We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure where all the good reviews came from”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Ranked #25 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not sure where all the good reviews came from”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Blah. Air quality in the room is terrible. Hard to breathe and stinks of stale smoke / 1970's Motel 6 smell. Decor is dreary at best. Walls are a nearly intolerable shade of green. I think the color is popular in nursing homes. The design wants to be cool and kitschy but in reality it is tacky and disconnected. Coffee service is lame. Just put it in the room or the lobby. What if i wanted cream or sugar? No options for that. Loud interior. Loud exterior. Either the air is on or the heat is on. No thermostat setting to keep the room comfortable. And the smell. Did i mention the terrible smell? There are many better hotels in Chicago for the money. Couldn't wait to wash everything to get the odor out.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meremac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi, Meremac,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'd like to address a couple of issues you commented on in your review. I am surprised to hear your comments about the smell, as we have been a non-smoking hotel for many years and recently have been newly-renovated. During the renovation, electronic, digital thermostats have been installed in every guest room on property. These thermostats offer the option for heating, cooling, or just fan. If you would contact me directly to provide more details on the issues you had, that would helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,316
    899
    191
    60
    34
See reviews for
638
1,425
223
625
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

As warned, it was not easy to spot as we drove up. Glad I had that warning to look for the Tokyo sign...or the Beekman Room. Staff was very pleasnt, morning coffee delivery was great. But our king bed room was small. The double room we saw was much larger. Just a bit too hip for me. The super graphic night light lips were a bit too bright, but the shower was great. It certainly was a quiet room. I did like that.

Room Tip: Our quiet room certainly was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi, WestTexan,

Thanks for your review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the quiet aspect of your room and that our staff was very pleasant during your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed our Morning Joe coffee delivery service as it is an amenity we are proud to offer! Thanks again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

OK, I'll admit that we're a little spoiled as travelers (we're grandparents), so the small rooms were not what we expected, and there was no daylight through the alleyway window of our 8th floor room. There are many unique things about the hotel that are sure to please the younger crowd. It's a boutique hotel and the rooms are small, and have each of the basics, like a safe, WiFi, a place to sit and a small desk/table, snacks/minibar, iron, hangars for clothes (no closet) and a full but small bathroom. Location is excellent--on Ohio between State and Michigan Aves and close to all the major activity downtown. Bed was comfortable, but the AC blows right on you. We stayed here, because we were invited to a wedding and this was the hotel that the bride and groom recommended right across the street from the wedding venue. If we traveled to the area again, we'd consider other major chains that are right in the same neighborhood with similar rates.

Room Tip: There's possible road noise from Ohio St on front facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi, Rick R,

Thanks for the review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found it convenient. I can see how the decor of the hotel itself was not what you expected as it is very design-focused and incorporates urban-style artwork from local artists. Therefore, our design gives the hotel a very eclectic, fun atmosphere and is much different than a chain hotel! However, we pride ourselves on a high level of guest service which I trust was the case during your stay. I hope you enjoyed the wedding and your time in downtown Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is not a standard business hotel, but with a funky style, including a huge illuminated kiss mark on my mirror in the bathroom.
I was staying there while at work conference.
Definitely style wasn't so business, but everything worked smoothly - wifi, TV, pressure shower, small gym etc. Also bakery downstairs started from very early in the morning.

So, yes, I enjoy the stay and would be happy to go back there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cake_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thanks, cake_0, for your review! I'm so glad that you found your experience at the ACME enjoyable for your business trip. We always strive to provide a fun yet functional atmosphere for business travelers and non-business travelers alike. It's great to hear that you appreciated that aspect! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I visited Chicago for 4 days and we loved everything about this hotel. The artwork, staff and music give it a fun vibe but at the same time everyone was very helpful and professional and the hotel was spotless. The location is outstanding-almost everything we wanted to see (Millennium Park, Ohio St. Beach, river tour, restaurants, bars and clubs) was within a 10-minute walk from the hotel . It took less than half an hour on the red line to get to Wrigley and it was easy to get a cab when we needed it. There's also a grocery store across the street and Eataly is less than a block away. Our room was equipped with everything we might need, from plenty of towels to toiletries (and a shower cap which I always forget!) to a blow dryer and iron. The staff were readily available at all hours and very accommodating to our requests. We stopped in the bar downstairs for happy hour and the food and drinks were excellent and reasonably priced. The cafe downstairs has delicious options for a quick breakfast. I highly recommend the maple/bacon doughnut and the trail mix scone! The morning coffee delivery is also a great touch. The spa downstairs is cute and it was spotless when we stopped in one morning. The hot tub can fit about 8 people and the sauna is a decent size. I would definitely stay here again for work or vacation!

Room Tip: We paid extra for the city view room and it was great to wake up every morning and check out the cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danihawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi, danihawk!

Thanks so much for the fantastic review! I'm glad you loved the hotel and that you found our staff so accommodating. It's great to hear that you also were able to enjoy West Town and The Berkshire. We'd love to have you back next time you're in Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We saw great reviews for Acme Hotel and chose it over others. We were so glad we did! The atmosphere and décor is fun and trendy! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We loved our room and the decorating style. The coffee shop downstairs was great, too. Book your next stay at the Acme Hotel. You'll love it! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing north and as high up as available. Great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi, Sue B!

Thanks so much for the great review! It's great to hear that you loved your stay at the ACME. We're so glad you chose us; I hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel was awsome. Here is why:
Stayed one evening just to see Chicago
Close to red line for the subway from Midway and Ohare
Close to everything fun on the Rivernorth
Fun room to stay in-great bed
Freindly staff

Itinerary-
8:30am- walked to Eataly to have wake up coffee and looked around- check it out-opens up
early
9:45- walked to Sport authority and then went to Potillo hotdogs- opens at 10- go there- it is awsome- forgot street- Michigan or Illinois?
Tooks Illinois Ave and walked 45 minutes down to Navy Peer- did the architure tour on the Chicago River
Walked back up Illinois to Giodonas Pizza-sp?- look left as it's on Rush Street- and then went to Tiffany and Co back on the corner
Shopped for awhile on Michigan
Went back to hotel and went in whirlpool tub in basement
Went out to 3 dots and a dash tiki bar- you must go- drinks to die for
Went to Harry Carey's- the main one on North side
Ended the night at Andy Jazz Bar- great music- $10 to get in

15 of the best hours ever!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi, Lori P!

Thanks for such a wonderful review. It's great to hear all that you loved about your ACME experience. I'm glad you were able to take in so much of the city in such a short time! I hope you'll be able to stay with us again next time you're in Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#20 of 190 in Chicago
2,502 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 190 in Chicago
2,069 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACME Hotel Company Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Property: ACME Hotel Company Chicago
Address: 15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-2751
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#14 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — ACME Hotel Company Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Downtown Chicago Hotel. The brand new ACME Hotel Company in downtown Chicago offers a modern hotel experience with stylish decor, a high-tech vibe, affordable rates and so much more.Located 2 ½ blocks from the Magnificent Mile in the River North neighborhood, ACME is downtown Chicago's all new boutique hotel alternative.If you appreciate an eye for design and dig a high-tech vibe, you'll feel right at home. We'd like to call ourselves cool, or hip, because we are, but that just feels like bragging. But mostly, ACME is what we consider approachable - in more ways than one. The fact is, we want your experience at our downtown Chicago hotel to blow your mind, not your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ACME Hotel Company Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Chicago
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Chicago
Chicago Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing