We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Ranked #25 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

The Acme Hotel continues to excel as an outstanding hotel. The Acme bills itself as a boutique hotel but would be better in describing itself as a 5-star hotel. The staff was outstanding as usual and the recent renovations were well done. Last year I stayed at the Acme when it was operating under a different name and felt it was very good then and now is only better.

Room Tip: The rooms with two beds are very large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Hello AnnArborBill,

Thank you for your continued patronage, we truly appreciate every guest, and especially when they return year after year to enjoy the area or coming to work! Next time you return, look for our restaurant and bar which will be added shortly. We'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,111
    829
    165
    55
    28
See reviews for
578
1,304
208
560
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We spent 3 nights at the ACME Hotel in Chicago! After booking online we were plesantly suprised by this gorgeous hotel and great value for money!
The hotel is only a 3 minute walk to Michigan Avenue for great shopping and only 1 minute walk to State Street restaurants (recconend the Weber Grill around the corner). The hotel had complimentry breakfast and a laundry great for tourists! The decor of the hotel was very funky almost a retro feel. Room was very spacious and beds where very big and comfortable! Would definately stay at this hotel again when in Chicago and reccomend to all of my travelling friends :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lkosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Hi Lkosch,

We’re glad you enjoyed our central location in Chicago and our brand new, comfortable beds. Sometimes hard to get out of bed in the morning after such a relaxing sleep, but shopping and museums, Navy Pier, Michigan Avenue, restaurants and nightlife are all just steps away, so we try to get your day started right with our Morning Joe coffee delivery! Thanks so much for your recommendations and look forward to seeing you next time you find yourself in Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We recently stayed at ACME hotel for our honeymoon. We brought with us four ipods (Two classics and two nanos) to listen to on the 9 hour trip. The first day we arrived in Chicago, I bought a new purse. When we arrived at the hotel, i put the ipods in my old purse and tucked it away in my luggage. We did not take the iPods out the rest of our trip. On our way home, we discovered that two of the ipods (two classics) were missing from our luggage. we checked the rental car (just in case) but knew they wouldn't have been left here, since we never took them out. we then contacted the hotel, knowing that these items were taken from our luggage. The hotel took three days to contact us. When Jim the GM finally called me, he told me that he would 'investigate' and talk to the staff.
The hotel never called me back. After over a week, I contacted the hotel again, and Jim stated that he checked lost and found and didn't find anything. I explained to him that the ipods were not lost, they were taken out of our bags. He then explained that he hires 'good people' who would not steal things. He said he talked to the housekeeping staff and they told him they didn't take anything (of course, who would admit this!!??) He rudely told me that i probably dropped the TWO ipods somewhere. I then asked "after spending over $900 at your hotel, someone steals $300+ of items from my bag, and you are going to tell me there is nothing you're going to do about it?" He said "i guess. my only advice would be to file a home owners insurance claim, but you deductible will be more than the iPods."
I am absolutely disgusted by the way this hotel handled this situation! it was clear that their staff stole these expensive items from me, and the only thing the hotel management would do was tell me that they wouldn't hire people who would steal. Isn't it odd that the two large ipods went missing? my guess is that someone opened my purse, saw the two obvious ipods and took them. DON'T GO TO THIS HOTEL, UNLESS YOU WANT YOUR VALUABLES STOLEN!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank a g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear Appolonia,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and again, I am very sorry that 2 of your 4 i-Pods went missing during your travels at some time between September 4th and September 10th.
As you noted in both our phone and email conversations, the last time you used your i-Pods was on the way to Chicago on the 4th, and after unpacking on the 10th, the day after you returned home, you realized you could not find 2 of them. In our email conversation you noted you purchased a new purse 2 days after arriving in Chicago and put your license and debit card in the new purse and did not use your old purse for the remainder of the trip. You were adamant that the housekeeper must have removed 2 of the 4 i-Pods. I attempted to explain that our investigation did not turn up anything, and that unfortunately, no one can determine with any certainty where, let alone when the i-Pods went missing, whether in Chicago, in the rental car, while walking around the city, or somewhere else in the time between checking out of the hotel, travelling home and then realizing you were unable to find them. As unpleasant as this may seem, it is possible the old purse was pick pocketed on the street or in a store at some point during the 2 days while walking around and never noticed. I also reiterated that our staff (any hotel staff) is under constant scrutiny and any alleged incidents are taken very seriously, filed and kept to be referred to in the event any similar incidents take place. It is surprisingly easy with today’s technology, and every employee having a unique ID, to track movements throughout the day. You declined my assistance to file a Police Report in the event you wanted to pursue this through your homeowner’s insurance policy.
Again, I am very sorry that your i-Pods are missing, but please rest assured that we take any allegation against a staff member extremely seriously and do everything possible to determine what happened. Please feel free to contact me direct to discuss further if you wish.
Sincerely,
Jim Harness
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Nothing to fault with this hotel. Stayed for 5 nights. Suite looking on to the road. Pretty noisy for most of the night but its the city of Chicago and its to be expected. The staff are so lovely. Hailed us a cab when we needed, always greeted us as we passed reception.

This hotel is pretty trendy and modern. The lifts are decorated with old record covers. The breakfast room is a little small but I believe they are extending, This room has so much character, Breakfast was included and was great too. Good selection. The tea wasn't very good but I'm not complaining, you just need to have a coffee instead. We were asked on check in what time we wanted coffee delivered to the room. It came in a flask, freshly brewed, in a paper bag. Someone knocked and left, so there wasn't that awkwardness and rush to get up. Each room had a black board and chalk on the front to leave any messages for staff e.g, clean, or do not disturb. our suite had a great view of john hancock building and 3 ipod docks. It had very few coat hangers for your unpacking however I'm sure if you asked, more would be delivered. We went to the hot tub once, and there was a gym too. I loved this hotel and would stay here again for sure!
Bring your own snacks if you think you may want some in the evening. The mechanism here is once you lift, you buy, even if you are browsing to check the ingredients. I needed to check for allergies but daren't lift the items.

Room Tip: City view, perhaps a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P.L.sparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Hello P.L. sparkle,

Our hotel prides itself on having character and your kind words have been passed on to our staff. Our 'morning joe' coffee delivery service is a great way to start off your day. We will continue to offer our deluxe (and delicious!) continental breakfast until our restaurant is completed soon. Our suites are very spacious and comfortable. Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

Stayed an extra night in chicago and had to find a new hotel since everything was booked. Found Acme. So glad! This place is GREAT! Cool and urban without trying too hard. Very smart moves to stay inexpensive without ever being cheap. Great price. 279.00 The low end of miracle mile places. Great location! Free wifi, great breakfast!
These guys seem to have talked to the 30 to 40 something traveler and come up with their dream hotel. A good deal, cool, trendy, practical, smart, clean and professional.
Wish there was one in every city.

Way impressed.

Room Tip: Check out basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig55229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Hi craig55229,

We're sorry to hear your hotels were booked but so glad you found us! We’re excited and thrilled to be referred to as a 'dream hotel.' Our rates are reasonable and we try to provide many complimentary or very reasonable services as well, such as our breakfast and wi-fi and one of the most reasonable overnight parking rates in the area. Look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

The decor of the room was very funky - 60's style. The room had 2 queen beds and a large flat screen TV. The hotel was located right downtown - 8 blocks from all of the sights. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast each day was substantial. Coffee delivery service in a thermos every morning.
Reasonable rates were great!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLWalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Hello DLWalton,

Glad you enjoyed our recently updated decor. Our location is very central and accessible to all the sights Chicago has to offer, right in the River North area which is loaded with restaurants, nightlife, shopping and all the things people love to do when visiting Chicago! Thanks for all your great comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Great hotel for the price. Location is great. Service was wonderful..especially the coffee service and breakfast.

Although, there is something to be said about a hotel with valet parking. We did park in the public ramp and paid $29 per night with the hotel dIscount. When we arrived Friday we spent a good hour driving around the ramp for a spot, found one and picked the truck up Sunday with a large dent in the bumper.

Needless to say, we will only valet from now on....easier.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlf26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Hi hlf26,

Thanks for choosing the ACME Hotel Company for your stay in downtown Chicago and we’re glad you enjoyed the service, coffee and breakfast, but we are very sorry to hear about the dent in your bumper. While we do not provide valet service, we have been able to negotiate one of the lowest parking rates for overnight parking in the downtown area. Glad you enjoyed your stay at the ACME Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#22 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
dana hotel and spa
#52 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,350 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACME Hotel Company Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Property: ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Address: 15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-2751
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#13 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — ACME Hotel Company Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Downtown Chicago Hotel. The brand new ACME Hotel Company in downtown Chicago offers a modern hotel experience with stylish decor, a high-tech vibe, affordable rates and so much more.Located 2 ½ blocks from the Magnificent Mile in the River North neighborhood, ACME is downtown Chicago's all new boutique hotel alternative.If you appreciate an eye for design and dig a high-tech vibe, you'll feel right at home. We'd like to call ourselves cool, or hip, because we are, but that just feels like bragging. But mostly, ACME is what we consider approachable - in more ways than one. The fact is, we want your experience at our downtown Chicago hotel to blow your mind, not your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ACME Hotel Company Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Chicago
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Chicago
Chicago Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing