We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT hospitable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #22 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NOT hospitable”
Reviewed 21 June 2010

My experience with guest services has been so marred, that I will never return to this Sofitel, nor any other Sofitel property ever again. Yes, the location is convenient, but the location does not make up for the poor customer service. The neighborhood offers better alternatives that are worthy of your time and money. There is no excuse for inept service and unsuitable treatment at a hotel that claims to be of high caliber.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank PPotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 7 July 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. I want our hotel to improve as much as possible, so would you please provide me with more detail about your experience? I apologize in advance for the customer service, but want to learn more about it so that it can be properly addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,918
    1,003
    183
    59
    41
See reviews for
675
1,598
313
1,024
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Just returned from a weekend stay at the Sofitel in Chicago. I stay in hotels on a weekly basis for business/leisure.
Upon entering our room I was greatly disappointed, there was an odor very similar to body odor, stale linens. The room was stuffy and we adjusted the theromstat before going shopping. Also noticed the mini-frig was hot and non-functioning. Upon return we dressed for dinner and I called the front desk to let them know about the stuffiness in the room that had not improved with the thermostat adjustment and the refrig.
Upon return from dinner neither the refrig or air in the room was working. I called the front desk and was immediately moved to another room per our request.
The location is fabulous, very near Michigan ave, many delicious restaurants and Rush street, the mattress/pillows were above average and comfortable and the bathroom is a perfect size.
Try the Goddess market on the North side of the block for a quick/delicious breakfast/lunch.
Would most likely not stay at this facility again due to the smell/air issues, too much trouble to deal with these type issues in a supposedly 4-star facility.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CruzmamooseKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
?
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Stayed in their best suite to celebrate wife's birthday. It was an excellent, modern 1-bedroom corner suite, about 500 sq feet. Large king bed, 2 high-end 40" TV's. One in the LR, one in the BR. It also had a mini bar w/ all the overpriced treats (didn't try any). Instead, we walked to a small neighborhood market around the corner from the hotel and brought back soft drinks and my own snacks at normal pricing. The hotel was even kind enough to bring up a small fridge to store the snacks. That's was cool.

The concierge was helpful as well with some sightseeing recommendations and also assisted with dinner reservations in the area which is some of the best in downtown Chicago. The restaurants in Chicago really are excellent.

My only complaint which was solved immediatyely was the suite's ridiculous lack of closet space. So, I called room service and they immediately brought up a metal clothes rack and wood hangers which put a band aid over a bigger problem. (a hotel room, especially a suite should have enough closet space for 2 persons to hang up clothes for a few nights). Would I stay there again? Absolutely!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTMray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We stayed here at the end of May during Memorial Day weekend and had a perfect stay - we didn't want to leave! The hotel is in a perfect location - it is centrally located surrounded by restaurants, shops, sights etc. The service at the hotel was fantastic and the rooms were lovely and very clean. I would definitely stay here again. Also, the restaurant was fantastic and the room service was amazing too. We had a truly wonderful time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissSunshine_NG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

I travel to Chicago fairly frequently and have stayed at many Magnificent Mile hotels in the "4-star" category---a notch below the Peninsula/Four Seasons/Ritz.

The Sofitel is by far my favorite Chicago hotel in this category. Great modern style without trying to be overly hip, perfect location, stylish lobby, fun and lively bar, elegant and simple rooms. Good city views and luxurious bathrooms. Good artwork everywhere.

We had breakfast each day in our package and it was memorable. Reasonable internet fees. Coffee was available in the bar in the A.M.

Blows away competitors such as Westin, W or Omni. Archtecturally beautiful as well. Overall, just a really great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iowaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

From the moment you walk in you feel a calmness, like everything will be taken care of. It was our anniversary and they had chocolate covered strawberries in our room. We were on the 30th floor and the views were very nice and the bed was so comfy. I love the bathroom, very large with a seperate shower and tub. The breakfast was gourmet and do not miss the pastries basket. The service was great and they attended to our every need. Would stay again!

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Micht123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2010

In Chicago on business, but couldn't help but feel we were in the city for pleasure trip because of the great location (close to Rush St., shops of Michigan Ave., and simply the feeling of being in a quaint neighborhood w/in the city), the hotel style and amenities (great lobby & patio lounge, comfortable/modern decor, fantastic rooms w/ great beds, separate soaking tub and shower in roomy bathroom, great bath amenities), and very efficient service.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lid222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,792 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 190 in Chicago
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,602 reviews
Gold Coast
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing