We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Forget Your Anvil!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Ranked #28 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel was fantastic. From the moment you arrive, the term "boutique hotel" is defined in the quirkiness and elegance of this establishment.

The location was excellent. Located just off the miracle mile, the hotel is close to shops and restaurants. My friends and I never had any trouble walking to most attractions since the hotel is so centrally located. There is a grocery store close by to stock up on snacks and other provisions for your stay. Perfect.

The staff is friendly and helpful. They will provide maps of the city and are also knowledgeable about most city attractions.

The room is cleverly decorated and immaculate. A pair of giant lips are painted on the bathroom mirror, bright orange mid-century inspired chairs make up the seating area, and comfy beds are perfect for a nights rest after schlepping all over Chicago during the day. Cute details like flying pig statuettes adorn the shelves, and robes with the ACME logo are out for your use. Very comfortable and convenient. The room has closet space and plenty of room for your luggage. The room has a large television and an ihome on the nightstand. I would have liked more outlets to charge various accessories, but I always bring my extension/multi-plug cord for such occasions. Rooms have refrigerators and microwaves convenient for keeping your drinks cold and heating up a quick breakfast before hitting the exciting streets of Chicago.

The ice machine is just down the hall on every floor. You can tell by the painting of an ice-machine on the outside of the door. Ha! The elevators are decorated with album cover art from the 1970s and 80s. Your room will have a chalkboard on it for your "Do Not Disturb" messages to housekeeping. Or in our case to write "Candygram!" and "That's all Folks!" and other daily nonsense messages that made us laugh.

In the end, I have no complaints about this hotel. I highly recommend it for your stay in Chicago. I had never been to Chicago before, but if I go again, I will be staying at ACME. I've already recommended it to a friend of mine who will be visiting this summer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Kenobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hi, Mrs_Kenobi!

I loved reading your review. Thanks so much for your feedback! It's great to hear everything that you enjoyed about your stay with us. I really hope we can look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Chicago!

P.S. Great pics!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,126 - 3,132 of 3,794 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Unless you're stuck on what a hotel room "should" be like, you'll likely appreciate what ACME does to redefine the urban hotel experience. Rooms are small but they feel spacious and have more furniture and comfort than much larger rooms in much more expensive hotels because they've used the space so well and paid careful attention to the details. The design is functional funky--from the designer ironing board hanging on the wall to the plumber's pipe railing in the elevators. So many little touches that you wouldn't expect at a discount hotel in the heart of a major city--outstanding flat screen TV with great picture and good channel selection; night stands on both sides of the bed with actual draw space; a table with seating for 4; good bathroom; very clean and everything modern; fast elevators; fast, free high-speed wifi. And the location is very good. Highly recommend. Two quibbles: first, the aforementioned table serves as the desk for the room, too, and it's too high to comfortably type and it's comfortable to sit at for a long work session; I appreciate the cool, functional design, but they take it a little too far in the bathroom by not having a toilet paper holder--the tp just sits next to the toilet.
But I give them very high marks for enough other touches--like the quality of the TV and internet--that they still get all 5 stars. Oh, and I found the staff to be exceptionally helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbrooksher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hi, tbrooksher!

Thanks for your great feedback! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you found the staff helpful. It's great to hear when guests really appreciate the design. We really hope to have you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I have stayed at the Acme hotel at least 6-7 times now and it is by far my favorite hotel in Chicago. I have an office 2 blocks away and I stay in Chicago a lot b/c of my job. The Acme comes off as a 4 store hotel at a much more competitive price than anything in the area.

The rooms are really nice, the beds are amazing, free coffee delivery to your door in the morning...how could that be bad. Additionally, they have super high end iPod docs in your room so you have the luxury of a great home stereo at your finger tips. The staff is always friend and they have one of THE best whiskey selections in any hotel I've ever stepped in. Mixology is their gig at the hotel bar. The onsite bakery is incredible as well.

All the furnishings of a truly boutique hotel at competitive prices. My wife also travels with me from time to time and she loves the Acme b/c it's central to everything you'd want to do in Chicago. I have zero complaints about this place.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to a suite when you book, do it. It's totally worth the value as you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hi, Jeremy S!

What a great review - thank you! It's great to hear that everything the ACME has to offer keeps you coming back for more. I hope we see much more of you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Had a great time at the Acme Hotel in Chicago. My wife and I brought our daughter who was home on spring-break from college. The location of the hotel couldn't have been better. We have visited Chicago many times and have stayed at many different hotels near Michigan Ave. This was as good as it gets with respect to location, service, cleanliness & bed comfort. The hotel offers free (and great tasting) coffee each morning. Simply tell the front desk how many thermoses of coffee you would like and what time you would like it and they will bring it to your room and knock. When you open the door you will find the coffee outside. We loved the Berkshire room on the first floor. The bartenders make great cocktails and go out of their way to make your experience a great one. They will offer you their expertise on the many varieties of whisky, rye, bourbon and scotch they carry in house. Three areas I might offer a critique: 1. The room could be a little brighter. We did not get enough natural light from our windows and the room lighting seemed to be a little dim. Perhaps more lights or brighter light bulbs might help. 2. There could be a little more shelf space in the bathroom. What shelf space there is becomes a little cramped for 2 or 3 people. 3. There is not a holder for the toilet paper. I know this may sould a little odd but the roll of toilet paper has to sit on the back of the toilet or under the sink. Not as convenient when you have to reach around back and try to feel for the roll. But all in all, this is a great hotel and I would definately stay at the Acme again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good exposure to outside natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewMichael2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hi, AndrewMichael2014!

Thank you for the wonderful review! I am so glad you were able to enjoy your experience with us and that you enjoyed both our Knock and Drop service and The Berkshire Room. We hope to see you again next time you're in Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here for three days over a weekend. The place is frankly way too cool for me, but I'm OK with that. Room was comfortable. Good shower and bathroom. Nice TV. Fantastic location (Ohio 1/2 block from State), and staff was friendly. Enjoyed the hot tub. Not a luxury experience, but a very nice place to stay at a bargain rate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hi, Joseph K!

Thanks for the great feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. And thanks for the compliment, but we're not too cool for anyone! Here at the ACME, we love everyone. If there is any place to "do your thing," it's here at the ACME! That said, we hope to have you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Great location, great service, great amenities. Stayed in a queen suite with terrific city views and quiet sleeping. LOVE the lips/nightlight in the mirror on the bathroom. Free coffee delivered to your door in the morning in thermoses is an excellent perk, and it's great to have the bakery and lounge in the lobby. Parking is in a public lot right next door to the hotel, and couldn't be easier. We've stayed at many hotels in Chicago and highly recommend the Acme.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKTrip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thanks, RKTrip1, for the fantastic review! It's so great to hear everything you were able to enjoy during your stay. The fact that you would highly recommend the ACME means so much to us. We can't wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel is very reasonably priced for Chicago, and was a cool find in some ways. The location is good except for the nasty closed hostel/restaurant next door. The hotel itself has a tiny lobby and hallway, but check in was super efficient.

Rooms are small-ish but perfectly adequate. The light from across the street was a bit of a nuisance the first night so I had to really block the shade and wedge something on it in the windowsill to avoid that light shining in my eyes.

No room service to speak of - a small menu of expensive breakfast items they will bring you with coffee, that's it. Didn't bother since there a supermarket a few doors down and a Starbucks on the corner.

Bathroom was nice except the water pressure was pretty low. The nightlight are these huge lips on the mirror which was creepy in a fun way.

Lack of storage in the room is an issue, I stayed for over a week and had nowhere to store stuff that has to be folded - ended up having to live out of a suitcase which I didn't much like.

Otherwise the hotel was fine, the bar was quite nice, and being able to use the shuttle service to the Housewares show (right around the corner) saved me a lot of money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touchofeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hi, touchofeurope,

Thanks for your review! I am glad you found your room comfortable. I am sorry to hear that your lack of storage was an issue. On your next visit, we would be more than happy to recommend our spacious double queen room which has a closet for additional storage. Also, I hope you will be able to enjoy the delicious sandwiches offered by our West Town Bakery available on our room service menu. I apologize if this was not communicated to you during your stay! We very much hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#22 of 192 in Chicago
2,559 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#10 of 192 in Chicago
2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACME Hotel Company Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Address: 15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-2751
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £72 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ACME Hotel Company Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Downtown Chicago Hotel. The brand new ACME Hotel Company in downtown Chicago offers a modern hotel experience with stylish decor, a high-tech vibe, affordable rates and so much more.Located 2 ½ blocks from the Magnificent Mile in the River North neighborhood, ACME is downtown Chicago's all new boutique hotel alternative.If you appreciate an eye for design and dig a high-tech vibe, you'll feel right at home. We'd like to call ourselves cool, or hip, because we are, but that just feels like bragging. But mostly, ACME is what we consider approachable - in more ways than one. The fact is, we want your experience at our downtown Chicago hotel to blow your mind, not your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your ACME Hotel Company Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Chicago
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Chicago
Chicago Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing