We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a Great Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #43 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
BELLEVIEW
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Had a Great Time”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very helpful, friendly staff, kitschy decor in lobby, great locale, comfortable room. They upgraded us to a king suite with 2 bathrooms, which was great for 3 women staying together! It was across the street from Lincoln Park and walking distance to the zoo, the conservatory, Second City, and Lake Michigan. It was a short taxi ride to the Navy Pier, Millennium Park, and downtown Chicago. Would stay again.

Green Features: They gave you the option not to have sheets and towels changed every day and had a recycle bin in the room.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,207
    515
    151
    53
    20
See reviews for
569
630
116
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

this was our first stay at this hotel and we were pleasantly surprised by the personal service, size of the room, and overall comfortable feel of the hotel

the elevators do seem a little slow, but that is our only complaint

highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apatterson62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Hotel Lincoln's staff was discrete and on the ball, even when the lobby was swarming with incoming guests and visitors. Our room was kept CLEAN. Top-notch bar, restaurant and coffee bar. A place where gen-x-ers feel can feel at home alongside hipsters and boomers. We look forward to a return stay.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are quite small and most adequate for one person.
See more room tips
Green Features: In room recycling options and water conservation practices are refreshing.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Glenn gave us a delightful welcome to the hotel - he really made an excellent first impression. The boutique hotel had lovely services, smallish rooms, and a great location near Old Town. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I usually stay in the Loop but my daughter moved to Lincoln Park so we decided to try the Hotel Lincoln. Our room was overlooking the park and Lake Michigan. The view was amazing! I loved how they renovated the old building and made it ultra clean and modern with a fun design flair. Very hip and stylish.
On wednesday the farmer's market opens right across the street. We picked up some homemade jams. Then went to the Lincoln Park Zoo which is walking distance. Got a free wheelchair for my Mom and had a great time visiting the animals.
At the hotel we ate at Perrenial Virant and Elaine's/ the coffee shop. At both the food was spectacular and staff amazing. Don't miss the rooftop bar with the best view. We will be back.
They even told us they have discounts if visiting family/repeat stays. So I will call them before booking next time.

Room Tip: I went for a room with a view and we could see out over the lake. Glad I did. Lower rooms on same si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank janetree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbailey177, Manager at Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for your fantastic comments about our staff and your stay at Hotel Lincoln! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo County, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel had the most wonderful front desk staff! They called shortly after we checked in to make sure that everything was good in our room and offered excellent suggestion for out of towners like ourselves who had no idea where we going.The rooftop had a beautiful view! We will definitely be staying here again! Thanks Hotel Lincoln!:)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keli E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The hotel was located across the street from Lincoln Park and near many great restaurants. Downtown Chicago was only a $12.00 cab ride away. Staff were very friendly and helpful! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Riddlerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#73 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#91 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Property: Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Address: 1816 North Clark, Chicago, IL 60614-6043
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of Chicago’s downtown financial and retail hubs, Lincoln Park is the city’s most charming and historically rich residential community, where tree-lined streets are dotted with a mix of million-dollar-plus homes and classic three-flat apartment buildings and sidewalks buzz with energy from families, DePaul University students, young professionals, fitness buffs, and visitors to the city. At the center of it all is Hotel Lincoln. Hotel Lincoln is an upscale boutique hotel with an eclectic-meets-collegial vibe, offering 184 guest rooms, executive meeting space, a lobby-level European-style coffee bar, a spacious rooftop lounge with panoramic views of downtown Chicago and Lake Michigan, and the acclaimed Perennial Virant – helmed by award-winning Chef Paul Virant. As Joie de Vivre’s first hotel east of the Mississippi, the property is uniquely designed to not only connect Chicagoans with iconic city gems, but also give travelers a taste of what life is really like in the packed-with-personality city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing