We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great vibe and delicious food”
Review of RPM Italian

RPM Italian
Reserve with OpenTable
RPM Italian is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 9,520 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dearborn & Illinois
Transit: Grand Ave. Red Line
Description: RPM Italian presents cuisine that is modern in approach and Italian in spirit, with dishes intended to be shared. Chef partner Doug Psaltis has created a menu which features a variety of cold and hot antipasti, more than a dozen freshly prepared in-house pastas, and a selection of salads, prime steaks, chops and slow-roasted meats. The restaurant also has an open bar area where guests can order a signature cocktail, or enjoy a glass of wine from their extensive list. Sophisticated and chic, yet unpretentious, RPM Italian is perfect for a great meal or late night out.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great vibe and delicious food”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Make your reservation far in advance as they are booked pretty far out during prime times. Big bar area with lots of stylishly dressed people. Fun bar scene and very large restaurant seating area. Food was delicious but somewhat pricy. We were only in Chicago for the weekend and were very pleased with our choice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beachmomof3_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    937
    396
    137
    42
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
273 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit and very reasonable”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Am a big fan of G+B so it was not an option for us not to gin:) I booked months in advance. The restaurant is huge with a very young vibe and atmosphere. The food arrived quick and it was delicious. I recommend giuilianas salad and the scallops. Sooo good.

Definately worth a visit

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnywawny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
340 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I first learned about RPM on G&B, so when a work conference brought me to Chicago It was at the top of my list of places to eat. Word of advise, make your reservation 4 weeks in advance. The place was packed on a Sunday night! Our concierge recommended to arrive early and try to grab a spot at the bar, where they also serve the full menu. We lucked out with two seats at the end almost immediately and had our dinner two hours earlier than our reservation. We had figs, burrata w honey, and pappardelle all of which were delectable. The risotto was too simple, wish it had more mushrooms. RPM has a great wine list and bar selections. The bartender was courteous, knowledgeable and steered us to selections we really enjoyed. Overall, A+ experience for me. G&B, thank you! We will be back :)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LfeisGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
183 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lives up to the hype”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was a great food experience and the service was also top notch. The room itself was very nice and attractive. We noticed it was packed and if no reservations, good luck. We had the bucatini and lobster ravioli and they were very good, enjoyed the simple preparation and the nice sauce. The gilianna salad was worth the selection, very tasty. Overall, it was a good place for italian food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quicktraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, Indiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY LOVE RPM!!!!!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Wow! RPM is so wonderful. This visit was my mothers first for her birthday and they made it so special. From the birthday greeting upon arrival to the complementary champagne to the darling dessert, RPM is the BEST! Our server was Jake and he was so spectacular. Very attentive, great recommendations and handsome! We ordered the zucchini, prosciutto wrapped figs, stripped bass special and the filet. Love to share our meals as they promote here and everything was so great and cooked perfectly! The mini cannoli for dessert are one of my faves! Please give RPM a try. Bill and Giuliana have a gem here!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andreanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RPM Italian also viewed

 

Been to RPM Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing