We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, excellent location”
Review of River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River Hotel
Ranked #75 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2010

I usually stay here when I am in Chicago for business. The rooms are small but comfortable and clean. The bathroom is a extremely small but updated. This hotel is in a great location, walking distance to the magnificent mile. Great value for the location.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

884 - 890 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2010

If you want 5 star luxury then go pay the 5 star luxury prices. If you want something reasonable in the heart of downtown then this is for you! We were in walking distance to just about everything despite the weather (3/19/10-3/21/10)...restaurants, bars, theatres, shopping. Taxis were always readily available if needed for further away tourist type stuff and would definitely recommend you use them or other public transport as you will pay and arm & a leg to park pretty much everywhere. Yes, the rooms are on the smaller side and there is no iron in the room, but what a GREAT use of space, modern ammenities and the 'community closet' is well equipped with the iron and ironing board. If something was needed that was not in the closet, we called the front desk and received it with in 5-10 minutes if that long. They do start with the minimum...if you're staying two to a room then you get two pillows, two towels, etc. However, if you need anything the staff is on it. The staff was VERY knowledgeable and VERY helpful with everything we needed and wanted. Really can't say enough about the staff...GREAT JOB TO YOU ALL!! Overall, we definitely got what we paid for and beyond. We will definitely be staying here again on future visits to the Windy City!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stlsmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Booked the hotel online because of the availability of a '2 bedroom suite'. It turns out that the 2 bedroom suite had NO privacy or doors for the 'bedrooms.' When I called to complain, the hotel staff told me their add nver guaranteed a door for the bedrooms. Despite trying to cancel within 2 hours of booking the reservation in an off season during the middle of the week, Hotel management refused to give me a refund and charged me for a full night stay. Make sure you get your reservation right, because once they get your money they won't let go!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank dedalusex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Contemporary rooms in a great old building. Friendly staff, wonderful Italian restaurant right next door. Within short walking distance to so many great Chicago attractions. My new favorite hotel in Chicago!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Autobahner44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

Loved this hotel. Found and incredible price for two nights December 4 until 6 for a single bedroom. Location is excellent, with the shopping and "L" stations just two blocks away.
Staff was very helpful when asked for directions and made things easy for this stay.
Room had a full size bed, very comfortable. Had a good rest. Rooms and bathroom were very clean.
Hotel can be a little confusing at first because the reception and the elevators are shared between "The River Hotel" and "Club Quarters", but no big deal. Would stay here again gladly! Oh, and the free wifi internet was very useful and never dropped.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InOctober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Very nice hotel, everything was nice and the staff was very helpful. My only complaint was how exceedingly small my single room was. It worked fine, but there truly was very little room within the room. Oh, and perhaps that is the reason the bed seemed short even for my 5'-4" height?!?

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlondeValor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

I found the hotel to be very clean. The room was small, but well equipped. Internet was available in a business center in the lobby. I was vacationing so this was not a problem for me. The mattress was firm, but that is my preference. I felt it was a great central location and within walking distance of the Chicago Art Museum and the Mag. Mile. On site restaurant was good as well.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlabamaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#98 of 192 in Chicago
602 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#20 of 192 in Chicago
2,614 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Hotel

Address: 75 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-3756
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#41 Family Hotel in Chicago
#46 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#56 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £52 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of the River Hotel and into the stunning surroundings of Downtown Chicago. Shimmering skyscrapers tower over the Chicago River as Wacker Drive bends to meet the city’s most famous thoroughfare, Michigan Avenue the start of the Magnificent Mile. These sights sit just steps from the inviting accommodations of the River Hotel, a Downtown Chicago boutique hotel devoted to providing personal service and a helpful range of amenities for business and leisure travel alike. Our Michigan Avenue hotel boasts an array of thoughtful onsite amenities: instant registration and checkout, 24-hour concierge service, complimentary high-speed Internet access, a modern fitness center, chilled, purified bottled water, and three state-of-the-art meeting rooms make for a seamless business travel experience. Savor authentic Italian cuisine and fabulous deep dish pizza at the onsite restaurant, Bella Bacino’s Italian Bistro & Pizzeria. The Chicago River Hotel offers everything you need in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Chicago
Club Quarters Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Wacker Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing