We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much to commend it, but not without flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Ranked #27 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is in many ways an excellent bolthole for exploring Chicago. The location is perfect: it's around the corner from a Red Line (Subway) station, a few blocks from the Magnificent Mile and surrounded by bars and restaurants. You feel like you're in the thick of the action.

Our room was quite small by American standards but stylishly decorated. The bed was extremely comfortable, the TV massive and crystal clear and the wi-fi fast, free and reliable. What detracted from all of that was the view. We had been given the option to upgrade to a room with a city view during the online-check-in process for an extra $10 a night; well, we should've taken it. As it was, all that could be seen from our window was a wall and some ducting. It was so dark and oppressive that the room needed to have its lights on at all times of the day.

Our stay was plagued by problems with TV reception. Before staff realised that the whole hotel was affected, they upgraded us to another room after we complained about the issue. The second room was a double queen, much bigger and with two windows: one with the same 'view' as in the first room, the other overlooked by a multi-storey car park. It was marginally better than before and we were grateful for the upgrade.

We loved ACME's 'knock and drop' free coffee service in the morning, although you have to tell them you want it each night of your stay, otherwise you won't get it. For breakfast, there's a cool bakery on-site; if you want a cooked breakfast, your best bet is Eggsperience, a couple of blocks away, which does a full breakfast menu (good food, great service, 1990s decor). And there's a very useful supermarket on the other side of the street.

There's a gym and hot tub in the basement. We only took a look on our last day and regretted not bringing our swimwear - the hot tub looked great. The hotel's pride and joy, though, or so it seemed to us, is its bar, the Berkshire Room: a fantastic space, beautifully turned out, serving excellent cocktails. If we lived in Chicago, we'd be here a lot.

All in all, I'd happily stay at the ACME again, but only if the TV reception was fixed and only by paying the extra for a city-view room. If no such room were available, then sadly I'd probably look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Unless street noise is an issue for you, then it's really worth paying the extra for a city-view...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acquiescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi, Bel_Ludovic!

Thanks for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found time to appreciate the Berkshire Room and our Morning Joe service. I'm sorry to hear that our temporary snag in TV reception affected your stay, but I hope that you'll stay with us again and enjoy our City View Queen or King Suite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,696)
There are newer reviews for ACME Hotel Company Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,006 - 3,012 of 3,700 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed at the Acme for 3 nights this past week while In Chicago for a conference. First, it is a really cool concept for a small boutique, which is what I was looking for and it was a couple of minute walk to the conference hotel that I needed to be at during the day. It is located in the middle of the Upper North River area, just north of the Loop, so it is a great location. A short walk to the shops and action on Michigan Avenue.

As for the room: I asked for a quiet room after reading reviews on here and elsewhere. They accommodated that request as I was in room 1005, thus the room had no view whatsoever, which was fine with me. It was mostly quiet, which is what I wanted.

The room had a great king size bed which was very comfortable and a decent size bathroom, with a waterfall shower (not my favorite shower head).

Cool furnishings, a small desk, a nice TV, free WiFi, free coffee in the morning, a nice hot tub and sauna in the basement are all part of the services offered at the Acme.

The only drawbacks: no true closet in the room, just hooks on the wall (which is sort of weird) and when the guests in the room next door were talking, I could hear them pretty clearly. Luckily for me that wasn't all that much time.

Overall, I was pleased by the hotel, the room, the location and the price ( a bargain compared to other area hotels). If not for the few drawbacks I mentioned, I would have given it a 4.5 stars.

Room Tip: If you ask for a quiet room, they will accommodate you, but you won't have a view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhklawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hi, jhklawyer!

Thanks for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accommodate your requests. I hope we can look forward to having you stay with us again next time you're in Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We were looking for a place centered around my partners work in downtown Chicago and near some cool places to eat. We came across this hotel. Check in was easy, parking was easy, and the rooms and hallways are unlike any other stuffy hotel. Parking is in the garage right next to the hotel and it was affordable, as downtown hotels go. It was under $40 and you park yourself so you don't need a tip.
The rooms were decorated pretty cool. The artwork hanging up wasnt have the obligatory flower or seascape scenery you usually see people selling at garage sales. It was cool artwork. Our room had a huge print of a hand print. The rooms aren't very big, but when you're not spending much time in them, that shouldn't matter. They have phone charging station at the desk, and really nice robes to use while you're there.
The rooms are equipped with fridges and stocked fridges with beer and soda. the beers were $5 each which isn't too bad considering you'll pay that at the bars in the area. If you're looking for a cool place to stay, this is it. But don't expect to cram a bunch of people into the smaller rooms.
The elevators have cool album covers hanging in them and they play music from the said albums. I thought that was a nice touch! They have a bar/restaurant but I cant comment on that because we didn't go in. they did give us 2 free drinks coupons however. We were getting away form our toddler for the night so we wanted to venture out.
I would highly recommend this place. The rates aren't that bad, although we did splurge. Our room had a great view of the Hancock building. It was cool to fall asleep with that view. We did ask to change our room from the first one due to some noise, but they had no problems moving us! Everyone was very nice. As far as location, you really cant beat it. It's right near Weber Grill and some of the other cool restaurants.
Stay here if you ever get the chance!
I'd give it a 5 but I didn't go into the restaurant/bar so I feel my visit wasn't as complete.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view looking towards the Hancock building
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gigizombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hi, Gigizombie!

Thanks for the awesome review! It's great to hear all that you enjoyed about your stay with us. I am glad you had a fantastic experience, but I hope you'll come back again soon so you can check out the Berkshire Room and West Town Bakery! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great hotel in a super Chicago location perfect for exploring the City. The room itself was excellent. I reserved a King Suite as it was my husband's birthday and I had planned for a few surprise visitors to join us for cocktails one evening. The lounge area of the room was great for our group of 7 and it was nice to have a separate spot to relax. The hotel decor is quirky and modern but overall the vibe is laid back without sacrificing any of the polish you might expect for an urban hotel. Very nice to have the hot tub and sauna after a day walking around the city.

I highly recommend the Acme, especially given the higher prices of many of the nearby hotels.

Room Tip: The suites are excellent.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelgroove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thanks very much, kelgroove1, for the fantastic review! It's great to hear that you chose the ACME for your husband's birthday celebration! I am so glad that you both had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the king suite. Please come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great hotel with amazing staff there to help with anything you need. Great location. We walked to great shopping on the magnificent mile, the river and little further to State Street parking. Amazing restaurants very close, especially Eataly which is on the next block. Hubbard street is only 4 shorts blocks away with many restaurants and great bars, great nightlife.
Cool hip vibe in the hotel. We got the king sized room and it gave us a ton if room. Highly recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AurelioToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hi, AurelioToronto!

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff so accommodating! It's great to hear that you found the location so convenient. We love being a part of the River North area. Thanks for your review and hope to have you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This charming small hotel just of the Michigan Avenue shopping district is wonderful. Hot coffee delivered to your room in the morning, comfortable beds, a quiet location in the midst of a noisy area with lots of chain restaurants--this is also reasonably priced. It's definitely not more than about a good three-star, but it's a good compromise between value and hipness. The lobby is kind of dark, the bar is very noisy, and maybe they are trying too hard for the hipness thing, but it is a great place.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on Ohio Street, you'll have a nice view but have a bit of noise. Otherwis...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi, Hans50!

Thanks for the great review! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's good to hear that you liked the Morning Joe service. We hope to have you stay again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

One of the reviewers pointed out that he feels he's been duped by the reviews into thinking this is a 5 star hotel. No, it's not a 5 star class hotel. However, it has more amenities, service, and creature comforts than you fill find at MOST 4 star hotels.
The room I stayed in utilized the space very well and not only does it accommodate a large comfy bed but also a long table with comfy benches. The floors are hardwood-like and the room itself is clean. Did I mention free wi-fi?
This is a definitely hip boutique hotel with all the trendy art decor in and outside of the room (You'll see what I mean when you check in).

While this hotel can be easily passed over in the streets you can find an organic cafe inside across the lobby. A lot of the stuff they carry is organic but not all of their stock is organic.
The best thing about this hotel is not only is it comfortable with the right amenities it also located in the heart of River North where all the restaurants and bars are located. If you need a place to crash for the night you can use the HotelTonight app and get $25 off with code (mrhee2).

I would definitely stay at this hotel if I visited Chicago again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monica k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thanks, mrhee2, for the fantastic review! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your room and the amenities that we offer. We'd love to have you stay again next time you're in Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#20 of 191 in Chicago
2,540 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 191 in Chicago
2,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACME Hotel Company Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Address: 15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-2751
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £84 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ACME Hotel Company Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Downtown Chicago Hotel. The brand new ACME Hotel Company in downtown Chicago offers a modern hotel experience with stylish decor, a high-tech vibe, affordable rates and so much more.Located 2 ½ blocks from the Magnificent Mile in the River North neighborhood, ACME is downtown Chicago's all new boutique hotel alternative.If you appreciate an eye for design and dig a high-tech vibe, you'll feel right at home. We'd like to call ourselves cool, or hip, because we are, but that just feels like bragging. But mostly, ACME is what we consider approachable - in more ways than one. The fact is, we want your experience at our downtown Chicago hotel to blow your mind, not your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your ACME Hotel Company Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Chicago
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Chicago
Chicago Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing