We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #23 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We were in Chicago for our anniversary. The gentleman at the front desk upgraded our room once he heard why we were in town. The rooms were very clean with floor to ceiling windows. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Bonjour Chad B!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are honoured that you chose to spend such a wonderful occasion as your anniversary with us, and I am delighted to hear that we were able to accommodate you with a complimentary upgrade for the duration of your stay. Similarly, I am very pleased to hear that you appreciated our floor to ceiling windows, as I am sure they afforded you a beautiful view of the surrounding Chicago skyline. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower in the very near future!

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,956
    1,013
    188
    61
    42
See reviews for
692
1,621
314
1,034
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Willow Springs, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower on New Years Eve and had a lovely time. The accomodations were perfect from linen to bathroom and room service. I would choose them again without a hesitation.

Room Tip: The front desk is extremely helpful and would do everything possible to make your stay perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reniev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear reniev,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are glad that you had a 'lovely' stay with us and even more during this important day of New Year's eve. Your overall experience at the hotel seems to have met your expectations and the entire team of the hotel is joining me to thank you for your compliments.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon and 'without a hesitation'!

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer,
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stay at the Sofitel Water Tower because of the privacy, quiet, phenomenal service and ease to get in and out. The location is perfect for our needs. Breakfast is always just right. We have been staying here for over a year and a half and have noticed the same employees working. Must be good since there doesn't appear to be a high turnover rate.

Room Tip: Haven't had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank babaoriley04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear babaoriley04,

Thank you very much for your loyalty and for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and that it meets perfectly your needs and expectations. The entire team would be always happy to welcome you in this lovely environment. We thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future so that you can enjoy our wonderfull breakfast again!

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed during the Christmas holidays and had a great time. The hotel is very modern and clean. The staff is pleasant and very helpful. You couldn't ask for a better location in downtown Chicago. This was my third stay at the hotel and I would highly recommend it to anyone. The best hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Frank K ,

Thank you very much for your loyalty and for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Excellent service and cleanliness are at the premium of our concerns and your feedback is extremely important for us. Be sure that we will share it with the entire team.
We are also delighted to read that you enjoyed our location as we know how much it is important during the Christmas period.
Thank your again for your time and recommendation. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your fourth stay with us.

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer,
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here over New Years.

Check in was straightforward and friendly with a nice room provided on the 23rd floor.

Room was spacious with all the amenities you would expect of a hotel of this stature.

Bathroom was very big and finished to a high standard. Standalone shower unit which was massive and a separate bath.

Bed was nice and big and was extremely comfortable. Good sleep each night & very quiet.

I did not eat in the restaurant, drink in bar or use gym so cannot comment on this.

Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel which was a little slow but suited our needs.

The only negative I would have would be in relation to our dealings with the concierge. When we asked about directions to a certain shop or thoughts on restaurants he pretty bluntly answered the questions and did not offer any other recommendations etc Usually when you go to a concierge they provide you with loads of information & options in terms of food etc and are keen to please. This guy was the complete opposite and we felt like it was a huge inconvenience to him that we were asking him questions that are part of his job. This is the reason for a rating of 4* and not 5*

We used this hotel as a base really for sleep at night but with a good location to explore the city. The location is superb and is only a block from the Mag Mile.

We will stay here again but will do all my research on Tripadvisor and not bother with the useless concierge in question!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dxb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear dxb09,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our relationship with our guests is of utmost importance to us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon.

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,829 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#9 of 190 in Chicago
1,635 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 190 in Chicago
3,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing