We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #23 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here with my husband for a night. Everything is great - the staff, the room and the service. Our room was impeccable and had a view of the Hancock. The bathroom was luxurious with high quality products. But the best part is the location and its proximity to Michigan Avenue. This is in the heart of Chicago - close to gold coast restaurants, rooftop bars, clubs, michigan ave shopping, touristy areas, coffee shops, walgreens, water tower place, grocery stores, L train, metro and cabs. I ordered breakfast in the room and the food was good.

Had a great time. Will definitely come back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pallaviumarji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Bonjour pallaviumarji,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower last November.
I appreciate your contribution with such a detailed and positive review. I am very happy that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us, and that you appreciated your room along with the beautiful view, the service and your room service experience.
Also I was glad you took advantage and gave details on our wonderful location close to both Michigan Avenue shopping and Gold Coast dining.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,956
    1,013
    187
    61
    42
See reviews for
692
1,620
314
1,034
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed overnight so we could go to a late evening musical, have dinner and not have to drive 30 miles home. The Sofitel was great. Near Michigan Avenue and upper end of Rush street with great shopping near and lots of choices. The staff was great, the room was lovely and very clean. We felt like valued guests. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DoctorBill1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Bonjour DoctorBill1948,

Thank you so much for choosing the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower for your recent weekend getaway in downtown Chicago and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed staying in the very heart of the city and that the service of our staff and cleanliness of our rooms exceeded your expectations.

Thank you for recommending us and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With best regards,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I think this is the best hotel in Chicago by far. It's near the water, it's very plush and comfortable. The guest services were on point and they even gave my husband birthday cake!! We walked all over Chicago from here. The rates were reasonable as well

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Bonjour Jennifer P,

Thank you so much for your posting on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.
I so appreciate that you chose our hotel for such a nice occasion.
Very pleased that you consider our property as `the best in chicago by far'. It is also great that you took advantage of our perfect location in the city and appreciated your birthday cake.

Thank you for your words and I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back home soon,
Best regards,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had no complaints at all about this hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and had everything we needed, and the location is great (Gold Coast, leafy streets, a few blocks to Michigan Avenue and the lake as well as the CTA red line). There is a pleasant shaded outdoor patio in front perfect for drinks or eating. There were even loaner umbrellas in the lobby.
If there was anything that I'd change, it would be the high prices for breakfast, but I suppose they are in line with other good hotel's breakfasts. There is complimentary coffee and tea, but you'll pay dearly for food. Our fault for not heading to the Starbuck's two blocks away!
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Bonjour Barbara2265,

Thank you very much for choosing the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower and for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to hear that we succeeded to make your stay with us a `pleasurable' one.
It has been a great pleasure for me to read that your stay was seamless and that you were satisfied by your room, the service and took the time to visit our great bar.
I have noted your comments regarding the value for price paid of our breakfast and please rest assured they will be shared with my Director of Food and Beverage.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The staff was helpful in anyway that they could be and the room was wonderful. It was the perfect area to be in for a visit to Chicago. It was an easy area to walk and commute around the city. There were a ton of great restaurants local.

Room Tip: View is better from high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bmiles512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Bonjour Bmiles512,

I was delighted to read your kind comments on Trip Advisor following your experience at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.
It was a pleasure to read your impressions regarding our property and our `wonderful' rooms and views. Your satisfaction regarding our helpful staff is most important to us, and I will be happy to share your feedback with the entire team.
Finally, I really appreciate your nice comments regarding the location of the hotel.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.
Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Check in was a pleasure, we were upgraded easily to a higher level upon request. The rooms were average looking. Clean. Beds were wonderful. Bathroom was spotless and had nice soaps. There was always complimentary Evian water in the room. We really didn't spend much time in the hotel, but the concierge was our biggest resource and they were very helpful. I would recommend this hotel the others. The "L" stops a block away. Taxi cab drivers don't give you attitude like in NYC.

Room Tip: Ask at the check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Bonjour Evelyn J,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor.
It was a real pleasure to read about your guest experience, and that you were able to take advantage of our concierge service and excellent location in the city, close to both Michigan Avenue shopping and Gold Coast dining.
I am also glad that you appreciated the amenities available in our clean rooms and bathrooms.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon.
Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,827 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#9 of 190 in Chicago
1,634 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 190 in Chicago
3,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing