We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Good Location, Worn Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Ranked #77 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My stay at the Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites was very good overall. The rooms were average sized, although they were worn -- the furniture was scratched and the sofa in the room looked very tired. Nevertheless, the staff was excellent (very accommodating to every request, whether for extra towels or supplies, or for local directions), and the hotel is right next to the Cumberland stop on the Blue Line for easy--albeit long (30 minutes or so)--access to downtown. In total, this is a good hotel if you need a short stay before going to the airport, or if you don't mind a bit of ride into downtown and want to save some money over a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert58213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,065)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

506 - 512 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

The plus side of the Renaissance is the roominess of the suite. My room had a living room with a generously sized desk, refrigerator and couch. The bedroom had 2 double beds and the bathroom was large. The people who worked there were very friendly and helpful.

The not so great side was that the furniture in the living room was pretty worn and the foam was flat in the couch. Furnishings were dated. The TV in the bedroom did not receive several of the channels even after calling hotel maintenance. The main door also did not close without some effort. The lobby also reflected a bit of age as well. The sleep quality was not great as planes were landing until late at night then picked up in the morning - right over the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationlover061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your comments are extremely important to us and we value the feedback . We’re sorry to hear that our rooms did not live up to expectations during your stay and I apologize for the airplane noise you experienced. . I do hope that you change your mind and give us another opportunity to win you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with our family of 5 (3 sons aged 10, 8, 5) for one night prior to an early morning flight. The shuttle was great and timely. The hotel was contemporary, and our room was spacious. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Would recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank socyrdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

If needing a room near OHare or the area, not a bad choice. Rooms are suite type - so bedroom and living are separated. Parking was not easy - had to park in detached garage, and walk all the way around the hotel to get in. Also # of spaces for hotel guests was low, given garage is shared by businesses. Easy in/out to highway, clean rooms, good room service. Average gym, nice lobby, very nice conference rooms. Oversized bathroom with nice enclosed area for shower. No tubs.

Room Tip: No real view to boast, but if you want to watch planes landing - ask for a room on floor 12 + facing...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dssrriri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; it is always disappointing when a customer experience is less than expected. I would like to apologize for any miscommunication regarding our parking garage, the hotel provides a garage that is attached to the hotel with easy access to the hotel. I do hope that you change your mind and give us another opportunity to win you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The server Jamie in the restaurant was thoughtful, considerate, and amazing. She remembered several of the diners special requests from the previous evening. Someone should recruit her or promote her!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sturnerjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel. Jamie is fantastic! We are very fortunate to have her on our team. We’ll be sure to share your review with her.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Waited until the last minute to look for a hotel and was a little skeptical but all of my worries were blown away once checked in. Very clean place and rooms are excellent. Being a Marriott Gold member the staff proved free breakfast and internet! Not to mention the rate is only $129 a night. 24 hour fitness center is a plus as well. Definitely will be back and recommending this place to others!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for the top notch review, and your loyalty as a Marriott Rewards Gold Member! We truly appreciate your business and know you have a lot of options while traveling. We hope you come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a very nice hotel but set apart from the primary convention hotels by O'Hare. So if you are looking for convenience to the Stephens Convention Center and the O'Hare entertainment district, this would not be a top choice, especially with current construction on Cumberland Road and the common traffic bottleneck on the Kennedy Expressway starting a mile west of Cumberland. On the other if you want to get away from the bedlam of the convention center this is a convenient distance away. The CTA Subway station is reasonably convenient for access to downtown Chicago.

The suites are tight but you do have a suite. The bed was comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was nice. Parking in the deck is expensive, especially considering that there is a free parking lot across the drive. The deck would be convenient in inclement weather but is not necessary on a nice day. It's a nit but I am a Marriott Platinum and was offered free breakfast for two of the three members of my party because the concierge lounge was closed. At other Marriott brands my entire party is offered free breakfast. There were a few other nits that I don't expect from a premier Marriott brand that usually arise from uneven training.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nrstycz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria C, Manager at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your comments are extremely important to us. We value the feedback you provide, as we use it to continually improve ourselves. We hope that we will have the chance to serve you again and win back your loyalty during your next travels to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
#139 of 191 in Chicago
661 reviews
Chicago Marriott O'Hare
#111 of 191 in Chicago
600 reviews
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel

Address: 8500 W Bryn Mawr Ave, Chicago, IL 60631-3203
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > O'Hare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#44 Business Hotel in Chicago
#48 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#57 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#83 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: £93 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Representing the epitome of sophistication, the Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel exudes the soul of a boutique and the amenities of a state-of-the-art Chicago, Illinois, hotel. Located steps from the "L" Blue Line to Chicago and boasting complimentary 24-hour shuttle service to O'Hare Airport (ORD), this hotel in Chicago, Illinois, is a traveler's reprieve. Discover modern yet indulgent Chicago, IL, hotel suites featuring luxurious bedding, functional design and technology. Delight in unique culinary creations at Asado Urban Grill, our restaurant serving contemporary American fare, or indulge in a carefully crafted cocktail at R-Bar, offering R-tinis in a stimulating and lively atmosphere. Adhering to the vision of offering more, this stylish Chicago boutique hotel provides the ultimate in meeting and event space, perfect for corporate meetings or elegant receptions. Discover an elevated sense of modern luxury at Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Chicago o`Hare Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing