have to wait for 15 minutes in front of a closed door at the hotel. (this was after three o clock as indicated by the hotel and booking.com website). This suggests that the apologies made for waiting at the front door are a standard procedure. As we witnessed several times with guests arriving after us.
Any queries after 7pm will not be answered, and whilst the website suggests that staff will be available during the day, are they (appears to be only one person) hard to find in an 11 room hotel. The telephone number given was not answered.
Don't be mislead by the fact that there is a luxurious breakfast, it is indeed an amenity and starts at 8:30 till 11.
For those who do not like jazz music, this hotel might not be the best choice for it is played from 8am till 7pm.
Price-quality therefore out of proportion.
Unfortunately this has been the worst hotel we have yet encountered.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheila I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wheeler47, Front Office Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear important guest I reviewed your comments carefully with sadness that you felt our hotel was the worst hotel stay of your life. Our guests prefer our hotel locked and understand they obtain a key card when they check in per our reservation confirmation. We implemented another line on our front entry system as you were very helpful to point out once two people come exactly at the same time to check in the line could be busy for a couple minutes. The three voice lines allow guests to allow the front office check-in a couple minutes to get to the front door. I apologize for the delay as it sometimes takes a couple minutes given the size of the estate. Based on your feed back we were able to train our new employees to always point out the after hours attendants number in the guest services book. Breakfast is at 8:15 but many guests request fruit and granola to be put out at 6. We pride ourselves on fresh very high quality ingredients and want to please the early risers and later business meeting guests. We have trained our staff to ask our guests what time they like breakfast to improve based upon your feedback. We apologize as we played alot of upbeat lively Jazz music during your stay, we usually have a assortment of music but some guests wanted to listen to local Chicago jazz and we thought of no harm to provide some neighborhood music, as the south loop is famous for the development of such jazz greats as CoCo Taylor and Buddy Guys! I surely understand as the pricing from city to city for hotels is quite different. Over the past 15 years our guests comment how our hotel is of great value, knowing that the chain hotel across the street charges $58 per day for parking and $25 for breakfast on top of our same room rates. We do hope that you would stay with us again as we are sure we can make your stay the most enjoyable hotel experience. Thank-you for assisting us to refine our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had a great long weekend in Chicago, at Wheeler Mansion. The area is great, very quiet, with a mix of old beautiful houses and new buildings..It's not that far from Downtown, you can walk or just take a cab (it's pretty cheap).
This place is an amazing historical mansion, we felt like in an European castle.
Beautiful furniture, high ceilings, very clean. Nice breakfast room inside and patio outside, coffee and tea available any time...
The staff was very helpful, just make sure you call them a bit ahead before coming to the hotel. That was the only little inconvenience, otherwise everything was perfect.
We will definitely come back, we totally loved this place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie J, Guest Relations Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Christina,

Thank you for staying with us. We greatly appreciate your business and good word. Hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Stephanie & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

There is no 24h frontdesk... I arrived 15 pm and tought I was fooled by the website. The taxi´s did knew it, there is any indication that it is a hotel. No one to receive you. It´s more like a luxury (old) B&B.
It is far from downtown and the touristic area.
Bizarre decoration. It´s look like a museum.
Rats in the ventilation system.
It´is close from the convention center, but if this is the idea, stay at Sheraton in front of the convention center....

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globethrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie J, Guest Relations Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

We are deeply and sincerely sorry for any inconvenience you have experienced at The Wheeler Mansion. I find it imperative to address one of your comments immediately, as it is entirely untrue. Our ventilation system absolutely does not act as a home for vermin and comments like these can deeply influence the integrity of our property. We take great pride and care in the cleanliness of our hotel and I’m very sorry you came away from our business with this impression. We have a small staff and are an intimate property--located just a short distance from the hustle and bustle of "downtown" proper. Our front office closes at 7pm, however there is always an overnight attendant at the property to assist with our guest’s needs afterhours. This is properly communicated to all of our customers and I apologize if this information wasn’t relayed to you appropriately. Thank you very much for your feedback. Thank you so very much for your business. Our staff is small and works very hard to offer spectacular service to all of our guests. It is definitely not easy to share this type of feedback with the team, but we do welcome ALL input—positive or negative. I did notice that you have listed your date of stay as September of last year. We have since undergone new management and ownership, so I do hope you take this into account the next time you consider staying with us again or sharing your feedback with friends, family, and colleagues. Again, thank you for taking the time to provide a review and I do ask that you please contact me directly to discuss this matter further. Stephanie@wheelermansion.com or 312.945.2020 ext 1
Best,
Stephanie Lu & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Quaint and historic Bed and Breakfast two blocks away from the McCormick Convention Center. Safe neighborhood within walking distance to not only the convention center, but Soldier Field as well (we walked there at about 9 pm at night just for fun). Rooms are spacious and clean and nicely appointed in period decor. Bus stop to most of the Chicago sites is about three blocks away. About eight blocks away are a couple of great eateries (City Tavern and Waffles). City Tavern's dry-aged, strip loin burger is about the best burger in the city, and Waffles' take on hispanic-inspired savory breakfast dishes are awesome. Service at the Wheeler is very good. But be apprised that they are only there during certain hours of the day. My only complaint is that the toilet seat in our bathroom was cracked and needed to be replaced. However, if I needed to stay in Chicago in the South Michigan Avenue area, I would definitely considere returning to the Wheeler Mansion.

Room Tip: If you need an elevator, this isn't the place for you. Although there is a dumbwaiter for the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AGuyFromHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie J, Guest Relations Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Aloha! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. It means a lot to us to know that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback has been shared with the team and our maintinence department. Sorry for the needed repair. We hope to have you back year after year :)

Best,
Stephanie Lu & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The Wheeler Mansion is my new favorite place to stay in Chicago. The Mansion is beautiful. The rooms are bright and well-furnished. The living room is a pleasant place to relax. I had a coupon for a stay in the Mansion. I spoke with Stephanie to confirm the availablity of three rooms for a certain weekend. Next, I called my friends to discss staying at the manion.. I then call Stephanie back to book the rooms. In the intervening time, the coupon expired. However, Stephanie very gratiously honored the coupon and gave us the discounted rate despite the coupon having expired. She was very helpful when I booked the rooms and during our stay. There are good restaurants in walking distance and the Glessner Museum is nearby. It was easy to get a cab from there. We had a very pleasant experience staying at the Manion. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: It is worth it to get a suite as they are larger and more elegant, although every room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie J, Guest Relations Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Laurie,

Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you with us again soon!

Best,
Stephanie Lu & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
South Loop
Marriott Marquis Chicago
Marriott Marquis Chicago
#137 of 192 in Chicago
38 reviews
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kenwood
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago - Lake Shore
Downtown / The Loop
The Buckingham Club
The Buckingham Club
#134 of 192 in Chicago
192 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheeler Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeler Mansion

Address: 2020 S Calumet Ave, Chicago, IL 60616-1407
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > South Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#74 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#86 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £109 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheeler Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wheeler Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeler Mansion Chicago
Wheeler Mansion Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing