We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cute hotel with great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #43 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Somerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Very cute hotel with great staff!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Had a great stay at Hotel Lincoln. It isn't super close to downtown but very easy to get there in a cab. Right across from Lincoln Park so we were able to check out a fantastic farmer's market on day 1. On the other end of the Park is Lake Michigan, and we had a great walk along the beach as well. Can walk around Old Town which has very cute shops and restaurants. Such a perfect location if you don't want to be in the middle of all the downtown madness. Quiet but with a lot of options for places to eat and things to do. The rooftop bar is ridiculous though. Went up half an hour after it opened on a Wednesday and it was packed and just unpleasant. The majority of patrons were not from the hotel and there was a particularly obnoxious group of students who were shouting and really killing what could have been a mellow vibe. Only complaint though. Staff (especially Glenn!) were super helpful and attentive. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monica_mo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,207
    515
    151
    53
    20
See reviews for
569
630
116
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We loved our short stay at this hotel and would recommend it to other travelers. The staff are very friendly and the location is great. Our room overlooked Lake Michigan, and we enjoyed the view. You must visit Elaine's coffee shop on the 1st floor. It's fantastic! We also love the 70's style vintage furniture on the second floor lobby area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
244 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Lincoln is my home away from home when visiting my son in Chicago. I always look forward to staying in this, my favorite hotel. Great location, warm welcome, comfortable room, great restaurants and fun rooftop bar. The Lincoln has it all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

First cool experience. While attempting to book hotel by phone, got accidentally cut off. Called back, and desk clerk apologized and said, I'll just handle this. He got me a great room, patiently answered my "I have teens, talk to me about activities!" questions. The next night, after check in, he left his post to personally come welcome me and say hello, like we were friends. It was disarmingly cool. Second cool experience: we had dinner at in-house restaurant. Waitress asked lots of good questions of us, and learned we were in Chicago to pick up daughter from a semester abroad. When we were finished w dinner, she brought a dessert to my daughter that spelled out Welcome Home in chocolate. Third cool thing: the following day we saw our waitress out on the street and she stopped us to see if everything was going well. Seriously?! It was her day off. Ok. Other than that, rooms are appropriately funky, place is run like a finely tuned clock. Worth every cent.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Loved it! Stayed here for a week. On our first day my brother and i arrived to check and the manager was at the front desk with one of the other staff. Veryy nice and polite people. Turns out they oversold the hotel for that night so they gave us a 400 dollar cash refund and moved us to theyre grand suite! Twice the soze the room we booked! The hotel has a cozy little coffe shop next to the lobby which had the coolest staff and veeery good coffee. Over all the style of the hotel is ver modern art with a touch of vintage, best word to describe it is Funkyyy. The staff are fantastic ppl eager to help out and communicate. Its right in front of lincoln park with amazing views of the finnancial district and lake michinga. Lots to do around here, everything is close and a reaaly nice area. Next time i go chicago ill stay here. Btw on the rooftop theres this really cool lounge with really cool bartenders.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Franklin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Your experience starts with a great friendly and knowledgeable check-in team. Rooms are warm clean and comfortable. You can start the day in the coffee shop with delicious muffins and better than most coffee. A fine dining room is also available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. What sets the Lincoln apart is its location--just minutes from Lake Michigan with ample bike and jogging trails and fitness equipment along the way for those who want a workout. The Millennials can top off their day at the rooftop outdoor bar which draws an attractive with-it crowd. An excellent way to see the city is by taking the architectural boat ride by Navy Pier which is just a few miles from the Hotel. The front desk can help make the arrangements. l

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 288TomTom33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattoon, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stated hotel Lincoln while I was filming a show for the travel Channel. They put me up in this hotel and I was very pleased. It's a nice hotel but it's very contemporary. The rooms are very nice staff is wonderful and everything else seemed very good. They have a coffee shop in the lobby which was very good. And the offer valet parking. I would stay here again if I had the chance.

Room Tip: Lincoln Park is right across the street so if you visit on a Saturday during the summer they will ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokeyjsbbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#73 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#91 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614-6043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing