We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Ranked #71 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Convenient and Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed for a night and, although getting there was frustrating, the overall experience was good. Upon arrival at the airport (5:40 PM on a Thursday) I immediately used the airport hotel kiosk to contact the hotel. After 10 rings someone answered and put me on hold. After 5 minutes a gentleman answered and suggested where I go to meet the shuttle. I got turned around so had to contact the hotel again only to have the same 10 rings and another 5 minutes on hold. This is the area that the hotel needs to take it up a notch! If I wasn't at that stage committed to the hotel I would have simply stayed somewhere else. The shuttle arrived as soon as it could and delivered the awaiting group to the hotel. From there the experience improved. The check in was flawless (probably as they focused on the guest and ignored those on hold on the phones). The room was very comfortable with a very nice area to work. The bed was comfortable and the washroom facilities nice. I found the hotel to be surprisingly quiet of air traffic however the noise was loud from other guest doors slamming shut in turn causing my door to rattle like someone was trying to come in. The restaurant was nice with good staff and the bar itself was very accommodating with exceptional service. I would most definitely give this hotel another chance.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
VancouverRod,
Thank you for writing a review from your stay with us at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare. We appreciate your feedback as guest satisfaction is our highest priority. I sincerely apologize for any frustrations you experienced when contacting the hotel upon arrival. Your valuable comments provides an opportunity for improving our customer service. I'm pleased to hear your experience improved and we exceeded your expectations with our comfortable accommodations, quiet hotel, and exceptional service that our staff delivered during your stay. We're happy to have had you as our guest, and we hope you'll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Karen McGuigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    345
    112
    33
    23
See reviews for
211
198
74
354
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I called 3 separate times as we needed 4 rooms for Friday December 6th, 2013 for a park and fly rate. After almost 10 minutes on hold, I was transferred to "reservations" and told that no availability for rooms under the park and fly rate were available. That's extremely frustrating as I really enjoyed my stay here in the past.
I guess i'll have to book more than 2 weeks out next time....

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank wicowboyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
wicowboyfan,
Thank you for writing. I appreciate you bringing your concerns to my attention, and sincerely apologize for any frustrations you experienced during the reservation process. Due to limited resources, the Park & Fly package is based upon availability and often times sells out quickly. We value you as our guest and we do hope you'll consider staying with us again in the future. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Karen McGuigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Nothing special about this hotel, except the really nice young lady at the front desk who took time to find my "Goldilocks Room" -- not too far from the elevator and not too close. The beds are soft for my taste, but everything was clean. (They could use a warmer blanket. I had to pull the extra one from the closet.) Breakfast was fine room service. On time and everything was there as ordered. The restaurant and bar are good value and pleasant for an airport hotel. All in all, good value, but nothing special.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NYCJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
NYCJake,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your visit to Renaissance Chicago O'Hare. We're glad you found our clean accommodations and friendly service to add value to your stay. It's unfortunate to hear that we didn't exceed your expectations. Please know we will take your comments into consideration to improve our guest experience. We hope you will give us another try in the near future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Karen McGuigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a work trip (it's a 5 minute walk away from the office) and while I didn't spend a huge amount of time in the room, I found it comfortable, spacious with all the essentials for a work trip - an iron/ironing board, tea/coffee in the room and a decent hairdryer. The room was pretty quiet too particularly given the hotel's location right next to the Kennedy Expressway and is only about 20mins from O'Hare Airport..

The breakfast buffet was $18.95 and is pretty good value for money (includes a made to order omelette). We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was very good (watch out for large portion sizes - the hotel is not exempt from this stateside reputation for huge servings).

Check out was fairly quick & easy - the only reason I didn't give this hotel 5 stars is that a couple of times I asked reception staff for some assistance and was interrupted by another staff member's request - not the seamless customer service experience I've come to expect in the US. And while you might find this picky, the competition is stiff and the standards high so everyone should be at the top of their game!

Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kym H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Kym H,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your stay with us at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare. We appreciate you selecting our hotel for your business travels, and we're glad our spacious and comfortable accommodations met your satisfaction. I'm sorry that we were unable to provide the seamless customer service that you've come to expect from us. I have addressed your comments with our staff in order to improve our guest experience. We're glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Karen McGuigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

The Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites is a really nice all suites hotel just two CTA stops from O'Hare. The services at the hotel are all top notch... as you would expect from Marriott. The suites are very spacious. There is a Starbucks on site if you are into their coffees. It is VERY conveniently next to a CTA stop so access to all manner of things is simple. (CTA passes are easy to get.) My only complaint is that being on the approach to O'Hare, I doubt there is a room where you won't hear the jets passing over.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Don T,
We're happy to hear from you, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare. It's wonderful to receive your complimentary feedback on the top notch services that you experienced during your visit. We hope to welcome you back as our guest again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Karen McGuigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
206 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stay a lot of night in hotels every year. So I notice the little things about a place. I like the hotel, so lets talk about it

Check-IN experience. Small check in area. We got off the airport shuttle and had to wait in line. To make matters worse. There was an airport Arrival's/Departure screen with lots of people looking at it right there. So it made the check in area very crowded. There where only two people working the front desk. There was not room for many more. So very poor design for airport hotel. They loose points on the check-in experience.

The people at the check in area were awesome. Fast, and really really nice. A+ for the people you hire.

Airport Shuttle: Good News it was free. It was also comfortable. Over all OK

Business Services. They need to do better. No color copier or printer. Come on Really????

Rooms. They were awesome. Really nice. A+++

restaurant in this hotel --- Not themed but good. also Starbucks right next door

overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Michael C,
Thank you for writing a review and sharing your recommendations of Renaissance Chicago O'Hare. We always appreciate hearing from our guests on positive feedback, as well as opportunities for improving our guest experience. Your valuable comments provide many opportunities to enhance our guest experience. We value you as our guest, and we hope you'll return for another visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Karen McGuigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Marys, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Although traveling for business, I brought my family with me for a week in Chicago. One of the evenings we decided to take a taxi and the hotel staff was kind enough to arrange a driver. Shortly after being dropped off at our destination, however, we realized that our 7 year old daughter left her favorite stuffed animal in the taxi. My daughter was in tears and we didn't have any information to contact the taxi driver. When we got back to the hotel later that night, we told our dilemma to the hotel staff. They went well above-and-beyond to find the taxi, retrieve the stuffed animal, and have it delivered to our room! If you are looking for a very nice hotel with excellent staff, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracer88lx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Tracer88lx,
We're happy to hear from you, and we thank you for choosing Renaissance Chicago O'Hare. Nothing brings us greater satisfaction than recognition from guests like you on the exceptional service you received during your stay. I look forward to sharing your comments and commending our staff on their excellence in service. We appreciate you sharing your recommendations of our great hotel, and we hope you'll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Karen McGuigan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
#131 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Chicago Marriott O'Hare
#105 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel

Property: Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Address: 8500 W Bryn Mawr Ave, Chicago, IL 60631-3203
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > O'Hare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#44 Business Hotel in Chicago
#45 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#57 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#83 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Representing the epitome of sophistication, the Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel exudes the soul of a boutique and the amenities of a state-of-the-art Chicago, Illinois, hotel. Located steps from the "L" Blue Line to Chicago and boasting complimentary 24-hour shuttle service to O'Hare Airport (ORD), this hotel in Chicago, Illinois, is a traveler's reprieve. Discover modern yet indulgent Chicago, IL, hotel suites featuring luxurious bedding, functional design and technology. Delight in unique culinary creations at Fresh, our restaurant serving American fare, or indulge in a carefully crafted cocktail at R-Bar, offering R-tinis in a stimulating and lively atmosphere. Adhering to the vision of offering more, this stylish Chicago boutique hotel provides the ultimate in meeting and event space, perfect for corporate meetings or elegant receptions. Discover an elevated sense of modern luxury at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Chicago o`Hare Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing