We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chicago Neighborhood Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #57 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is a great hotel to consider in Lincoln Park Area. The rooms are very nice, well appointed with nice views, good baths, very good in-room coffee, and very comfortable beds. Hotel ambiance is great and personnel are very nice, helpful. Location is close to Michigan Ave and Lake Shore Dr action. Nice mini vacation choice and good value. Lots of great dining choices in area around hotel. We will stay here again and will recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a junior suite, really nice with two bathrooms, his and hers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreatLakesAdvocate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,613 - 1,619 of 2,206 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Spent a few days in March at Hotel Lincoln. Drove to hotel and was pleased that valet suggested that we could self park right across street and save a few bucks. Lobby was really cool and connected to Elaine's cafe. Staff very friendly. Stayed in junior suite overlooking Lincoln Park. Two bathrooms was a nice plus. Location was great. Right around corner from Nookies and Second City. We will definitely return.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Creston206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is our new go to hotel in Chicago. Went to opening day of the Cubs and had a blast. Staff was amazing and the location couldn't have been more perfect. Great places to eat and Old Town has some wonderful bars and Second City. Will be back this summer!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanderali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This place is wonderful! We were greeted with a smile, checked in promptly & asked if we needed a map of the area. We stayed in a Jr. Suite and it was a nice size. Eclectic deco which I loved. Not your usual boring hotel room! King size bed, 1.5 baths, comfy chairs and a couch, desk, and a nice flat screen TV. The rooftop bar is definitely a hotspot! It was packed! Of course it being one of the first nice days of spring contributed to that. We came just to hangout for a day/night of fun and that was accomplished. There are a ton of bars and restaurants in the area within walking distance not to mention the park and Zoo.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Espo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I really enjoyed the trendy and fun atmosphere of Hotel Lincoln. It has a great rooftop bar and the rooms were comfortable and well maintained. The staff was very kind and young and was always willing to help where needed. I was also able to walk to a number of bars and performing arts venues from the hotel. I would certainly return if visiting in the area again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamsterchris25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was a great hotel to stay during our short Chicago trip. The decor in the room reminded me of MadMen. The manager was professional, friendly and made sure that we had everything we needed. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missphoto323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Weekend visit for my niece to check out the city for potential job location. The location is right across the street from Lincoln Park, the lake and the Zoo. Easy bus travel to other areas of the city. Our suite was large and easily accommodated 3 of us. King bed and sofa bed, nice size writing desk, 2 comfortable chairs, coffee table, flat screen TV and walk in closet. Although the room was booked for 3, it was initially only supplied with cups, glasses, & towels for two. That was quickly corrected when requested. A single serve coffee maker is in the room and real ceramic mugs, not styrofoam. Free WiFi is available.
I think some opportunity for greater conveniences were missed, however. The suite is plenty large enough to accommodate at least a mini fridge if not a microwave also. The closet has two shelves with one hanger pole. Hooks could easily be added under the other shelf where there is wasted space. There was only one hook in the bathroom (aside from the towel pole inside the shower) making hanging wet towels for three a little tricky. I always travel with Over-the-door plastic hangers just in case, but there are no regular doors in the room to use them on.
None of these incidentals would keep me from staying here in the future.
The staff was terrific. Coming from out of town, We were able to check in before regular check in, as soon as our room was ready. They graciously and securely stored our luggage after check out but before we needed to leave for the airport. The attached restaurant with bar as well as the rooftop deck made for very convenient wining and dining when we just wanted to be "close to home"

Room Tip: Room 815 is a Junior Suite, corner room with great views that looks out to the lake and Lincoln Park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Packingpatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#10 of 192 in Chicago
2,907 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#77 of 192 in Chicago
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614-6043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £89 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing