We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for us”
Review of River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Hotel
Ranked #63 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Perfect for us”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We kstayed at the River for 4 nights in April. It was the last stop in a nine week holiday of Latin America and the USA. We wanted something affordable and comfortable and well situated for a couple who had not visited Chicago before. It was all this and more.
There were a host of small extras. Quality irons and ironing boards, extra, tea coffee (sometimes fruit and biscuits) for the guest to collect if they felt inclined to do so. Beds we excellent with some choice of coverings and pillows.
The staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. Over all a great experience.

There was room for improvement in some of the room servicing, and service delivery in the restaurant/cafe but a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view down the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank In60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    371
    108
    56
    29
See reviews for
152
356
111
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Great location.
Very business-like hotel but works if you are spending lot of time sightseeing and just need a room to sleep. Metro stations nearby, walkable to major city locations.
Clean, modern rooms. Small TV. The room we had did not really have much of a view. You could see other buildings nearby from the window.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HitenJ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

What a mess. The elevator had no lights. Our key card for the elevator don't work. It stopped 2 floors before our floor. We kept gettin off and switching elevators until the key finally worked. Our room keys didn't work. We were on the 23rd floor. The smallest hotel room ever for $170. It looked like a animal had clawed the bathroom door. The hair dryer was broken, started smoking. 2 towels, 1 washcloth. I called down for more towels. A half hour later they never came. I called to see where the towels were and to add a hair dryer. They said no problem. When the towels came 45 min. later the guy said nobody told him about a hair dryer. It took another 15 min. For them to bring a hair dryer. By that time our family sowed up to pick us up. We waited 20 min. For the elevator and it never came so we had to walk 23 flights down. This place sucks!What a mess. The elevator had no lights. Our key card for the elevator don't work. It stopped 2 floors before our floor. We kept
Gettin off and switching elevators. Which by the way took about a half hour because of the light issue. Our room keys didn't work. We wer on the 23rd floor. The smallest hotel room ever for $170. It looked like a animal had clawed the bathroom door. The hair dryer was broken, started smoking. 2 towels, 1 washcloth. I called down for more towels. A Half hour later they never came. I called to see where the towels were and to add a hair dryer. They said no problem. When the towels came 45 min. later the guy said nobody told him about a hair dryer. It took another 15 min. For them to bring a hair dryer. By that time our family showed up to pick us up. We waited 20 min. For the elevator and it never came so we had to walk 23 flights down. We asked for a refund and had to walk back up the 23 flights to get our things because 30 people were waiting for 1 of 2 elevators. This place sucks!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Foxytravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

There are lots of reasons to love this hotel: good value, great location on Wacker Drive, friendly helpful staff, temperature controls right next to the bed(!), super comfy bedding, sparkly clean room, a fold-out sleeper/chair for an extra guest, free chilled purified water (and glasses) near the elevators, and actual books at the desk in my room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincetonKathyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton, Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Here's the breakdown as per my title:

GREAT LOCATION:
You couldn't choose a better location. It is by the Riverwalk on E Wacker. Close to various Embassies and about $10 by cab to most touristy locations (Millenium Park, Navy Pier, N Michigan Ave, Tiffany dome)

GOOD PRICE...but:
The price was good (~$125 per night) but NO cancellations! So if you were to cancel your trip to Chicago and this hotel, you'll lose all your reservation money!

ROOM:
The room was good. Not spacious but efficient. The shower was TINY! I hurt my elbow twice in two days in the shower, reaching for my complimentary bar of soap. The bed was comfy. The TV was tiny and I had to squint to watch it from my bed.

BIG PLUS:
Water bottles and water stations on every floor - very useful! Bella Bacinos is downstairs and serves some great food (breakfast and dinner)

Will I return: Yes.

Room Tip: Stress/Ask for a room with a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloTraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

River Hotel, a Club Quarters property, is the perfect spot for a business traveler who needs a home base in the heart of the Loop, or visitors who aren't going to spend all their time in their room. Comfortable, clean, new, modern decor. Great service and great rates!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grejebian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a night and overall experience was very good. Check in and check out process was easy and help desk person Mr Pedro was very helpful. Room was very clean and nice. There is a coffee shop / restaurant inside the hotel and there few other places like Chipotle with in 2-3 minutes of walk. Very easy to get a taxi and hotel staff will stop a cab for you.I

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ud G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Hotel

Property: River Hotel
Address: 75 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3756
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#38 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
#56 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of the River Hotel and into the stunning surroundings of Downtown Chicago. Shimmering skyscrapers tower over the Chicago River as Wacker Drive bends to meet the city’s most famous thoroughfare, Michigan Avenue the start of the Magnificent Mile. These sights sit just steps from the inviting accommodations of the River Hotel, a Downtown Chicago boutique hotel devoted to providing personal service and a helpful range of amenities for business and leisure travel alike. Our Michigan Avenue hotel boasts an array of thoughtful onsite amenities: instant registration and checkout, 24-hour concierge service, complimentary high-speed Internet access, a modern fitness center, chilled, purified bottled water, and three state-of-the-art meeting rooms make for a seamless business travel experience. Savor authentic Italian cuisine and fabulous deep dish pizza at the onsite restaurant, Bella Bacino’s Italian Bistro & Pizzeria. The Chicago River Hotel offers everything you need in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Chicago
Club Quarters Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Wacker Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing