We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prepare for an evening of gastonomic indulgance”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Goosefoot

Goosefoot
Reserve with OpenTable
Goosefoot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #510 of 9,495 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: North Washtenaw Ave.
Transit: Brown Line Rockwell Stop – Walk one and a half blocks north on Rockwell, turn left on Lawrence, walk 2 blocks.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Prepare for an evening of gastonomic indulgance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

My best friend and I made reservations for her birthday based on the reviews on line. We both share an extensive repitore of food/restaurant experiences- especially 5 star throughout the world. We have lived in Chicago and were familar with the area-which is off the beaten path so to speak. Parking was not an issue. Upon arriving we were immediately greated by chef's wife and co-owner who took our coats and sat us promptly. The decor is fresh and minimal and not distracting, and not warm- but appropriate- clean lines. Service was fabulous. Presentation also clean and creative. Note however, this was an 11 course experience with prefix menu. Highest quality ingredients most certainly. After the third course- a most delish chestnut soup-cream based, the base of this soup which was also heavy in aromatics, seemed too quickly repeated in the rabbit dish, and therefore was lost and actually ruined the courses following until our palette had a rest. One or the other course needs to be removed in order to balance the menu. After this hiccup, we were back on track and very pleased yet extremely saciated. The portions overall were appropriate- and attention to detail was spot on. The chocolates were amazing- a spin off soon to come by chef.
YES- it was fabulous- and expensive but knowing this there was no surprise. It also took 4 hours to experience this menu. Enjoy!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TSP20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    10
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zionsville
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great birthday dinner!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We were fortunate enough to get a Friday night table for my wife's birthday. Nina the chefs wife greeted us and was very nice. The meal took some time to get going, but once it did the pace was ok. Our favorite dishes were the chestnut soup, rabbit and sweetbreads and the steak course. The byob is nice so we indulged in three bottles, sending the half empties back to the kitchen. We have eaten all over the world and find this place to be of great quality and value. We will be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank B8zim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

this restaurant has great food. hence the 5 star review. but I do think they are pushing the limits with a $135 menu with the dumpy space they're still in. Low ceilings, blah decor. Menu barely changes. Does not seem like their sourcing is local. Where is the passion?

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank betty g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful personal experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Had a wonderful meal at Goosefoot recently. 9 delicious courses with not one bad course among them- all meticulously plated and absolutely delicious. It is also BYOB with no corkage fee which is nice as well. The best part of it was the personal touch by the owners- while we never met the chef/husband, the wife was very warm and the service wonderful. They even gave my wife a signed menu with a very nice and personal message at the end of the meal. The only downsides- and I'm nitpicking for sure- some of the courses in the beginning seemed to have a fair amount of time in between them so the pace seemed to drag at times- and it isn't a cheap meal by any means but the value is definitely there and you get what you pay for in this case. Definitely worth trying.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank somekg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing food, endearing owners and a dash of luck for a reservation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I recently ate at Goosefoot and all the hubbub around the menu is well-deserved. The restaurant is booked well in advance so if you're just passing through Chicago, it's likelier that you will experience a solar eclipse than get a coveted reservation at this out of the way foodie-culture restaurant. With some advance planning ( not my strong point) or a bit of good last-minute karma you will be seated at this intimate edge of Lincoln Square hot spot. The atmosphere is subdued and the staff uber-attentive. The chef, Chris Nugent, a Les Nomades alum, and his Brazilian wife bet the farm on this unlikely culinary mecca and with expectations high, we were not disappointed. Each course was impeccably prepared and a vision of loveliness on the plate. Micro flowers, hyper-intensely flavored root vegetables and sauces that my mother never dreamed of all resulted in a 4 hour event that was well worth every 135 of the dollars that the prix-fixe menu commanded. It's BYOB, so the value was amplified by the comfort in knowing that the $30 bottle of wine was actually a $30 wine brought from my local store and not a triple-markup special from a vendor under pressure at the end of the fiscal year. My friends and eat out frequently and are known to be accepting of most, but praising of few, diners. I looked for flaws, service blips and thousand other reasons not to venture again to the land of no taxis, but I found none. I loved it, I booked another table in 2 months and I will again send a plaintive email in the early morning hours to benefit from a last minute cancellation in hopes of seeing those teeny tiny flowers atop a perfectly prepared course sooner rather than later....

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goosefoot also viewed

 

Been to Goosefoot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing