We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ivy Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ivy Boutique Hotel
Ranked #86 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel, perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We just finished a 3 night stay at the Ivy and it was one of the better hotel experiences I've had in awhile. I got a deal for a 675 sqft king room, and it was the perfect size for my wife and 1yr old daughter with her crib being in the next room. While there's no door separating the other room , it was separate enough for us to have some personal space for my wife and I.

LOCATION - I prefer staying on the Mag Mile, and this hotel is the goldilocks of locations. Not too far south, not too far north but just right in the heart of the Mag Mile, and close to everything.

ROOM - We scored a great deal for a king room with about 675 sqft of space. There's a front area near the bathroom, then the bedroom, them the living room area with a sectional and an armchair and a full desk. One of the largest room I've had the pleasure of straying in for hotel. The bathroom has double sinks and a separate bathtub and shower. The shower is fantastic. Rain showerhead above and a hand wand as well. Lots of space foe my wife and I. The rooms were well insulated too in terms of noise, so really no need for ear plugs at night for light sleepers I like myself. Oh and there were 3 TVs in the room, including one in the bathroom!

SERVICE - I never expect too much in terms of customer service when I stay at a boutique hotel, but Ivy nevertheless impressed. Turn down service was good, and was completed more than once a day I believe, and the staff were helpful with whatever I had approached them with. Valet is about $48/day which is very reasonable given the city and the other hotels in the area. Looking back I'd opt out and save myself $15/day and park about 50 feet away at the self park.

AMENITIES - unfortunately I didn't get a chance to check out the rooftop patio which looks pretty slick in the photos. I believe there's a fitness room as well.

Overall I highly recommend this hotel. Great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TH3R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hello TH3R,
Thank you for taking time to write such a positive review for the Ivy Hotel. We take pride in our large guest rooms, and try to do little things to set our hotel/service apart from its competition. For example, our turndown service and spacious and relaxing bathrooms are just some of the things that we believe help us stand out! Also, we do not have a fitness center in-house, but we are affiliated with Anytime Fitness (open 24 hours) that is located about 4 blocks away on Michigan Ave and Wacker Dr. We appreciate you choosing our property as your hotel accommodation while visiting Chicago, and hope to see you again soon! Hopefully during your next visit you will get to relax and have a drink at the Sky Terrace! Have a great day.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – Ivy Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    164
    63
    20
    18
See reviews for
60
334
34
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Well located and comfortable hotel. Billed as 5 star, but for those who have stayed in true 5 star hotels it isn't. We had a room on the 4th floor at the back which looked straight into the aircon units of the adjacent building - luckily we didn't spend much time gazing out of the window. Rooms are a good size and the bathroom well equipped - fantastic shower, comfortable bed, etc. Some really nice touches in the room which made it special.

Room Tip: Get a room that isn't low down at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maltonian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hello Maltonian1,
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are glad you found your room to be comfortable, and that you were able to enjoy some of the amenities that we offer our guests like our rainfall shower and plush sheets and bedding. Hopefully, next time you stay with us you will be able to stay in one of our street facing rooms to give you a more pleasant view of the city. Again, thank you for taking time to write a review for the Ivy Hotel. We appreciate your support, and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – Ivy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I must start by saying we stayed at the hotel with our three month old baby. This is important because this hotel is definitely geared towards couples. Our baby slept in his travel bed so we had the king size bed to ourselves which was very nice. The hotel is very modern and very chic. I am guessing for those that think the rooms were strange, they must be used to "normal" hotel rooms which this is not - to us, that is what made it great! Its unique, its big, it has big windows and separate shower and tub. We were very happy with the room. The noise from the street was virtually non existent but it is true that there is some noise from the corridor outside the rooms door. However, keep in mind that there are only 5 rooms in the whole floor, so this is not really bad. Not an issue for us. The location is perfect! A couple of blocks from magnificent mile and 10 to 15 mins walk from most attractions. We walked everywhere and remember we had our three month old! Would definitely recommend if modern is your liking. Don't miss breakfast at Yolk a couple of blocks away! Real easy to get to and delicious!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dynasys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hello Dynasys,
Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review for the Ivy Hotel. I know finding downtime with a 3 month old is virtually impossible, so we greatly appreciate you using your free time to help advocate for our hotel. We love hearing from our guests, especially when they have such positive things to say about our property. We try to provide modern luxury, while still making our guests feel at home and it sounds like we were able to make that happen for you while staying with us. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you again soon. Have a great weekend.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – Ivy Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We've been there in January.

We got a room very big, but quite disappointing. The door didn't close well, and that way we could tell precisely when our neighbours were coming in and out. The room was also full of small details, making it some kind of not harmonious; the TV was on the side of the bed, so high you won't be able to see it for long without breaking your neck. The bathroom also was somewhat "strange".

In this neighbourhood, you can easily find something better at a smaller price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneAdvisedTravaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hello OneAdvisedTraveller,
Thank you for taking time to write a review for the Ivy Boutique Hotel in Chicago. I am sorry to hear that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. We will certainly keep these tips in mind for the future and hope that one day you will stay with us again while in Chicago. Thank you again, and have a nice day.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager - Ivy Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Ivy. The room was modern and clean and had a great bathroom (room was on the small side, and had no view). The downside was the lack of insulation in the walls. In the morning we could hear everything going on on our floor. However, the staff was friendly and recommended a fantastic restaurant, the Purple Pig. The location of the hotel was great! I enjoyed being close to Michigan Avenue and in walking distance of many attractions. Overall, it was a very good stay.

Room Tip: I don't know what would have been better, but we were on the 6th floor and it was NOISY. We coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GriffinH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hello GriffinH9,
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review for the Ivy Boutique Hotel. I am sorry to hear that noise from the surrounding guest’s rooms disrupted your stay, but hopefully everything else was enjoyable while you were here. We appreciate your feedback, and again thank you for choosing the Ivy Hotel as your hotel accommodation while in Chicago. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manage – Ivy Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palatine il
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We went here for my birthday weekend. Chose the IVY because of groupon offer. Service was great - allowed us to store bags before check in. Suite rooms are large, no view though. Very modern, cozy, comfortable. The large soaker tub was fabulous, much needed after a day of sightseeing/shopping - wish I had bubble bath - the bath salts were a good touch though. The bathroom was ADA with a wand only set up. It wouldn't stay in place as a regular shower though. Very hard to enjoy the shower because of this. When I got out the whole bathroom floor, entry way and mini-bar area was flooded. We called the front desk and they said they've had problems with that bathroom and we were to place a towel outside the shower - which we weren't told about. Help came immediately. We asked to placed in a different room, which they did and that bathroom was not ADA and the rain shower was perfect. The TV in the mirror didn't work in this room or the mechanical blinds with out tugging them. But overall the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Staff is very friendly. Gave us free glasses of wine for the trouble - which was recommended by the bartender and delicious. Despite the trouble, I'd go back. Location was great.

Room Tip: If you do not need a ADA room, make sure you don't get assigned to one. Or remember to put a to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hello Dana K,
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review for the Ivy Boutique Hotel. I am glad that we were able to assist with relocating you so that you could better enjoy your stay. Our rainfall showers are always a huge hit with guests, so I am glad you got to experience it during your stay. Again, thank you for your review, and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – Ivy Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Service is this hotels #1 priority, and it shows. Great stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a large room, great service, and location. This was my first time to Chicago and I will be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveo200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Stevo:
Thanks you for the kind words we always are trying our hardest to improve the hotel. I also wanted to let you know that we have free calling to Canada from our phones in the hotel! Thanks again for the kind words. See you soon!

James Cazares
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
The James Chicago
#46 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,115 reviews
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
dana hotel and spa
#52 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,352 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Boutique Hotel

Property: Ivy Boutique Hotel
Address: 233 E. Ontario St., Chicago, IL 60611-3214
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ivy Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's newest four star boutique hotel located just steps away from the Magnificent Mile on Michigan Ave, Chicago beaches, Navy Pier, and the restaurants of Streeterville. Experience IVY a Hotel like no other... Look to the IVY as your luxury boutique hotel experience in Chicago... Elegant, sophisticated, stylish, incredibly comfortable and quiet, the IVY is everything you’re looking for. The IVY Hotel offers distinguished and discreet personalized service. You'll find its sleek modern decor refined and understated, complemented by works of fine art from local artists. Each room and suite has been custom designed with functionality in mind. Soaring 16 floors high and with 63 rooms mostly composed of suites with your comfort in mind. Amenities at the IVY positively define luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ivy Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing