We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #43 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burntisland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

After arriving cold and tired off the Amtrak train from Memphis, we were warmly welcomed and despite being very early we're assured our room would be made ready as soon as possible, which it was and indeed upgraded ensuring we were well rested and comfortable! Didn't get the lovely man's name who arranged this for us and he wasn't on duty again during our 2 night stay but hope he reads this and knows we very much appreciated his care. Same for all other desk staff who couldn't do enough for us. We would definitely use this hotel again should we return to Chicago.

Room Tip: High floor suite- not much of a view but hugely comfortable. Front rooms have lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    514
    149
    53
    20
See reviews for
566
627
116
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Came in to see a show at the Metro last weekend. From the get go the staff was extremely friendly, without feeling forced. This is rare...it seemed like every single staff member truly loved the place, and wanted a fabulous experience for guests. Many hotels have good customer service that feels forced, but when staff members really care that's when you obtain GREAT customer service, and everyone from valet to front desk to the bartenders offered that.

Our room, albeit small, was very clean and cozy, and the bed was really comfortable. I always wake up with back pain, but that didn't happen here! The rooftop bar was really cool, especially right at dusk. Will definitely come back when the weather is warmer to enjoy sitting on the patio.

I have only ever stayed in downtown Chicago, so staying in Lincoln Park offered a wonderful new experience of Chicago. It's close enough to the el, and a short cab ride from downtown. However, what I really enjoyed was all of the local shops and eateries around us, instead of the huge chains that permeate downtown.

My only qualm was a lack of shelf space. It would have been nice to have a bit more room to put things on in the bathroom. But I tend to carry more crap with me than the average person. Having said that, husband and I are already planning a trip back in the summer, and can't say enough good things about this hotel!

TLDR; great stay, amazing customer service, clean, friendly - you should absolutely stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grafixdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonia, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Lincoln for three nights in mid March. I'd been wanting to stay at this hotel for over a year but always had to cancel because of health issues. So, my expectations were quite high when we finally checked in this March. We stayed in a junior suite with a lake view. Stay in a room with a view of the lake if you can, it's so beautiful! Our junior suite was gorgeous, with a very comfortable bed, a separate sitting area with a sofa bed, and lovely art on the walls (oh, and two bathrooms too, which was luxurious!)

We ate at the downstairs restaurant Perennial Virant several times, and were so delighted by the food. There's also a lovely coffee shop, Elaine's, that makes crepes and other treats right in the lobby. There's even a rooftop lounge that I look forward to visiting on my next stay.

This hotel has it all! I love the location....it's near the beautiful Old Town, Lake Michigan, and farmer's markets in the Summer.

I'll sign off by saying that my very favorite thing about Hotel Lincoln is the staff. Absolutely everyone from Glenn at the front desk, to the cleaners and waitresses at Perennial Virant, are so nice and seem to be very happy to work at Hotel Lincoln.

I couldn't ask for more, and I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The Lake view is really lovely, get one if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haidy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I had booked the Hotel Lincoln as a recommendation from a friend. I wanted to do something special for Valentine's Day, as well as the fact it was my puppy's one year old birthday, so I thought it would be a fun staycation for my little family and I since they were pet-friendly. I probably sounded like a crazy person when I spoke to the reservationist, Jessica, but she went above and beyond my expectations. I told her the stay was a surprise for my boyfriend, and that I will have a puppy staying with us as it was her birthday. I unfortunately did not have time to prepare the room for the occasion, so I was greatly surprised by a few touches made by Jessica. An adorable Hotel Lincoln dog water/food bowl was placed, as well as a Hotel Lincoln doggy bag dispenser with a balloon attached. I also had mentioned to Jessica on the phone that I will be bringing in dinner as well, so a table with placesettings and dishes were nicely set up for us. She also surprised us with a bottle of champagne and macaroons. It was both a wonderful surprise for my boyfriend and I, and he was thoroughly impressed. Needless to say, my puppy's birthday and my Valentine's day could not have gone better. I will definitely be staying at the Hotel Lincoln again as they have great customer service and the room itself was super comfortable. I will be recommending it to any of my friends visiting from out of town. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Being in my mid-40s, I was a little out of my element with the "hipster" culture of Hotel Lincoln. However, every member of the staff, from the valet / bellman and check-in with Isaiah, all the way to Daniel at checkout, were sincere in their over the top friendly approach. From the gentleman in the coffee shop to the breakfast wait staff in the restaurant, there was a clearly identified environment of customer service. Not the type that makes you think they have to, but the kind that makes you think they're really interested in you having a great experience at Hotel Lincoln. I'll be back soon, and can't wait to enjoy the rooftop bar when it's a bit warmer.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Loved the Hotel Lincoln. Great staff that bends over backwards to accommodate. Rooms are a bit small and the el is a few blocks away but walking distance to many great restaurants, Lincoln Park Zoo and Second City. Be sure to check out the rooftop bar for a lite bite, cocktail and great view.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Susanroytristan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This our third stay at the Hotel Lincoln. It is a fun place to stay in a great location for us. We like the funky lobby, great roof top (indoors in the winter) bar and the coffee shop always has something delicious and quick. The rooms are rather small but nicely furnished. If they could only add some flat space to the bathroom I would say it is perfect.

Room Tip: The two room suite gives you more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#71 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#92 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614-6043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing