We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally.....a wonderful wonderful downtown experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #25 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Have stayed at several downtown hotels from the Omni to the Westin, Hilton etc....
Sofitel will have my business from now on.
Outstanding in every aspect from the moment we stepped through the door
The greatest asset this hotel offers is the incredible staff! The attention
to detail was just above anything else I have found downtown!
Thank you Sofitel! See you soon

Room Tip: Our room was on the 23rd floor facing east...great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luvmarthas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for complimenting our staff and their attention to detail. We are especially pleased to know that you will return to stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,722 - 2,728 of 4,448 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

My Wife and I stayed at this beautiful, nice and clean Hotel for six days. We had a very nice experience. All the people that work in this Sofitel Hotel are very nice and kind, and try to make your stay very pleasant. The Service is fine, the Concierges are very much helpful, and the food is delicious ! The price you pay for this Hotel is correct. It is a really nice place to stay in Chicago, and very close to every thing.

Room Tip: Try to get the top floors. The view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julius R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of the excellent views of the Chicago skyline from a room on a high floor. Thank you for providing that tip for future guests! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My debit card was "declined" for the deposit but when I checked my bank and called my bank, the bank informed me that the hotel had charged $250 twice. The person who checked me in treated me as if my bank card did not have funds and did not attempt to call the bank or figure out what was going on.

Instead, she kept repeating that it was declined. She vaguely told me that the ATM was on the 2nd floor without giving me any directions. I had to pace back and forth to find a semi-hidden ATM. When I came back with cash, I had to wait as she was too busy acting like she was busy with another guest.

I had to insist that she call my bank. She refused to do it while I was standing there. She told me she would do it later. I was tired after my flight that I just paid the $250 cash so I could rest in my room.

Once in my room, I got a call on the hotel phone saying my bank was on the phone line and they would reverse the charges. My bank stated that it was probably an error on the hotel's terminal, and that if the hotel had called the bank at the time, it would have been easily solved.

Upon check-out, I noticed I was charged for the phone call. I did not even want to bother with contesting the fee. As this result was not an error on my part, I would have hoped the fees for the phone call and my ATM withdrawal of cash would have been covered.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. We sincerely regret the issue that you had during check-in with your credit card. This is not typical of our standards of service, and we regret the inconvenience that it caused you. Please rest assured that we have addressed this issue with our credit card system provider as well as with the agent who checked you in. We hope that you will present us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

The Sofitel it located just blocks from the best shopping, food and attractions that Chicago has to offer. Upon arrival, you are met by the bellman, and in my case, with an umbrella. Doors were consistently opened for me and the hotel atmosphere is definitely modern Euro-chic. My checkin was flawless and speedy and I found my room to be very comfortable with both a shower and tub available. I has an exquisite view of the city and found city noise to be minimal even though we are just blocks from a large fire station. I enjoyed the turndown service, free wireless Internet and complimentary bottle of Evian every night. I have no complaints except to mention that all these amenities come with an expected price. Nice property with extremely attentive staff!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dreaming*of*a*beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we thank you for complimenting our hotel staff and excellent service, as our goal is always to exceed our guests’ expectations. Thank you for pointing out that our Gold Coast location is just steps from Magnificent Mile shopping, downtown dining and many of the best Chicago tourist attractions. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This hotel is nice, clean placed in a good location where you can easily walk. Don't rent a car, not worth paying the parking fees. I was disappointed by the bedding, they were holes in the pillow case!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roche68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. We are very sorry to hear that our linen was not up to Sofitel standards during your visit. This is not typical of our standards of service to our guests, and we regret the impression that it gave you. Please rest assured that we have taken the appropriate measures to address this with our Housekeeping and Laundry staff in order to prevent any future occurrence. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Great hotel, location to Magnificent Mile is about 5-10 minute walk max. Rooms are spacious and modern decor. Washroom is excellent with very good amenities. Gym was a bit on the small size for me. I don't recall there being a pool or spa there.

The french restaurant on the main floor was very elegant with a menu to satisfy all tastes. I would recommend this hotel to everyone

Room Tip: Macy's is a 5 minute walk as are a number of high end stores. The subway leading to the blue li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us!
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our location and amenities, and delighted to see you had the chance to try our restaurant Café Des Architectes. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My wife and I wanted to visit her former neighborhood (Lincoln Park) and this hotel is so perfectly situated by the shopping on Michigan Ave and the Southern edge of the actual Lincoln Park. The staff were friendly, especially the bellhops/taxi/curb artists. The room service was wonderful (slighly overpriced, like all hotels), and the breakfast was fantastic. Our room had a wonderful view of the John Hancock building (ask for a room facing East), gorgeous, well-appointed bathroom and the bed was very comfortable.
The only drawbacks were a smaller-than-should-be room, and street noise that made it up to our 21st floor (what happened to double-pan, noise-insulated windows?).
But overall, we would definitly stay here again -- maybe even higher up?

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side have a view of John Hancock building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrenchRoastFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,999 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#17 of 192 in Chicago
3,055 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
2,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £110 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing