We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #53 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I visited this hotel last winter and were so impressed that we wanted to return in the summer, and it was wonderful again! Glenn checked us in with a great welcome smile and it set the mood for our whole stay:) Check-in was fast and simple, our room was clean, and the view of the park was lovely. We took advantage of all of the amenities at the hotel....we had coffee at Elaine's, cocktails on the rooftop at the J. Parker, and brunch at the restaurant before we left for home (delicious!). Thanks everyone for another wonderful stay....we're telling all our friends about Hotel Lincoln!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,149)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,470 - 1,476 of 2,151 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Excellent service. Fabulous rooftop bar. Will definitely come back. Front desk personnel with Glenn and Edgar were awesome. Nice lobby bar with great service. Easy getting a cab to downtown. Right across the street is Lincoln Park and Lake Michigan.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DThomas891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here last February and it was exceptional, especially at winter discount rates. A funky boutique hotel, with staff to match, right between Old Town and Lincoln Park. Put on your best comfy shoes and walk everywhere! This time it was mid-July and the stay was just as great as the first time. Walking through the zoo and park across the street every morning with a cup of dark roast from Elaine's (the coffee shop in the lobby) was the icing on the cake. Grab a pre-evening cocktail on the rooftop bar and enjoy people watching a mix of after workers, stylish travelers and young hipsters. Later on it becomes a lounge bar for amateur drinkers, so I wouldn't recommend a nightcap there. My only beef is that the two year old renos are already starting to show wear and tear. The sliding bathroom door was uncooperative and the aircon was a little noisy. Small stuff, but at premium rates this should be sorted out pronto.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EatibusMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had a really nice experience staying at Hotel Lincoln. The location was perfect for our visit to the northern Chicago area. The lake shore beach and a beautiful park area are right across the street. The neighborhood is filled with lovely brownstone apartments on tree lined streets. There are a variety of eating establishments and shops within walking distance.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel and our room were very clean and pleasant. We slept great! We will definitely return for another stay.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 7th floor park side. We had a lovely view and very little street noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Watsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We knew our check-in would be weird because we had two separate reservations for two days total for the same room type and were completely prepared to check out and back in half way through. However, Fabian put us at ease, and took care of everything. The room was awesome, we had a queen jr. suite. The food & service at the restaurant was great (Perennial Virant). My boyfriend wishes the crab leg was bigger, but it was on the apps menu, so I think its size is acceptable. Even the bouncer guy was nice when he told me I needed an ID to go up to the rooftop bar (J. Parker) and I didn't have it on me. It's okay though cause we got up there and felt way too old and went straight back to our room and did old people fuddy duddy things instead. The location is perfect. We walked to a number of old haunts (The Alley, Dave's Records, The Weiners Circle) plus some new places (Rotofuji). We were too exhausted for J. Parker anyway.

Room Tip: The queen jr suite was cheaper than the King suite and the ones with the lake view, you don't ne...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MrsDomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were visiting our son in Chicago on my birthday and he put us up at the Hotel Lincoln for 2 nights. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. When we arrived we had flowers and champagne in our room. The view from our suite was breathtaking! You could see parts of downtown from one window and a perfectly stunning view of Lake Michigan from the other. We had 2 bathrooms and the bed was made with crisp and fresh linens that made me want to dive into bed the minute I saw it. Sooo comfortable! There was also a huge walk in closet. The decorations were very trendy and fun. Definitely not your typical hotel room.

The hotel staff was extremely friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. The valet service was first class and we definitely felt spoiled and pampered for our entire stay. Also the rooftop bar was awesome! Such a great location and view. I just wish we could've stayed longer. I am so grateful to our son for providing us with such a great experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kloeyzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Vibrant hotel with great location across from Lincoln Park. We stayed with our daughter and the room was perfect as she had her own area around a corner in our room. Great views of the street below on 2 different sides. Breakfast in the cafe was excellent. Great value in Chicago.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#9 of 191 in Chicago
2,861 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#77 of 191 in Chicago
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#147 of 191 in Chicago
231 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614-6043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £93 - £448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing