We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“respite appreciation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #23 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Evanston, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“respite appreciation”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Our kitchen flooded and the crew were dismantlng our floor,cabinets, and counter tops. We escaped into Chicago (short distance) and chose the Sofitel to soothe our jangled nerves...and it was a.perfect choice!
From the time we checked in until the time we checked out (just over night), we enjoyed the wonderful opportunity to forget about the mess back home. people smiled, were helpful and accommodating, and our lovely Sunday morning breakfast in the hotel restaurant was just what we needed to steel ourselves for the return home to our chaotic mess, refreshed and ready for round two.
P.S. really felt taken care of with the Sunday morning newspaper delivery to be read in the gloriously inviting bathtub! .

Room Tip: higher floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank renee214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Bonjour Renee214,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. While we are very sorry to hear about the unfortunate incident in your house, we are nevertheless delighted that you were able to relax in one of our delightful guest rooms and soothe those rattled nerves. We look forward to welcoming you back to our lovely hotel under more pleasant circumstances very soon!

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,951
    1,012
    187
    61
    42
See reviews for
690
1,616
314
1,034
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I had the chance to stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower prior to a business trip in the Chicago area and I enjoyed it to the max! The staff is very professional and meets the expectations we all have in a hotel of the luxury category. Rooms are great, and the SoBed in even greater!! Thinking of buying it for my house (yes they do sell them)!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Arnaud8584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Bonjour Arnaud8584,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your pre-business stay with us, and that you enjouyed our world-renowned Sofitel MyBeds, as well. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower soon!

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We said last year that we would be back and we made it back!! Sofitel Chicago never disappoints! Quiet, comfortable and cozy! Great location, too! Cannot say enough good things about it!! As an example, when we arrived our room was not ready and we were told it would be ready within 30-45 minutes and we would receive a phone call when it was available; we decided to wait in the lobby, which by the way always has beautiful fresh flower arrangements; we received the phone call in less than 30 minutes and were pleasantly surprised with a room upgrade because of the "incovenience". One more reason to love Sofitel Chicago Water Tower!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank michaelraluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Bonjour Michaelraluca,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to see that you chose to stay with us again after your wonderful experience at our property last year, and I am so very pleased that our service lived up to your expectations. Indeed, I am also very pleased to see that our Front Desk staff we were able to offer you a complimentary upgrade in order to make up for the brief wait while we were preparing your room. Thank you as well for your kind comments about our fresh flower arrangements in the lobby, as we do take an immense amount of pride in making sure our guests arrive into a beautiful, stylish, and welcoming atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon!

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We were in Chicago for our anniversary. The gentleman at the front desk upgraded our room once he heard why we were in town. The rooms were very clean with floor to ceiling windows. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Bonjour Chad B!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are honoured that you chose to spend such a wonderful occasion as your anniversary with us, and I am delighted to hear that we were able to accommodate you with a complimentary upgrade for the duration of your stay. Similarly, I am very pleased to hear that you appreciated our floor to ceiling windows, as I am sure they afforded you a beautiful view of the surrounding Chicago skyline. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower in the very near future!

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow Springs, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower on New Years Eve and had a lovely time. The accomodations were perfect from linen to bathroom and room service. I would choose them again without a hesitation.

Room Tip: The front desk is extremely helpful and would do everything possible to make your stay perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reniev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear reniev,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are glad that you had a 'lovely' stay with us and even more during this important day of New Year's eve. Your overall experience at the hotel seems to have met your expectations and the entire team of the hotel is joining me to thank you for your compliments.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon and 'without a hesitation'!

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer,
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stay at the Sofitel Water Tower because of the privacy, quiet, phenomenal service and ease to get in and out. The location is perfect for our needs. Breakfast is always just right. We have been staying here for over a year and a half and have noticed the same employees working. Must be good since there doesn't appear to be a high turnover rate.

Room Tip: Haven't had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank babaoriley04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear babaoriley04,

Thank you very much for your loyalty and for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and that it meets perfectly your needs and expectations. The entire team would be always happy to welcome you in this lovely environment. We thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future so that you can enjoy our wonderfull breakfast again!

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,823 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#10 of 190 in Chicago
1,632 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#33 of 190 in Chicago
3,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing