We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few days in Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #20 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,909 - 1,915 of 4,349 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

Its a fantastic hotel, the rooms are very luxous and comfy. Downside is that it is a little bit far from the main city attractions but from our view it pays up getting there after a day walking round and have a great bedroom to recovery. If you are looking for an afordable nice clean hotel, you'll see this as a dot a bit far from the other dots in the map, but it is worth. Staff is nice, prompt answering your needs and the furniture is new and extremely nice quailty.

Room Tip: Highest room possible, facing the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvangLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Bonjour silvangLisbon,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your kind comments on TripAdvisor regarding your stay amongst us in September.
I was pleased to know that our property and our staff met your expectations. Please rest assured that I have shared your encouraging message with the team and have recognized them for the outstanding service they provided. I was truly delighted to read such a positive review. Thank you so much to share your tips to book a higher floor room facing the city.

Look forward to a future visit,
Best regards,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Recommended by manager, I just stayed at the Sofitel Chicago with a friend for an overnight staycation and we will definitely be coming back annually. Very well designed hotel with impeccable service. The rooms are a little on the small side, but in Chicago with that location it's understandable. Very well thought out hotel overall, I really enjoyed my stay!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cak7891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Bonjour Cak7891,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay here at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.
I am very happy to see that you had such an enjoyable time here at our `designed' property, and that you appreciated the quality of the service. Thank you as well for pointing out our sensational location just one block away from the Magnificent Mile.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Chicago.
Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank Len181
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 April 2014

First timer in Chicago and the hotel was the best stay ever! Being downtown, we were able to walk a few blocks for food, fun, and excitement. The staff was excellent in making us feel welcome and in referring us to great places to visit. On top of all that, the price for staying in such a luxury hotel was affordable and the best deal in town. I will keep this hotel in my books for future visits!

Room Tip: Rooms were spacious and I loved the bathroom setup as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Selma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Bonjour Selma Z,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay last March at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.

I am glad that you and your friends enjoyed your rooms and bathrooms.
It was a real pleasure to read your kind words about the helpfulness of our staff. Thank you for highlighting the details which made you felt even more welcomed.
I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed staying in the heart of Chicago, so close to the Magnificent Mile and beautiful Lake Michigan.

Thank you again for your kind comments. I look forward to seeing you soon.
Best Regards,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The charm and the professionalism were in evidence the moment we descended form our cab after a two our wait at passport control (chaos) and a fruitless search by United for a lost case ( It still has not appeared). Our room, on the 28th floor, was a haven of tranquility with a stupendous view of the Hancock Center and the Lake. The service was excellent - concierge Peter arranged for an appointment at a local walk--in clinic to get a prescription for some drugs lost in the case, which saved us a lot of time, money and worry. Hotel bars can be a disappointment, but not 'le Bar' which featured craft beer ( a fine Californian IPA) and delicious cocktails. Breakfast in the hotel is also to be recommended. What else? Unlimited free coffee and tea and a copy of the Chicago Tribune in the morning and minutes from N. Michigan and the lake, but what really made the place perfect was the staff. They even allowed me to check out late because I was feeling unwell. If you hit the Windy City you gotta stay here.

Room Tip: Be sure to reserve a room in the upper floors with a view of the John Hancock Center and the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonviveur1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Bonjour bonviveur1789,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a beautiful review of your recent stay here at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.
I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff contributed to make your experience `perfect'.
Thank you for your kind comments not only about our spectacular views from the rooms, but also about our outstanding Concierge team; you can rest assured we have recognized our Concierge Peter for his outstanding service. I am also pleased to see that you took advantage of our delicious beers and cocktails at Le Bar and breakfast at Cafe des Architectes. You are so right saying that our central location is such a convenient place to explore the city of Chicago.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower in the very near future!

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

On our recent trip to Chicago I went straight to our local offices and my wife went to check in at the hotel. It was about an hour before check in so she was told her room was not ready, but to walk around awhile and they would call when her room was ready. About two hours later, cold and tired she went back to the hotel where the lady said she "forgot" to call when the room was ready.
The next morning my wife lost her room card and credit card. A nice lady found the cards on the street and called the hotel, left her name and number and said she would drop them by the hotel. We stopped by the desk several times but they could not find the cards. Management reviewed the security tapes and verified that the conceirge received the envelope and opened it. He said there was just a room card in the envelop so he threw it away. Who opens an envelope with the guest's last name on it and throws it away? Why did the lady call to say she found the room card and credit card, leave her name and number then deliver an envelope with just the room card? The front desk and general manager in phone follow up defended the concierge's actions. Unfortunately, that credit card had many of our automatic payments linked to it, so it was a hassle to get a new one. Not the level of service one would expect.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
5  Thank Ja C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Bonjour Ja C,

I thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your last stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.
I am honored that you chose our hotel for your recent business trip in Chicago.

Nevertheless, I am deeply sorry to read that your experience has not been in keeping with your expectations, and that you had to face the unfortunate situation to lose your credit card and had to cancel it while traveling to Chicago.

I totally understand that you find the situation somehow unintelligible. However there are several steps we take to protect guest property and follow our Lost and Found protocol. As mentioned by the kind lady who found your valuables, the envelop was supposedly containing the lost credit card, but none was found. It is our policy to place any such important item at the security office into the safe until it is claimed. Also hotel room keys would have been cancelled, and to ensure guest safety and security, new keys would be made at the front desk upon request and with a photo ID to validate that the person requesting the key is in fact the registered guest.

Guest’s belongings and personal safety and security are paramount and we, at Sofitel take it very seriously. Please do not hesitate to let reach out to me should you chose to plan a future visit, and we will do our utmost to reverse the impressions you had during your recent visit.

Staying at your entire disposal,
Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#10 of 192 in Chicago
2,905 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,479 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#15 of 192 in Chicago
1,693 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £114 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing