We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Chicagoland!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #68 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stan and I had never been to Chicago and decided to include 5 nights there on our way to Toledo, Ohio to celebrate Stan's Aunt Helen's 100th birthday. We started from scratch and were a little shocked to see that Chicago hotel rooms cost as much as rooms in Rome, Italy. So we expanded our search to try to knock down the price a little bit. That's how we stumbled upon The Hotel Lincoln. What a gem! We had a Jr. suite on the 10th floor corner overlooking Lincoln Park and Lake Michigan.

Everything about this trip was ideal.The weather was clear with a high of 70 and a low of 50. We were there the 3rd week of September 2013. Lincoln Park was the perfect neighborhood for us. Within just 2 or 3 blocks of The Hotel Lincoln are numerous terrific restaurants, including Twin Anchors, a Sinatra hangout (he loved the ribs), and Second City (yes, THAT Second City) which gave us Gilda Radner, John Belushi and Tina Fey, and a host of other great comedians.

The Hotel Lincoln sits on a major bus line that gets you to downtown in minutes, or you catch a cab for under 10 bucks. Of course, Lincoln Park and the Lincoln Park Zoo are directly across the street. We always felt safe, even walking around Lincoln Park after midnight.

Our room was pretty spacious, very clean, and most importantly...quiet. The bed was nice and firm and the products (shampoo, lotion, body wash) were all top notch. Coffee makers and safes are in the rooms. The Lincoln Hotel is in an old building built in 1928. We did not dine at the high end restaurant on the ground floor, but did use the coffee shop, Elaine's, which was good, and we thoroughly enjoyed the roof-top bar which offers an outstanding view of Chicago.

The staff was terrific. We live in Phoenix, and we are right next to Scottsdale which, as beautiful as it is, is known as Snottsdale due to an overabundance of attitude. There was no attitude here. In fact, we could not find attitude anywhere in Chicago. We wonder if that's a midwestern thing. But back to the staff...they were very friendly, and were genuinely curious as to how our trip was going. Even though most of us carry smart phones these days, the staff still asked what they could look up for us. And let me add that basically someone set off a cute bomb behind the front desk as everyone was pretty easy on the eyes.That includes the whole staff. Just sayin'.

I am really trying to find something negative to say...Okay, some people, not us, complained that the elevators were too slow. Again, the building IS from 1928. And personally, I would like to see a door sweep put on the bottom of the room doors as there was a pretty hefty gap between the bottom of the door and the floor. I know, lame, right? But that's the only negative thing I can think of.

While we are pretty adventurous people, we will not even bother to search out other hotels when in Chicago. The Hotel Lincoln and Lincoln Park were a perfect fit for us.

A big Arizona thank you to the staff. Y'all rock!!

Chris Cerrato and Stan Kansas

PS...Holy Moly, they recycle, too!! There is a recycle bin right next to the trash can in the room.

Room Tip: Go for a jr. suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,932 - 1,938 of 2,374 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed for two nights in this hotel and we really enjoyed it , the staff are great and helpful and the location is also nice , the rooms are good but a little tired and could do with a little TLC and the air con sounds like a 747 but the beds are great , the roof top bar is also great with a real nice view ,the coffee shop on the ground floor is good but a little bit pricey , all in all a good stop .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2travelGalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The location was important to us as we were visiting family in Lincoln Park and the choices are limited and chose this hotel for our 6 night stay. This is a vintage property which is a cute way of saying old and uncomfortable. The room was tiny, maybe 2' larger on 3 sides than the bed. The bathroom could only accommodate one person at a time. The mattress is what I expect from lower end hotels, uncomfortably firm and un-supportive.

The wall A/C was effective but very loud but it drowned out most of the noise from the plumbing & hall. The room appeared to be clean, yet had this grittiness to it and my wife was afraid to put the luggage on the floor. Decor was typical of lower end motels.

The view was something we have never seen before West Side Story, the back of another building maybe 10' away with a fire escape but without Maria. This made the room dark, but they had plenty of interior lights to make it bright.

Service was excellent, the staff was great hence the 3 star rating otherwise 2 would be generous.

The food at their restaurant was terrible and most people know this because it had maybe 1 or 2 other customers when we went. We found a charming cafe that I would recommend around the corner called Nookies, I believe on Wells St and also Ellys (24/7) for a snack if you get hungry late at night on North & Clark. The roof bar was a forest of propane heaters making it so uncomfortable we left after trying different sections looking for the right cool corner (we were dressed in shorts and short sleeve shirt). The next day, 82F, they finally turned them down and it was bearable and has very nice views of the lake and downtown.

My wife would stay here again based on the location alone. I would be glad to pay a cab downtown to take me to Lincoln Park rather than stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a normal size room, I was told you need to get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buellwinkle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is a charming boutique hotel in a great neighborhood with a youthful, friendly, and helpful staff. The roof bar is lively and a lot if fun . We had a very comfortable room and found the decor throughout hotel to be attractive and clever. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMGEDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I just stopped for a drink because it was a beautiful fall night of 80 degrees. We live nearby and admired the rooftop bar from below. It did not disappoint because the ambiance provided the view of Lake Michigan, great people watching (lots of visitors from other areas of the US) and decent drinks. Glasses of wine were 12.00 a piece. We had one glass and then went to dinner. Fun time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank a5035805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I had the opportunity in September to not only stay at the Hotel Lincoln in Chicago on Lincoln Park but also to attend three days of meetings! I have to say that everything was just incredible. From the friendly and knowledgeable staf,f to the beautifully appointed guest rooms, and the functional meeting space! The food was of extremely high quality in all of the outlets! This was one amazing visit and I highly recommend the Hotel Lincoln as a wonderful option to the downtown hustle and bustle. Best of all the hotel is just steps or a short cab ride away from all of the action. Do yourself a favor and make your next visit to Chicago something special by booking a stay at the Hotel Lincoln!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Giblet62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Hotel Lincoln was outstanding. Checked in a bit early on Sunday and they didn't even blink an eye, just quick efficient check-in and a nice warm welcome. Room was incredible with great views of Lincoln Park and Lakeshore drive. Room was cool and kitschy, but in a fun way with all the latest gadgets you need. Wifi was strong, and lots of power options to plug into. Check-out the roof-top bar, a great place to hang out and have a drink. The best part of our stay was the staff, very engaged and authentic - truly friendly and interested in having a conversation. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_scott_in_paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#84 of 191 in Chicago
999 reviews
Gold Coast
Ambassador Chicago
Ambassador Chicago
#100 of 191 in Chicago
1,709 reviews
Gold Coast
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Viceroy Chicago
Viceroy Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
108 reviews
dana hotel and spa
#59 of 191 in Chicago
4,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614-6043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £90 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing