We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“honest abe would be proud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #43 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Winfield, Illinois
1 review
“honest abe would be proud”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

wife and I wanted a weekend getaway close to all the venues we were interested in . nice place..very friendly staff..joseph was very nice and helpful..thanks again..rooms clean and cozy. food and drinks on the roof were cool. really impressed with the whole affair. we will be back again.neat place...:0)












perance

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weinerwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,207
    515
    151
    53
    20
See reviews for
569
630
116
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at Hotel Lincoln in early February to visit a family member who lived nearby. The location couldn't be more ideal - directly across the street from Lincoln Park with great views of Lake Michigan if you choose rooms with a view. It's within walking distance of lots of shopping, restaurants, and other neighborhoods. A bus/train ride is required to get downtown or to some of the more popular Chicago attractions.

The rooms are very small as this is an old hotel, and could use some minor attention to details. Overall, the room was clean and perfectly fine. I suppose you pay for the location and the charm of this hotel more than the room itself. We visited "J. Parker" which is the small rooftop bar on top of the hotel, which was pretty neat if not overpriced (nothing new for a hotel bar). I imagine this would be much better in the summer when you can go to the outdoor seating areas and enjoy the views more. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the small coffee shop attached to the lobby was great. We did not eat at the main restaurant, so can't comment on that. Overall, we enjoyed this hotel and would go back if we wanted to be in that same area again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CD1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorocaba, SP
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband have spent four amazing days on Lincoln. It was perfect to have every morning the Lincoln Park trough the window!!!! Congratulations to the hotel team specially to Glenn who was so cute and ready always.
We intend to be back soon.
I do recomend it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 562MARIAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Check-in was quick & easy. All staff were exceptionally courteous and helpful. Our room was awesome - bed was very comfortable, everything was very clean. All in all a wonderful experience. We will definitely stay at Hotel Lincoln again.

Room Tip: Room 410, although too close to the elevator for my preference, was quiet. Not much of a view, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ding526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntisland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

After arriving cold and tired off the Amtrak train from Memphis, we were warmly welcomed and despite being very early we're assured our room would be made ready as soon as possible, which it was and indeed upgraded ensuring we were well rested and comfortable! Didn't get the lovely man's name who arranged this for us and he wasn't on duty again during our 2 night stay but hope he reads this and knows we very much appreciated his care. Same for all other desk staff who couldn't do enough for us. We would definitely use this hotel again should we return to Chicago.

Room Tip: High floor suite- not much of a view but hugely comfortable. Front rooms have lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Came in to see a show at the Metro last weekend. From the get go the staff was extremely friendly, without feeling forced. This is rare...it seemed like every single staff member truly loved the place, and wanted a fabulous experience for guests. Many hotels have good customer service that feels forced, but when staff members really care that's when you obtain GREAT customer service, and everyone from valet to front desk to the bartenders offered that.

Our room, albeit small, was very clean and cozy, and the bed was really comfortable. I always wake up with back pain, but that didn't happen here! The rooftop bar was really cool, especially right at dusk. Will definitely come back when the weather is warmer to enjoy sitting on the patio.

I have only ever stayed in downtown Chicago, so staying in Lincoln Park offered a wonderful new experience of Chicago. It's close enough to the el, and a short cab ride from downtown. However, what I really enjoyed was all of the local shops and eateries around us, instead of the huge chains that permeate downtown.

My only qualm was a lack of shelf space. It would have been nice to have a bit more room to put things on in the bathroom. But I tend to carry more crap with me than the average person. Having said that, husband and I are already planning a trip back in the summer, and can't say enough good things about this hotel!

TLDR; great stay, amazing customer service, clean, friendly - you should absolutely stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grafixdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonia, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Lincoln for three nights in mid March. I'd been wanting to stay at this hotel for over a year but always had to cancel because of health issues. So, my expectations were quite high when we finally checked in this March. We stayed in a junior suite with a lake view. Stay in a room with a view of the lake if you can, it's so beautiful! Our junior suite was gorgeous, with a very comfortable bed, a separate sitting area with a sofa bed, and lovely art on the walls (oh, and two bathrooms too, which was luxurious!)

We ate at the downstairs restaurant Perennial Virant several times, and were so delighted by the food. There's also a lovely coffee shop, Elaine's, that makes crepes and other treats right in the lobby. There's even a rooftop lounge that I look forward to visiting on my next stay.

This hotel has it all! I love the location....it's near the beautiful Old Town, Lake Michigan, and farmer's markets in the Summer.

I'll sign off by saying that my very favorite thing about Hotel Lincoln is the staff. Absolutely everyone from Glenn at the front desk, to the cleaners and waitresses at Perennial Virant, are so nice and seem to be very happy to work at Hotel Lincoln.

I couldn't ask for more, and I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The Lake view is really lovely, get one if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haidy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#73 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#91 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614-6043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing