We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the visit and very reasonable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of RPM Italian

RPM Italian
Reserve with OpenTable
RPM Italian is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 9,494 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dearborn & Illinois
Transit: Grand Ave. Red Line
Description: RPM Italian presents cuisine that is modern in approach and Italian in spirit, with dishes intended to be shared. Chef partner Doug Psaltis has created a menu which features a variety of cold and hot antipasti, more than a dozen freshly prepared in-house pastas, and a selection of salads, prime steaks, chops and slow-roasted meats. The restaurant also has an open bar area where guests can order a signature cocktail, or enjoy a glass of wine from their extensive list. Sophisticated and chic, yet unpretentious, RPM Italian is perfect for a great meal or late night out.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
273 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit and very reasonable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Am a big fan of G+B so it was not an option for us not to gin:) I booked months in advance. The restaurant is huge with a very young vibe and atmosphere. The food arrived quick and it was delicious. I recommend giuilianas salad and the scallops. Sooo good.

Definately worth a visit

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnywawny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    925
    392
    136
    42
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
340 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I first learned about RPM on G&B, so when a work conference brought me to Chicago It was at the top of my list of places to eat. Word of advise, make your reservation 4 weeks in advance. The place was packed on a Sunday night! Our concierge recommended to arrive early and try to grab a spot at the bar, where they also serve the full menu. We lucked out with two seats at the end almost immediately and had our dinner two hours earlier than our reservation. We had figs, burrata w honey, and pappardelle all of which were delectable. The risotto was too simple, wish it had more mushrooms. RPM has a great wine list and bar selections. The bartender was courteous, knowledgeable and steered us to selections we really enjoyed. Overall, A+ experience for me. G&B, thank you! We will be back :)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LfeisGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
179 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lives up to the hype”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was a great food experience and the service was also top notch. The room itself was very nice and attractive. We noticed it was packed and if no reservations, good luck. We had the bucatini and lobster ravioli and they were very good, enjoyed the simple preparation and the nice sauce. The gilianna salad was worth the selection, very tasty. Overall, it was a good place for italian food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quicktraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, Indiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY LOVE RPM!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Wow! RPM is so wonderful. This visit was my mothers first for her birthday and they made it so special. From the birthday greeting upon arrival to the complementary champagne to the darling dessert, RPM is the BEST! Our server was Jake and he was so spectacular. Very attentive, great recommendations and handsome! We ordered the zucchini, prosciutto wrapped figs, stripped bass special and the filet. Love to share our meals as they promote here and everything was so great and cooked perfectly! The mini cannoli for dessert are one of my faves! Please give RPM a try. Bill and Giuliana have a gem here!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andreanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Swanky Atmosphere with None if the Arrogance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We visited RPM pre-concert at the United Center. We arrived around 5:00 p.m. on a Tuesday evening and asked the valet attendant to take our picture, which he gladly did; in fact he took several, standing in the wind and rain.
We were seated quickly in a nice half-circle booth with a great view of the restaurant. It was not busy, but by the time we left at 7:30, the place was hopping.
They have a great variety of wines and wine prices. We ordered the special pizzelle as an appetizer and it was brought out within five minutes. Our waiter, Justin, was friendly and not haughty as some servers in trendy restaurants tend to be. For dinner, our party had the filet mignon which was perfectly heated with a nice salt and pepper crust; also the octopus, which was not the best, the Giuliani salad, very good, cauliflower au gratin, good. We saw a plate of fried zucchini pass by, so we ordered that and it is not to be missed. To complete the meal, we shared the homemade doughnuts with lemon curd: we talked more about this desert afterward than we did the Pink concert! I recommend that you NOT share and order your own!

The overall experience was great and I will definitely be back!

Helpful?
Thank liveitup101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RPM Italian also viewed

 

Been to RPM Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing