We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French charm in a perfect locale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #24 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

The Sofitel it located just blocks from the best shopping, food and attractions that Chicago has to offer. Upon arrival, you are met by the bellman, and in my case, with an umbrella. Doors were consistently opened for me and the hotel atmosphere is definitely modern Euro-chic. My checkin was flawless and speedy and I found my room to be very comfortable with both a shower and tub available. I has an exquisite view of the city and found city noise to be minimal even though we are just blocks from a large fire station. I enjoyed the turndown service, free wireless Internet and complimentary bottle of Evian every night. I have no complaints except to mention that all these amenities come with an expected price. Nice property with extremely attentive staff!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dreaming*of*a*beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we thank you for complimenting our hotel staff and excellent service, as our goal is always to exceed our guests’ expectations. Thank you for pointing out that our Gold Coast location is just steps from Magnificent Mile shopping, downtown dining and many of the best Chicago tourist attractions. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,669 - 2,675 of 4,385 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

This hotel is nice, clean placed in a good location where you can easily walk. Don't rent a car, not worth paying the parking fees. I was disappointed by the bedding, they were holes in the pillow case!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roche68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. We are very sorry to hear that our linen was not up to Sofitel standards during your visit. This is not typical of our standards of service to our guests, and we regret the impression that it gave you. Please rest assured that we have taken the appropriate measures to address this with our Housekeeping and Laundry staff in order to prevent any future occurrence. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Great hotel, location to Magnificent Mile is about 5-10 minute walk max. Rooms are spacious and modern decor. Washroom is excellent with very good amenities. Gym was a bit on the small size for me. I don't recall there being a pool or spa there.

The french restaurant on the main floor was very elegant with a menu to satisfy all tastes. I would recommend this hotel to everyone

Room Tip: Macy's is a 5 minute walk as are a number of high end stores. The subway leading to the blue li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us!
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our location and amenities, and delighted to see you had the chance to try our restaurant Café Des Architectes. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My wife and I wanted to visit her former neighborhood (Lincoln Park) and this hotel is so perfectly situated by the shopping on Michigan Ave and the Southern edge of the actual Lincoln Park. The staff were friendly, especially the bellhops/taxi/curb artists. The room service was wonderful (slighly overpriced, like all hotels), and the breakfast was fantastic. Our room had a wonderful view of the John Hancock building (ask for a room facing East), gorgeous, well-appointed bathroom and the bed was very comfortable.
The only drawbacks were a smaller-than-should-be room, and street noise that made it up to our 21st floor (what happened to double-pan, noise-insulated windows?).
But overall, we would definitly stay here again -- maybe even higher up?

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side have a view of John Hancock building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrenchRoastFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

A beautiful hotel in a wonderful location. Staff is knowledgeable and friendly, but professional. The hotel is right off Chicago's Magnificent Mile (Michigan Ave). If I had to ask for something it would be a little amenity in the room--a chocolate/cookie/something. Sofitel is a special brand but I think it could be made a little more special with a little amenity.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ModernEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerOffice, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you found our staff to be knowledgable and friendly, and that you were able to take advantage of our excellent location just off the Magnificent Mile. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Comparing this hotel to the Sofitel in Gatwick England, this one is very ordinary. While the 3 day stay with friends was good, it was not great. I will explain.
On arrival we requested an upgrade since we were staying three nights. Our friends were given a corner room which is very cramped. They had to go down and seek out the manager to get moved. Each time I tried to contact the front desk, the concierge or room service I was put on hold. On one occasion, I called room service for two wine glasses. I finally gave up holding and went to the bar to get the glasses.
The fan for the heating/cooling system was very loud and kept going off and on all night. Also there was a banging sound which I attributed to the plumbing.
The breakfast menu prices are out of sight. I cannot imagine paying $19 for a continental breakfast. Instead we went a few doors away to a cafe at the corner of Chestnut and State. Also you can go across the road to the Ing Cafe if you just want coffee and a muffin.
While room bars are always expensive, this one beats them all. A gin and tonic will cost you $16. If you need snack food or take away, there is a gourmet store on State Street, just north of Chestnut and a variety store across the road.
While some may have liked the "bonjour" touch, I found it a little tacky. If you tried to continue the conversation in French, you discovered that there vocabulary was limited to a single word.
On the positive side, the Concierge was pleasant and helpful. We just loved Chicago. Great architecture and warm friendly people.
Next time we will try another hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid corner rooms and get as high as possible to avoid strteet noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luvtravel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerOffice, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. We sincerely regret that your friends' room did not meet their expectations. However, it is reassuring to know that our manager was able to quickly assist them and found a room that better suited their needs. Thank you also for complimenting our Concierge services. Regarding the breakfast in our Café des Architectes, we strive to provide an outstanding breakfast experience as well as a good value to our guests. While some of our employees do not speak French fluently, many of them do and would be very happy to converse with you in French during your next stay! We are looking forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower during your next visit to the Windy City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

It is a great hotel in a very convenient location to North Michigan Ave and the main shopping and only a short taxi ride to Millenium Park and Art Institute. Rooms are big with great amenities and walk in showers, staff are friendly enough. Only downside is breakfast can be a little slow as it is a la carte and not a buffet. Lobby can get busy. All the staff seem to be French which is a bit weird in central USA. I wonder how many are faking the accents. All in all a great hotel - not cheap but worth it

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ianbazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#9 of 192 in Chicago
2,969 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,911 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,529 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £114 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing