We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Hotel”
Review of Ivy Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ivy Boutique Hotel
Ranked #83 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The Ivy Boutique Hotel located 1+1/2 blocks from the magnificent mile is centrally located, has a great staff and is very chic. The staff always greeted us and went out of their way to point us towards the many attractions to see and the varied restaurants to experience. An unbelievable feature was one of our 3 tv's located in the mirror of our bathroom. So cool. Each nite we would receive chocolates and a card noting the weather for the next day and a friendly greeting in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albertcoheny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

513 - 519 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

I stayed in the King Suite, which was wonderful. Lots of room, and the bathrooms are quite Large.
The only place I feel they need improvement is in their lobby Bar and their Rooftop Bar. Just BAD BAD BAD Service!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneSwtP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Just returned from a stay at the Ivy. We went with the two queen suite (4 people). Pretty spacious - entry way, large bathroom, two beds in one area, then a partial wall and the living area (and windows to the street) on the other side (couch, chair, desk, desk chair, dresser). Bathroom was great - double sinks, giant bathtub, toilet, and an amazing shower. I don't usually like rain shower heads, but this was great - best water pressure i have experienced. The towels were thinner and smaller than i would have expected, but clean and functional.
Other notes:
No gym in the hotel, but you get complimentary access to an LA Fitness a few blocks away.
Nice rooftop terrace with a bar & comfy couches and chairs.
Each night they delivered cake balls and a card with the temp for the following day - nice touch
Location was great - only a few blocks to Michigan Ave one way and the lake the other, plenty of fantastic restaurants under a mile away.
We could hear doors closing (on the floor) occasionally

I would definitely at the Ivy again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonnike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We needed a place where it was walking distance for shopping, relaxing and rewarding. We found it! Our daughter was registering at college and the Ivy was like a home away from home - we could shop - we could relax. Room service was incredible. The beds were heaven! So clean - so inviting. The service was incredible - stored our luggage, found cabs - truly treated us like queens. And the lounge on the roof was a great place to just relax - have a beverage - snacks and look out at the skyline of Chicago!
This was our second stay - it will be our ONLY place we stay as we make many trips to visit our daughter in Chicago!

Room Tip: Make sure you visit the roof top lounge when you are there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

First, the rooms are not sound proofed at all, which turned out to be a real problem when there was a bachelorette party in the room next to mine. I called to complain two times. Both times, the person at the desk apologized, but didn't do anything (the noise continued). When I checked out, they told me they would email my receipt. Well, they managed to charge my credit card, but they never did get around to emailing that receipt, which was interesting because they overcharged me by 150 dollars. Skip this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Carolins S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I stayed at the IVY in December 2012 and absolutely LOVED it! I posted lots of details so please do a quick search for my previous review. I loved it SOOOOO much - that as soon as I knew I would be spending a July week in Chicago - I immediately booked the IVY again!

For starters - ALEX was incredibly attentive to me, as was AMY. I had quite a few conversations and small requests and Alex was always so quick to help me in every way! Everyone who works at the Front Desk was always friendly and helpful. Jetmir is one of the men who works at the front door welcoming guests. He was so friendly to me and always made me feel like I was the only guest in the hotel! He helped me numerous times from getting me a cabs to holding my drink while I juggled luggage!

I stayed in a suite - #205 - with 2 queen beds and a full living room. I had a street view which is what I requested. The room is very contemporary and gorgeous. There are many nice touches including incredible linen that feels luscious when you climb into bed. I loved having a Keurig coffeemaker for my morning coffee. Every night - with turndown service - they would leave a little dessert to enjoy - cake-pops or cookies. Delicious sweet thought! The beds are very comfortable platform beds - low to the ground. I mention that because I'm short and I have been in many hotels where I could barely climb up into the bed. The beds were quite comfortable! Good pillows, too.

I saved the BEST part of the suite for last. The BATHROOM!! OMG!! If I didn't love Chicago so much, I would have just stayed in this bathroom for a week. The shower stall has an unbelievable rain-head shower. This is nothing small....it is LARGE and the water comes out of the rain-head with great pressure. But....there's more! It also has a European small shower-head on a sliding bar with hose that can be removed for extra rinsing. More!! The floor of the shower is a polished marble base - a large rectangle that feels delightful on your tired feet - the drain is hidden below this marble slab. Bottom line - you better prioritize an hour per day for this shower because you will not want to get out!!

If you prefer a bath - the bathtub is the size of a small swimming pool! It's huge and it's deep - so you can soak those sore feet from all the walking in Chicago!

The bathrooms in the suites have a beautiful marble counter with two beautiful sinks. There are drawers and plenty of storage for your personal items. The counter is very large - lots of space.

There are plenty of nice towels, a nice robe, nice toiletries, coffee pods, and a mini-cooler where they are fine with you removing their items to cool your own items. (I didn't feel that this was as cold as a refrigerator but it is a very decent cooler for drinks, fruit, etc.)

The living room has a nice leather sofa with attractive cushions, a modern velvet chair, a large desk with an attached area to place your suitcase, lots of light-switches, a large cocktail table with many, many books on Chicago, end-tables and everything you would want to relax!

TVs --> The living room has a large-flat panel tv, the bedroom has a mounted flat-panel tv and the bathroom has a tv built into the huge wall mirror!

Last but not least, I had the absolutely pleasure of meeting the General Manager, James. He was incredibly personable and I really loved chatting with him. I'm sure he had a million things to do but he made me feel like royalty. I had shared with him that hundreds of people read my last TripAdvisor review but I was going to write another review for my 2nd stay! What really impressed me about James is that he was aware of every last detail in the hotel. And....he CARED!! He told me that earlier in the day, he was up in the Sky Lounge planting flowers!! He helps out with EVERYTHING!!

All in all.....my goal is to make the IVY Boutique Hotel my 'home away from home' every single time I am lucky enough to visit Chicago - in this perfect location near the Magnificent Mile!

I hope you love the IVY as much as I do! Feel free to contact me for more information if you want it!

Room Tip: I specifically wanted a room with 2 queens rather than a king - there aren't as many double-quee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Varda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

My teenage daughter and I stayed here while visiting Chicago. I spent lots of time selecting this hotel, and it was fabulous!! The suites are amazing---exceptionally clean and sleek, lovely furnishings, gorgeous bath, turndown service, Keurig coffee, honor bar, nifty window coverings. The rooftop bar/tapas place was great and relaxing at the end of a busy day. This place has everything---great location, attentive staff....who always went the extra mile!! Alex at the front desk was especially friendly and helpful. Thanks for making our first visit to Chicago memorable and happy!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcgonagallmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
dana hotel and spa
#59 of 192 in Chicago
3,936 reviews
Streeterville
Hotel EMC2, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#20 of 192 in Chicago
2,589 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,233 reviews
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Boutique Hotel

Address: 233 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-3214
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £90 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ivy Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's newest four star boutique hotel located just steps away from the Magnificent Mile on Michigan Ave, Chicago beaches, Navy Pier, and the restaurants of Streeterville. Experience IVY a Hotel like no other... Look to the IVY as your luxury boutique hotel experience in Chicago... Elegant, sophisticated, stylish, incredibly comfortable and quiet, the IVY is everything you’re looking for. The IVY Hotel offers distinguished and discreet personalized service. You'll find its sleek modern decor refined and understated, complemented by works of fine art from local artists. Each room and suite has been custom designed with functionality in mind. Soaring 16 floors high and with 63 rooms mostly composed of suites with your comfort in mind. Amenities at the IVY positively define luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ivy Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing