We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent alternative.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Hotel
Ranked #63 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Belleville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Excellent alternative.”
Reviewed 7 August 2010

I'm amazed at the bad reviews -- my wife and I had absolutely no complaints. It's a small hotel/condo combination in a beautifully-restored historic building, right on the river on East Wacker. So you can be perfectly situated downtown for half the price of the Swisshotel and the Hyatt Monster a couple of blocks westward.

You can check yourself in on automated kiosks, although staffers will do it for you without your asking. We didn't encounter a single rude employee -- if anything, they were more friendly and accommodating than average. We had a "junior suite" (meaning a slightly bigger room with a queen bed & sofa) with a river view, which was quite comfortable.

I can't think of a single thing to complain about, other than the lack of an in-room safe, one of my pet peeves. Internet was wireless and free. This is the downtown hotel of choice, as far as we are concerned.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorJoeE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    364
    105
    55
    29
See reviews for
143
351
108
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

This hotel is located on Wacker at Michigan. Lots of restaurants, shopping, sightseeing and Millenium Park close by. The hotel seemed more like a business club -- small lobby, small spartan rooms, built for short stays. But with the rates as low as they are, it's a busy hotel. The entire hotel staff was very nice and helpful. Housekeeping needs improvement. The bathroom floor had not been swept when I checked in and the bedspread had a small stain on it. On the second day, when I returned at 4:00, the room had still not been cleaned so it appeared that cleaning is completed quickly but not meticulously. If you can look past minor issues and alert the hotel staff when there are problems, then it will be worth it to book here. It's not perfect but you can't beat the price and location.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at River Hotel for 3 nights this past weekend. We had requested a "river vew" hotel but when we arrived it was not ready yet. So we checked in our bags and went out for about an hour shopping and checking out the area. When we came back, we checked into a clean, spacious rvier view hotel.

Rooms are basic but should please someone who doesnt plan to stay in the room all day. Towels and bed linens were clean. Complimentary water cooler on floors, free business centre with 3 PCs for personal use and printer access to print your airline information/check-in documents.

Bella Bacino downstairs is nice and the Borner Bakery Cafe is awesome for B'fast and Lunch. Great Paninis and Salads to choose from. Closes a bit early so we never stuck around for dinner there. Many other restaurants in the area too.

Transformers 3 was shooting all weekend so it was a bit noisy and crowded on streets but it added to the excitement of watching a movie shoot. Night time in downtown can be loud with sirens and emergency vehicles but it did not bother us much.

Walking distance to most attractions - Riverwalk along the River, The Mag Mile and Wendella Boat cruises are across the bridge and Millenium park is a 10-15 min walk. Subway stops also walking distance. Take the Blue Line from Clark/Lake to O'Hare if you wanna save money on taxi/shuttles.

Overall, a great trip and great stay. Will definitely stay at River Hotel for a good deal and THE BEST LOCATION in Downtown Chicago !!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World_Bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2010

The bed linens had stains. The staff was very rude (with the exception of one lady). The towels had tears in them, very old and roughly used a few of them. It was more of a self service hotel. Definatley not a classy joint.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joycek_skinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby Township, MI
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Rooms are small. Staff less than friendly. In fact, at check-in the hotel clerk advised me my deposit would be returned to me immediately, but they were not. Its now been 5 days. Why do they get to make interest off my funds, and more important why do I have to pay interest for incidental charges I didn't even incur. Furthemore, we could not even sit in the lounge aea in the restaurant in the bar because it was rented out. Not to mention they were doing filming right in front of the hotel so pretty much every time we went in or out we had to wait anyhere from 10 to 30 minutes. There was no advance warning of this nor even an apology for the inconvenience from the hotel. And don't even get me started about film clean up crew scraping metal to road and the beep beep beep of trucks backing up whle the flm clean up crew worked from approx. 11 pm to 1:30 am. Hmm, do they care about their guests?

But the bed was firm and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

I booked through hotwire. The location was excellent, however the room I got was the smallest room available. It was no bigger than a cruise ship inside cabin. Housekeeping forgot to leave soap and towels one day. Overall its an ok hotel for the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

My friend and I arrived early and we were able to check in right away. The room was small but very managable.. The beds were comfortable. There was free purified water on our floor with water bottles so we were able to fill and go.. I would stay there again, for leisure.. The location was awesome, was able to walk every where.. We were near trump tower, the Michigan Ave bridge and not far from Grant Park.. I enjoyed the hote and the staff. Laundry service for those that need to wash something and btw they were not coin operated..the hotel even had detergent in the room that you could use.. The elevators were alittle slow, but all in all a great hotel..

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BFFAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Hotel

Property: River Hotel
Address: 75 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3756
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
#56 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of the River Hotel and into the stunning surroundings of Downtown Chicago. Shimmering skyscrapers tower over the Chicago River as Wacker Drive bends to meet the city’s most famous thoroughfare, Michigan Avenue the start of the Magnificent Mile. These sights sit just steps from the inviting accommodations of the River Hotel, a Downtown Chicago boutique hotel devoted to providing personal service and a helpful range of amenities for business and leisure travel alike. Our Michigan Avenue hotel boasts an array of thoughtful onsite amenities: instant registration and checkout, 24-hour concierge service, complimentary high-speed Internet access, a modern fitness center, chilled, purified bottled water, and three state-of-the-art meeting rooms make for a seamless business travel experience. Savor authentic Italian cuisine and fabulous deep dish pizza at the onsite restaurant, Bella Bacino’s Italian Bistro & Pizzeria. The Chicago River Hotel offers everything you need in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Chicago
Club Quarters Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Wacker Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing