We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful mother-daughter trip at the Sofitel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #23 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 August 2010

My teenage daughter and I took advantage of a package that allows you to book three nights, get a fourth night free, plus a picnic packed by the hotel on the day of your choice. The location of this hotel is outstanding. Just steps away from the hustle and bustle of Mag Mile, yet those few blocks make all the difference in terms of a peaceful retreat at the end of the day. Also, every restaurant and shop you could imagine was in the neighborhood. We had excellent meals at Feast (down the block) Eve, and Petterino's (in the theatre district before Billy Elliot). Room service breakfast excellent, as well. Rooms are very nicely appointed, beds sooo comfortable, and the hotel honored our request for a high floor, quiet room (we were on the 27th floor). This is an excellent location to enjoy all that the beautiful and friendly city of Chicago has to offer.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunandfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,239 - 3,245 of 4,481 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2010

We found a great bargain here on one of the travel sites, and decided to book it for a night out on the town. This hotel was more than we could ask for - especially for the price. It was close to all the action. In addition, the lobby and bar were modern looking and attractive. The rooms were updated and had flat screens. If we can find this hotel at a similar rate again, we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjnbln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

My business partner and I travel to Chicago every year for a convention. Last year we stayed at the Ritz Carlton and it was very nice, if not a bit stodgy. We had walked by the Sofitel and I thought I'd give it a try. The hotel is very modern and beautiful. Even though I'm 40 years old now, I can at least pretend that I am young and hip. We booked 2 junior suites for about the same as we would've paid at the Ritz. My partner got a awesome corner room. I ended up in a 'disabled' junior suite. While I would've preferred my partner's room, my room was still very nice. Being that it was for disabled guests it had 2 seperate showers and a seperate tub in the bathroom. It also had these really cool automatic curtains that my partner's room didn't have. Anyway, stil a really cool room. There are two bars downstairs both pouring great French Champagne by the glass. We ordered room service a couple of times and it was excellent. I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

My husband and I went to the Sofitel for our Anniversary and it was FANTASTIC! We live in the western suburbs and love going into the city. The hotel is in a perfect location - couldn't have asked for a better spot.
When we got to the hotel we were nicely greated by staff and were even welcomed by Nicolas the hotel manager (how nice is that). Our check-in with Alex was a breaze - very friendly. We stayed on the top floor (32nd) and the view was incredible.
We did have dinner at the hotels restaurant and LOVED everything about it. Our waiter Gjergji was so friendly and very attentive - we loved him- would definately ask for him to be our waiter again. We ordered the fish platter appetizer and it was sooo GOOD. I ordered a fish dish and my husband ordered the lamb chops both of which were very delicious. They also have a very nice wine list. Since it was our anniversary the hotel treated us to dessert which was also very good. During our dinner the chef came out to see how everything was and we were also visited by Kristina the restaurant manager both of whom were so nice. The entire restaurat staff exceeded our expectations so we knew we would go there for breakfast - how could you resist? The breakfast was also very good - loved the coffee and pastry basket - yummy - crapes were also very good! We often go on vacation and stay at very nice hotels - the Sofitel exceeded our expectations from the moment we walked in. The decor is incredible (modern yet very cozy). Rooms - beds are also so comfy - rooms had nice plasma tv and bose radio - bath products were L'Occitane now how often to you see such premium products in a hotel? I LOVED IT! The staff extreamly friendly - the service is above par and the restaurant is just to die for. We definately will be going back maybe we'll make it an annual trip for our anniversary. If your torn on where to stay in Chicago - I wouldn't think twice the Sofitel is just the perfect hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splitinjuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I was in chicaco for a job interview and did not book this hotel. I guess thats why I was upgraded to the 5th floor corner suite. The suite was very big, with a nice flat screen TV, nice desk and a confortable king size bed. Because this was a corner room, the windows were full length and made the room feel must larger than it really was. The hotel was very good. The lobby is spacious and well kept. The staff are very polite and helpful.

The only problem I experienced in the morning. Dont really know why this hotel dooes not have a better taxi rank. This being a mostly business hotel, they know that mornings are the busiest time for people. Its not fun trying to wait for a taxi for 30 minutes in the rain. They must fix this.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

I stayed at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower for 4 nights with my mother. Great staff who are attentive, whilst remaining unobtrusive. We loved the view, the bar and the ambience. Superb bathrooms and the hotel is spotlessly clean.

The location is excellent and it really cannot be beaten. We simply loved it!

I would not think twice about staying here again or recommending it to others. It beats the Intercontinential where we spent the first 2 nights of our trip.

It really was a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollyol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I have stayed numerous times and always found it to be an excellent choice..Great location near shopping and the lake. Rooms are nice with good natural light. Also nice to have a glass of wine outside in nice weather. Outstanding value for a high quality hotel..

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#30 of 191 in Chicago
5,033 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#19 of 191 in Chicago
3,110 reviews
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611-2664 (Formerly Sofitel Chicago Water Tower)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £113 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing