We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Big City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #24 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Big City”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I always enjoy traveling to Chicago as there are a number of "reasonably" priced hotels available. Unlike NYC I can actually find a great property for a business trip and stay within company guidelines. The Sofitel is in a great location and the facilities are great and clean. I only stayed one night but the staff was friendly, room service prompt and good. I would recommend the hotel for any business traveler.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave46439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Dave46439,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend our property to other travelers. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,957
    1,013
    188
    61
    42
See reviews for
693
1,621
314
1,034
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My Sofitel email alert today (12-19) announced the Winter Collection of various Sofitels, including the Chicago Water Tower at $119 through January 15. Dreaming of a quick getaway (had a nice birthday party there some years back), I checked rates for each day until mid-January. Unfortunately, there is NO DAY which offers this rate. When clicking on the offer, you get, in red letters: "Specific rates are not available for this type of room selected." I did not specify a room type; my goal was to find this rate on any room, for any day. Over this period, rates -- not including tax -- range from $130 (many at $140) to as high as $270 for New Years Eve. Management should think about the multiple customer disappointments, now occurring, each and every time someone clicks on this explicitly false offer, only to find it is not real. If this rate is theoretically available on a specific room type, and yet, on the first day of the promotional period, there is NO ROOM available for more than 25 days, then what are we to conclude? A hotel of this brand and quality, should re-evaluate this misleading practice, especially when the real rates aren't too bad.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ambleside89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear ambleside89 ,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback, and I am very sorry that you have experienced difficulty finding availability with the promotional rates currently being advertised on our web site. I have just sent you a personal email via Trip Advisor. I would like to find out your desired dates of stay so that I can send you the best available rates and packages offered over those dates. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and I apologize for your disappointment. We hope to welcome you to Sofitel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed here the weekend with fiancée for birthday celebration. The hotel staff was great, concierge was very helpful, room service was fast. We will definitely be back and recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivysmom134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Ivysmom134,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are honored that you chose Sofitel for your birthday celebration. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The staff allowed for early arrival (without prior notice). They anticipated every need and made my stay stress free and enjoyable. The only issue was the very slow wi-fi, but other than that everything was excellent.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel to select a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Jan G,

Thank you very much for sharing feedback about your recent stay with us at Sofitel. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accommodate an early check in for you. Thank you for your feedback about the wifi; we are currently making improvements to our wifi system. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Was attending a meeting in Chicago and the host hotel was very expensive. Found a great rate on line on the Sofitel website and everything else was bliss! I had room service for lunch/dinner x2 as the weather was cold and crapy when I was there. The food, service, promptness were excellent and reasonable. Every employee appeared to want me to be happy and comfortable. My king bed room was beautiful with an amazing bathroom! I was surprised when many of the employees actually spoke French! Tres Bon!!!! I will stay there again and would recommend the Hotel Sofitel WaterTower Chicago without any reservations! I stayed 5 nights and didn't want to leave. The location is perfect for everything having to do with magnificent mile! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Calebrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Calebrog,

Bonjour! Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our service and amenities to be so excellent. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This was our second visit over thanksgiving and it was just as great as last year. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and the rooms very clean and well presented. The hotel is in an excellent position for shopping and eating and drinking out.No doubt we will be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soot30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear soot30,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you will be staying again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Great weekend getaway for my wife and myself. The hotel was great in every way possible, from front desk, bar, restaurant and everything in between. They were so helpful and really went above and beyond.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank JBiggs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear JBiggs2013,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,835 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 190 in Chicago
4,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#9 of 190 in Chicago
1,641 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 190 in Chicago
3,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing