We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every Stay Here Is Why We Return Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #24 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

4,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,803
    980
    176
    54
    37
See reviews for
653
1,537
293
987
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virden, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The bathrooms are huge with a full tub with french bath and a seperate shower stall. They do not have tea/ coffee makers in room, I had to call down and ask for a tea kettle ( I had emailed them previous to my stay and requested one with my reservation number), but it was brought in about 5 minutes. They were super attentive to any requests I made. The minibar in room is super small. The hotel has a great location and Trader Joes is 4 blocks directly south of hotel. I walked everywhere downtown. The rooms are actually quiet- better than average sound muffling in hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank book78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Bonjour book78,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments on TripAdvisor regarding your visit last january.
Delighted that you had a great stay and you liked the comfort of our rooms and bathrooms. Thank you for pointing out our wonderful Gold Coast location, just steps from Magnificent Mile shopping, downtown dining and many of the best Chicago tourist attractions.

Along with my fellow Sofitel Ambassadors, I look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.

Best Regards,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I loved everything about the Sofitel Water Tower, from the warm smell as you arrive to the friendly staff and the great rooms. It is located in a great area that is close to everything near Water Tower.

It was one of the classiest and nicest hotels I have stayed at and my hotwire purchase made it extremely reasonable. I will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Bonjour Steve H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.
It is such a great pleasure for us to read that you found the staff “friendly” and the location of our hotel “great”. Thank you for complimenting them! I am very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This a lovely, very modern hotel with bedding that grabs you and almost straight away switches you into sleep mode! The location is in the Near North and is a convenient walk into town down State, Wabash or Rush streets. We found the surrounding area to be safe and hassle free. There are plenty of great little local restaurants nearby, as well as the Chicago Red metro station. The hotel is in a stunning building. The rooms are really lovely, with very modern furnishings and bathrooms. There is free wifi and all other mod cons. We really liked the place and having stayed in other Sofitels, thought that this is one of the better ones. We found the staff to be helpful, but not cloying which can be an issue in these hotels. complimentary tea and coffee is available in the mornings which was a great hand warmer in what was freezing weather! This hotel is a great choice for a comfortable stay in the great city of Chicago.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Goldrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Bonjour Goldrichie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our rooms and hotel's appearance exceeded your expectations. In fact, our unique design by architect Jean-Paul Viguier has made us one of the Chicago skyline's 'architectural gems'. Additionally, if you were particularly impressed by our famous Sofitel MyBeds, you can have more information at the SoBoutique, by visiting www.soboutique.com.
Your words are so very generous, and I sincerely thank you!

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments and I am looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours truly,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee,Wi
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

the staff was great and helpful in every way. I was on a walker and every one could not have been more helpful. Easy to get to sites form hotel. Easy to walk but also cab also very very available. Restaurents are close.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hopeful29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Bonjour hopeful29,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your stay amongst us.
I was delighted to read that you spent a good stay with us and you appreciated our great location. It is also a satisfaction to read that our service `could not have been more helpful' to facilitate your stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future!

Yours truly,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest Park, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Arguably the most perfect location in Chicago. The staff and service are well groomed quite dignified in their approach to the guest. Rooms are cleanly and tastefully appointed with comfortable modern touches.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SeattleWineTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Bonjour SeattleWineTraveler,

We appreciate the time you spent sharing your wonderful comments about your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. And it has been a great job of marrying the words!
We are pleased that you found the hotel’s location great, near the famous Michigan Avenue, as well as the design of our rooms and our excellent service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on a return trip,

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I visit Chicago 3-4 times per year and we love staying at the Sofitel. The customer service and location are excellent. We have stayed at many other hotels in Chicago, including a few five stars, but we always look forward to coming back to the Sofitel. On our last visit, we brought our two teenaged daughters and they loved the hotel, too...especially, the breakfast. Now they can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TravelTravelTravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Bonjour TravelTravelTravel7,

Thank you very much for your loyalty and for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in January.
We were thrilled that your daughters loved our hotel, as well as our wonderful breakfast at Cafe des Architectes. It is very appreciable to receive such positive feedback about our service, and I have shared your comments with our entire team.
It will always be a pleasure to welcome you and your family. Once again, thank you so much for your generous comments, and we look forward to a return visit soon.

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
1,723 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4,376 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#10 of 187 in Chicago
1,520 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 187 in Chicago
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing