We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #21 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Great stay at Sofitel! It's a wonderful location and very friendly staff! The rooms were good size and clean! The hotel lobby was beautifully decorated for Christmas! The concierge was extremely helpful with choosing play to see while we were there!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 501Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear 501Liz,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and found our Concierge to be so helpful. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,762
    972
    169
    52
    37
See reviews for
636
1,513
292
978
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
172 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Throughout the summer, I spent over 60 days in residence at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower and loved each and every day of my stay. I actually hated to leave.

The staff is extremely friendly, the views from my room were great, the food was excellent, and the bar was great--and my bed was plush. Also, the hotel was in walking distance of some great restaurants, whether it was Ditka's which was one block away (love their ribs, steaks and their seafood platters), or Gibson's (just a few blocks away) which shares it's kitchen with Hugo's Frog Bar and Fish House. And there is a McCormick and Schmidts right across the street----but----it feels a bit past it's prime and we found service a bit slow---so most of our out of the hotel restaurant visits (and there were a LOT of them---were at the ever fantastic Gibson's or Ditka's). Plus you're just down the street from the great shopping of Michigan Avenue.

I put the majority of my traveling party with me at the Sofitel, and some of our clients stayed at the Four Seasons---just down the street. But-----one of the things that was nice about the Sofitel was that it's bar and restaurant and lobby were all at ground level----unlike the Four Seasons where you go into a sad little lobby entrance before you arrive on their main floor. On a previous visit I had stayed at the Thompson, which was a very nice hotel---but the Sofitel was great and in a better neighborhood (and pulling up to park/wait for guests at the Thompson was challenging---unlike the Sofitel which has better access).

I thought the only weakness at the Sofitel was it's "free," but EXTREMELY slow internet (to download even a small clip of anything you may as well leave your computer and go into the bathroom and brush your teeth--twice---and if you're lucky it will be ready to view when you get back to your computer--and I'm not exaggerating). Even their faster speed "paid" internet was not extremely fast and the user interface was messy (Steve Jobs would have cringed if he was still alive and had seen it) and required you to constantly put in your passwords all the time, whereas most hotels have systems that remember your password. They made a pact with the devil with their Internet provider and this definitely needs to be corrected, but that is the only fault I found with the hotel.

Bottom line is that I look forward to my next job in Chicago and returning to the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower…. If you're looking for a great hotel to stay at in Chicago--look no further----just stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view….
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear WorldTravelerAsia,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your long stay with us and that you found our Gold Coast location to be so well-suited to your needs. Thank you for complimenting our staff and hotel! We are happy to report that we have just upgraded our complimentary wifi package at the hotel to offer our guests the best service possible. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future!

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodlettsville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I love the Sofitel, its a warm and inviting place to stay in Chicago. Prime location, friendly and helpful staff. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom is spacious and clean. I have stayed for business and pleasure and its perfect for either.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Nancy G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we are your favorite in Chicago! Thank you for complimenting our staff and hotel. We wish you a Happy New Year and hope to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

The hotel is few steps from the Water Tower, Magnificent Mile and John Hancock Center. Not in the "loop" but there is easy access to the loop by metro. Our room was on the top floor with a great view to John Hancock Center. The room was spacious with a large bathroom and comfortable king bed. Very kind and fast check-in as well as the check-out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leondelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Leondelon,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our rooms to be so spacious and comfortable. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

First time at this hotel and came away after three nights totally content. Had a double room for about $160 a night. The bed was comfortable, bathroom spacious and view was downtown skyline (limited). Am coffee was offered in the morning and the staff was pleasant. Great find for downtown Chicago ,,,

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SadieAtlantaGa831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear SadieAtlantaGa831,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our SoBed to be so comfortable! We hope to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed 2 week nights in early Dec. Great location, 1 1/2 blocks west of Michigan. Great for shopping. Rooms small, but nice. Staff is great. Valet was 63/night, but ramp is 40 and crowded.Bar is nice and reasonable for Chicago. As an aside, the hotel is 100' from best breakfast place in Chicago, Tempo. Ate there 3 times.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Bruce H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our prime Gold Coast location was so well-suited to your shopping needs. Thank you for complimenting our staff! We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,152 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#12 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing