We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Ranked #25 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We booked this hotel for a 2 night stay in July. Upon arrival we were instantly upgraded to a King-Size Suite free of charge, and offered maps and advice of things to do during our stay. The room was very spacious, clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in! The decor was modern and fun, but not over the top. It was only a short walk to Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile was right on the doorstep. However, if visiting the Museums at Museum Campus I highly recommend a taxi as it is a long, long walk, especially in the heat!

Whilst there was no tea or coffee facilities in the room, they offer a free 'morning Joe' delivery service in addition to a free buffet breakfast. The breakfast was amazing, with a wide variety of choice, and all very fresh. I think this is only complimentary until the restaurant is up and running, which is a shame as it really puts the hotel above the rest.

All staff that we encountered were friendly, professional and willing to go out of their way to help. The price was much cheaper than I would normally expect from such a well presented, city centre hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel to others and will definitely stay there again if visiting Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CISIL193, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Hello Steviem766,

We are pleased that you slept well in our new beds. Our restaurant will be up and running by fall, but until then we will offer complimentary breakfast which includes quiches, danishes, fresh breads and much more. Thanks for your recommendations and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,111
    829
    165
    55
    28
See reviews for
578
1,304
208
560
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just got back from a weekend trip in Chicago... Great city btw. Stayed at the ACME and found a great deal online. Great middle of the road hotel... the bed was probably one the most comfortable I have ever stayed in... including at much higher-rated hotels. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JG F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CISIL193, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Hi JGF506,

Thank you for your recommendation and the next time you’re looking for a place to stay in Chicago, we will be here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

Rooms are as advertised. A bit on the small side but not bad for 2. Staff is very nice and helpful. Workout room needs more treadmills but has some good equip. Breakfast spread was good. Coffee delivery was good idea. Nice touches. Funky theme. All in all a nice little hotel in great proximity to everything.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CISIL193, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Hi Stephen A,

We are pleased you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast spread and the “morning joe” delivery service. Thank you for your suggestion on our workout facility, we look at all suggestions and continuously look for ideas we can implement. Can’t wait to see you again the next time you get to the River North area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

I've not yet written a Tripadvisor review, but I've used it extensively and thought I was due to add my perspectives to the site. My wife and I stayed at Acme Hotel this past Tuesday and Wednesday for business and took advantage of the 25% opening special. At that price, it's not a bad deal, but when they discontinue it, I'm not sure it would be worth the money to stay here again. They do offer breakfast, but they say only until their restaurant is finished (after which I believe they will only offer room service for a fee). That said, we thought the breakfast was surprisingly good--fresh pastries, waffles, a quiche-type dish. They do have coffee and tea available 24 hours a day and have two great lobbies in which to work (one on the main level and another on the second level where breakfast is currently served). Also, their parking is pretty cheap at $29 a day (it would be $36 to park all day without their pass, I believe)--and if you drive a hybrid to the hotel, take advantage of the Go Green Package for free parking (it's a barely noticeable link at the bottom of their website).

Our room was very clean and attractively-designed. My wife didn't like the lack of pressure in the shower (our room had an overhead rainfall shower head, which I think all rooms do), but it wasn't a big deal. One major downside is the refrigerator situation--as another poster pointed out, it's basically a small vending machine or minibar. You can't store anything in it. Also, they had charged me for two sodas upon checkout, which we didn't drink. They politely took them off my bill when I pointed it out, but you might want to look over your bill to make sure it's correct. We stayed on the 3rd floor in a corner room located at the front of the building. Because we were in the corner, our room was quite spacious and had a great view and huge window, but I looked in to the room next to us on our way out, and it looked a little smaller than ours--perhaps the reason other posters complained about the size of the rooms?

Location-wise, it's about two blocks off of Michigan Avenue, pretty close to the water tower and the main shopping area. Plenty of restaurants (especially pizza places) nearby. And we enjoyed that Design Within Reach is located right across the street. It's also really easy to get to and from the interstate and to locate the hotel. The staff was friendly enough with a few desk workers much more welcoming and nice than others (though we had no major issues with any of them).

Again, we greatly enjoyed our stay, but unless we could get a deal again, I think we'd look for a place with more amenities. I rated our stay as a 4, but without the price and our particular room, which was very spacious, I'd rate the hotel as a 3--not a bad hotel, but not outstanding either.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor at the front of the hotel--great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Casey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We're a nonprofit, and we need to make the most of every dollar when we travel, so that we can put the maximum amount of funding into our youth-based programs. Marc at ACME completely understood this. Not only did he offer a great group rate in a pricey city like Chicago, but he added free breakfast and parking into our package. This level of service enables organizations like ours to continue to do the work we love to do.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbdkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Visited Chicago for four days, three nights in mid-July, and found a good deal for this hotel through Travelocity. That said, even without the deal, the price is great for a hotel right in the heart of the city.

We stayed in one of the standard king rooms (non-City View, so had a nice view of the parking garage next door, haha). Room was plenty big for two adults, in particular the bed (we both noted that it felt like we each had our own bed). No big frills, but none are needed - everything you need to be comfortable for an extended stay. Rooms were very clean, which was a great treat given some prior hotel stays on family vacations. We both noted we loved the hardwood floors vs. a more traditional but potentially less-clean carpeting. Wish there was more 'hanging' space, but unless you're doing an extended stay (more than 4-5 days) there's plenty there for you to use, including hangars, an ironing board and iron, and a few drawers. One nice perk was the thermostat in-room, which we were able to adjust to our personal preference (good in the heat of July).

The hotel definitely had a lot of 'quirk' factor, which is great if you're into that; gave the hotel a lot of character. Hotel staff (both front-desk and not) were incredibly friendly and helpful, from the moment we checked in to a post-stay call regarding some billing issues. I'm not sure if it is just a case-by-case basis, but of the five or six front-desk staff we met, all of them were very helpful, friendly, and accommodating. Can't say I agree with the negative reviews of the staff; either they're a bit more sensitive than we are, or the staff have cleaned up their act a lot since then.

The hotel is in a great location, one block from a red-line metro stop, and about three blocks from the Magnificent Mile, right in the heart of a lot of restaurants and jazz clubs. Grant/Millenium park is just a short train ride (or somewhat-short walk) away. Made for a great home base for our vacation and tourism, and easy to return to by bus or train.

We didn't make use all of the hotel's amenities, but we toured the hotel a bit on our first night and saw the gym (small, but effective), spa (really nice feature for a hotel in the heart of the city, given no pool), and lounges (one of which is temporarily serving a delicious free continental breakfast, soon to be replaced with a unique room service set-up). Same amenities of any traditional hotel (your Westin, Holiday Inn, etc.) but scaled down to the point that it's not overbearing.

Also, should note the huge TVs in the rooms - we didn't make use of ours once, since most of our time was out of the room, but it's there and chock-full of channels for you if you're into that. Includes Apple and HDMI connections as well for the more tech-savvy traveler.

In short, if you're looking for an affordable, comfortable place to sleep and act as a home base for you while visiting Chicago, ACME Hotel Company is a great place to make your stay. There are plenty of features for those who want to make use of them, but even if you don't (as we didn't) it's a comfortable place to stay with great access and at an affordable price. By no means a 'luxury' hotel, but if you're looking for that in the city, there are places with much higher price tags that I'm sure will better suit your tastes. For the rest, this is a great, affordable, comfortable place to stay on your visit to the city, and I will definitely be staying here next time I'm in town.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 12th floor, and noted that it was very quiet despite being full of travelers here f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed at the Acme during the grand opening. Our room was exactly as pictured on the website and extremely tiny. The giant hand and lips were novel, but we were already tired of looking at them by the time we arrived. We booked a 'city view' room and got a view of the courtyard, making it always seem dark outside. The hallways were musty and in need of refreshing, but our room was very clean and the bathroom was nice. The location was great, but we considered it a one time only hotel. Worth checking out.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#22 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
dana hotel and spa
#52 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,352 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACME Hotel Company Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Property: ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Address: 15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-2751
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#13 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — ACME Hotel Company Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Downtown Chicago Hotel. The brand new ACME Hotel Company in downtown Chicago offers a modern hotel experience with stylish decor, a high-tech vibe, affordable rates and so much more.Located 2 ½ blocks from the Magnificent Mile in the River North neighborhood, ACME is downtown Chicago's all new boutique hotel alternative.If you appreciate an eye for design and dig a high-tech vibe, you'll feel right at home. We'd like to call ourselves cool, or hip, because we are, but that just feels like bragging. But mostly, ACME is what we consider approachable - in more ways than one. The fact is, we want your experience at our downtown Chicago hotel to blow your mind, not your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ACME Hotel Company Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Chicago
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Chicago
Chicago Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing