We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #24 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Really excellent hotel - great service, specious and clean rooms with an amazing view.
I stayed there on a business trip around Christmas season loved the spiced tea served in the lobby and beautiful Christmas decoration & atmosphere. I had blueberry pancakes for breakfast which were delicious.
I cant comment on a "value for money" though as i didnt pay for it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetestTaboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Bonjour SweetestTaboo1,

What a pleasure to read your posting on TripAdvisor regarding your last stay with us in December for the superb Christmas season. And thank you for `highly recommending' us. That you consider our service to be `great' is the nicest compliment possible. All the staff takes very much to heart such comments as yours.
I was very touched by your kind feedback regarding the rooms and the `amazing' view.
Finally, your satisfaction regarding the food at breakfast and particularly the delicious blueberry pancakes is most important for us, and I will be happy to share your feedback with the entire kitchen team.

I hope to welcome you back soon,
Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,805
    980
    177
    54
    38
See reviews for
653
1,539
295
987
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great service, nice rooms, good food, great location but expensive. I have seen others get rooms for $170 a night but we paid much more than that.

Also, $63 a night for valet parking is very high, even for Chicago.

Bar very nice unless a large group arrives and the wait staff in undermanned.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Bonjour Charles S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your nice feedback with us on TripAdvisor.
I am pleased to read that you received a `great service'. Our team is always very proactive and do its best to provide the high level of service, which you should expect from a Sofitel Hotel. It is also wonderful to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel and our nice bar.
I am very sorry to know that you were displeased with the value of our Valet Parking facilities. Although the city has just imposed an $8 tax on all downtown overnight parking facilities which has impacted our rates, we feel that our rates reflect the average downtown Chicago rates and they are on par with our nearby competitors as well.
I am always sensitive and concerned by all comments to improve the quality of our standard of service.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back soon,
Best regards

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for whilst on holiday, the staff are friendly and accommodating, the rooms are clean, fairly modern with a large bathroom. There were 3 of us in a room and we never once felt cramped at all. The Sofitel is also close to shopping, and great restaurants, which helped! Will definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Bonjour Lauren R,

I was very pleased by your kind comments on Trip Advisor following your experience at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.
I very much thank you for recommending us. It was a pleasure to read your impressions regarding our property and our well designed rooms. Your satisfaction regarding the staffs’ service is most important for us, and I will be happy to share your feedback with the entire team.
Finally, I really appreciate your wonderful comments regarding the location of the hotel.

I hope to welcome you back soon,
Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Hotel is very well located (an easy walk to Rush Street) and comfortable. It provides everything you may need from amenities to dining and drinking options. Personally, Personally, I found it expensive but then our currency is poor versus the Dollar exchange rate. Service was excellent especially in the restaurant and the help we received with getting 3 very heavy suitcases to our room was really appreciated. It seemed to be very busy with large numbers of conference delegates as Chicago was hosting two large events during the week of our stay, 19 to 23 May. Overall a very satisfactory experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Rush Street are better than those on the front as they face a great big crane and build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Bonjour Geraldharvey,

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete this review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.
I am glad that your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower was enjoyable and I am honored to read that you would recommend our hotel and location.
I will be sure to share your kind words regarding the service at the restaurant with everyone on our team.

I truly look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago.
Regards

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times now and keep returning when I visit Chicago. The location is great as it's so close to Old Town, one of my favorite areas. There is great shopping (walking distance) and are great restaurants (walking and driving) nearby. The service in every department is excellent. Honestly though, the food at Sofitel is great so if you are very busy and don't have time to plan dinners that's OK. My husband and I really like their Sunday brunch. Service in the bar is great too, and room service is quick. My room has always been spotlessly clean. The bed, pillows, and bedding are all very comfortable and there are always plenty of towels. The front desk is quick and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deirdre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Bonjour Deirdre W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay here at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower and for your loyalty.
I am very happy to see that you have always such an enjoyable time here at our magnifique property, and that you are so very comfortable in our world-renowned Sofitel Mybeds. Thank you as well for pointing out our sensational location just one block away from the Magnificent Mile, and I am glad you had the opportunity to sample a dish or two from our delightful Sunday Brunch, Le Bar and Room Service menu.
I do appreciate your nice words for our team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon.
Best regards,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My first stay was in June 2012. I was impressed with everything. Normally, I would look for a restaurant outside a hotel, but I arrived late and decided to try the hotel's restaurant. I'm glad I did as my dinner was first rate. I told our hotel administrator that we should start using the Sofitel for meeting and we have. My colleagues and the executives at our meetings really like the hotel as well. Nothing is cookie cutter here as the rooms are nicely laid out. There is a definite French accent floating around the entire hotel, creating a nice atmosphere. The location is convenient and in a very desirable part of town. Finally, the staff has always been helpful. I have been back several times since my first visit and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank EconHipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Bonjour EconHipster,

I really appreciate the precious time you took to share on TripAdvisor your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Thank you very much for your recommendation and for your loyalty.
My Ambassadors and I were happy to learn that you consider the hotel as `your first choice in Chicago'.
It was particularly wonderful to read that you always experience our slice of French sophistication in the heart of the United States.
Lastly I am happy to know that you like our wonderful restaurant, Cafe des Architectes.

Looking forward to welcoming you back amongst us for another `impressive' stay,
Best regards,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

It was nice to stay somewhere and to feel like the staff truly enjoyed their job. The hotel was a bit far from the business section of town but otherwise a great location with plenty of shopping and restaurants. Perhaps better for pleasure than work trips.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LizT822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Bonjour LizT822,

Thank you so much for your outstanding posting on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.
I am genuinely touched that you found our hotel `nice' and service `Extremely friendly'. That means a lot to us.
Your kind comments have been shared with our entire team. I could not be more pleased to learn that you love our location for leisure purposes.
Thank you for sharing.

I really look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,395 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#6 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing