We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel Chicago - Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #23 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed there for a quick business trip. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly. The food at Café des Architectes stole the show! I had one of the most enjoyable dinners there. The food was amazing - I would have licked my plate clean if it had been acceptable - and the wait staff was so accommodating in making my evening truly special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Teri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Bonjour Teri C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your business trip amongst us.
Both kitchen and restaurant teams were over the moon with your comments on your dinner at Cafe des Architectes. Our Executive Chef, Greg Biggers, was very pleased by your review.
I also appreciate your nice comments regarding our rooms and the wonderful work done by our Housekeeping department.
All in all it was just very thoughtful of you to take the time to share with these dedicated readers.

Looking forward to a return trip,
Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,039 - 2,045 of 4,481 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

I was there for a business meeting. Everything about the hotel was wonderful, clean, friendly and helpful staff. Meeting rooms are very nice. The catered food for the meetings was probably the best I've had at an event. The pastries were divine and from what I was told the pastry chef is one of the up and comping top 10 in the country.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kimberlee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Bonjour Kimberlee66,

Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. You were very generous with your comments, and I very much appreciate that you found the overall staff “friendly and helpful”. I will share your review with all the team and particularly with our Banquet department.
I am happy that you consider our food as `probably the best I've had at an event'. Glad as well you experienced our fabulous pastries. Our Pastry Chef Leigh Omilinsky just won the Jean Banchet Award for Pastry Chef of the Year!

I hope to hear from you soon!
Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

As a former resident of Chicago, I can attest to this hotel being located in perhaps the best part of the city for being close to all the sights and action. It was a pleasure staying here as well, very elegant hotel decor and friendly employees. You feel a bit of celebrity in you when staying here with the great service and atmosphere of the hotel!

The room was very clean, spacious and quite, and the best was extremely comfortable. The complimentary internet service was extremely slow but a small inconvenience. Would definitely recommend to anyone, no matter what brings you to Chicago.

Room Tip: Pick an upper floor so you can enjoy the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoloRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Bonjour lviewguy,

What a wonderful review you have given us! Thank you so very much for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor following your stay back to the windy city in April.
I am thrilled that you found the room product, location and atmosphere great, but that you particularly enjoyed the friendliness of our wonderful Ambassadors is of utmost importance. I am glad that you felt `a bit of celebrity in you'. Your words are very generous.

I am looking forward to a return trip.

With best regards,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed at the Sofitel with my two older daughters for a college tour around the Chicago area. Great price for large, clean rooms with all the right amenities (high speed internet, comfortable beds, nice bathroom). Also, we loved the location because we were able to go to excellent restaurants and we were close to a lot of stores. Food for breakfast was delicious too and the staff was professional and nice.


  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Bonjour Kathy A,

Thank you so much for your outstanding posting on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with your daughters.
I am genuinely touched that you liked our nice rooms and took advantage of the amenities. I couldn’t be more pleased to learn that you enjoyed your breakfast at Cafe des Architectes, we are very proud of it.
Your feedback for our staff at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower is of utmost importance, and I could not be happier to read and share it with the entire team.

I really look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Sofitel is a safe bet. The room was not especially big, but comfortable. Actually very comfortable. And well-insulated giving you the guarantee of a great night's sleep. If location is everything, then the Sofitel is it. Reasonable rates for this quality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KP6Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Bonjour KP6Switzerland,

First of all allow, thank you so very much for the time you took to share your comments on TripAdvisor further to your stay in March.
I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and you consider our hotel as a `safe bet'.
Besides our perfect location in the heart of Chicago, I am glad as well that your appreciated the confort of your room and you are satisfied by the value for price paid. Your words have been passed on to the entire team and they extend their gratitude for your recommendation.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back to our property,

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Great hotel. Very cool lobby. Clean nice rooms with comfortable bed. spacious bathroom. Ordered room service one night .It was great. I would stay here again when going back to Chicago. So convenient to Mag Mile.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Bonjour Dfis,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay here at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. I am very happy to see that you had such an enjoyable time here at our magnifique property, and that you were so very comfortable in our world-renowned Sofitel Mybeds. Thank you as well for pointing out our sensational location just one block away from the Magnificent Mile, and I am glad you had the opportunity to sample a dish or two from our delightful Room Service menu. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon!

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Chose to visit Chicago to celebrate my daughter's 16th birthday. I chose the Sofitel for two reasons: the excellent reviews on this web site and the French design/staff. My daughter is 4th year French and felt she would enjoy the Frech atmosphere. We travel extensively (average 7-10 trips per year) and this hotel definately ranks in my Top 10. There is a vast different in hotel expectations depending on whether it is a beach front resort, a Carribbean escape, or a city venture. Of all the big cities that we have visited, this hotel ranks #1 for city hi-rise. The modern design was amazing. The smell in the lobby from the fresh flowers was beautiful. The staff was very kind, and accommodating. The concierge Peter was a fabulous, valuable employee. Our room was great. The bedding was extraordinarily comfortable and the bathroom was very spacious. Many staff members asknowledged my daughter's birthday which made her feel extremely special. Special thanks to the staff from me for that! The city of Chicago was fun to visit. Enjoyed the wide range of dining options, the mag mile shopping was great fun, and the Shedd Aquarium was the best aquarium that we had ever visited (and we have visited MANY). I would never return to Chicago and stay anywhere else other than this hotel. The overall level of enjoyment at the hotel accounted for a large portion of the positive experience of the trip. When planning a trip to this city, definately stay at this downtown property.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveisbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Bonjour loveisbliss,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful and thorough review of your recent stay here at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially seeing as you specifically chose our hotel in order to experience our slice of French sophistication in the heart of the United States. Thank you for your kind comments not only about our award winning design, but also about our outstanding Concierge team as well, and you can rest assured we have recognized our Concierge Peter for his outstanding service. We are delighted to see that you were so extremely comfortable in our world-renowned Sofitel MyBeds, and that our central location was such a convenient place for you to explore the city of Chicago from. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower in the very near future!

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#30 of 191 in Chicago
5,033 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#19 of 191 in Chicago
3,110 reviews
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £113 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing