We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #23 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I had a really good week in the Sofitel - the hotel is beautiful, the staff are excellent, and nothing was too much trouble. I stayed in a Junior Suite, which was spacious, and had lovely views. I had breakfast in one day, which was also great and while expensive I would class it as decent value. The service was excellent here too. This is a smooth, classy operation, with a lovely feel/vibe to it. I would recommend it to anyone staying in Chicago.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scootar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Scootar123,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for complimenting our hotel and staff. We are especially pleased to know that you enjoyed your breakfast in our restaurant, Cafe des Architectes. We hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,257 - 2,263 of 4,403 reviews

An Accor traveller
Minneapolis, Minnesota
138
Reviewed 21 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank BonRepas21
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Great location - walking distance to a lot of nice restaurants, shops and the amazing Magnificent Mile. Super friendly and professional staff. Nice rooms, a bit small maybe, but clean and quiet. Great toiletries. Free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Prices on rooms on lower floors are super bargains! Good if you have been in town before and don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear JohanSF,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we thank you for complimenting our staff! Thank you for pointing out our excellent Gold Coast location, close to the best Chicago dining, shopping and sightseeing. We hope that you present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Great location, just off the Magnificent mile. Lots of places to eat in the immediate area, and an easy walk to downtown Chicago. Attentive service from the staff, at Reception and even in front of the hotel, where the concierge offered us an umbrella to keep us dry.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Judith635,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us! It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback about our hotel and staff. We hope that you present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel is absolutely fantastic and really makes you feel like a visiting dignitary with each interaction with every single member of the staff. First class service, helpfulness, professionalism, dignity, grace, and manners from the room service waiter to the manager. Fantastic. Every entrance and exit was made personal by the doormen. Beautiful, clean room with great toiletries, super comfortable (soft) bed, and quiet. Location is especially good in order to soak in all of Michigan Ave on the way downtown. Downtown proper is too busy compared to this tranquil, but central location. I don't think I'll ever stay anywhere else in Chicago.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeclarken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Bonjour mikeclarken,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you truly experienced the genuine warmth, hospitality, and luxury ambiance that the Sofitel Chicago is so well known for. We thank you for pointing out our fantastic location, just minutes from downtown, and yet outside of the hustle and bustle that normally comes along with being so centrally located. We are also very happy to see that you were so very comfortable in our luxurious Sofitel MyBeds, and also that you enjoyed the wonderful amenities in your guest bathroom. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed 4 nights and were so impressed. Rooms were fantastic, reception and concierge were very helpfully. The location was excellent just off the magnificent mile. The beds were so comfortable and helped out with the jet lag.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacinta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Bonjour Dunne62_10,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed stay here with us, and that you found our world renowned Sofitel MyBeds to be so theraputic and revitalizing. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback about our hotel, and we hope that you present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future!

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 192 in Chicago
3,005 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,932 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,547 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £105 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing