We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific boutique hotel”
Review of Ivy Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ivy Boutique Hotel
Ranked #83 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrific boutique hotel”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

What a great find! We had a suite that was big and beautifully decorated in a very cool , modern design and clean, clean, clean.The floors are wood and marble. ( Why haven't other hotels gotten rid of their dirt-trapping wall-to-wall carpet?) the bathroom is all marble, as is the euro shower. The great king bed had wonderful sheets and white down duvet. Great looking, highly enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 24813579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hello 24813579,
Thank you for taking time to write a review for the IVY Hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our King Suite. We appreciate you choosing the IVY Hotel as your lodging accommodation while staying in Chicago, and we hope to see you again in the near future. Enjoy your day.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – IVY Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    167
    65
    20
    19
See reviews for
66
345
36
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel doesn't really have a lobby but the rooms were comfortable. Fantastic shower and at least in my room no view as the window was across from the closet. I would stay here again though it wouldn't be my first choice in Chicago

Room Tip: See if they have one with a window that you can see out of
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvl4business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
tvl4business,
Thank you for taking time to write a review on the IVY Hotel. We are glad you were comfortable in your room, but it’s unfortunate to hear that you didn’t enjoy the lounge. In the future, we also have the IVY Sky Terrace open for cocktails and relaxation (weather permitting) on the rooftop if that is more appealing to you than the lobby lounge. Again, thank you for the review, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – Ivy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I booked the hotel for my boyfriends birthday and he was overwhelmed at the decor and the room itself. Both of us enjoyed our stay. The bed was so comfortable and it was very quiet during the day/night. We also thought the central air was nice because some places you can actually feel yourself breathing in dust which is not good.

Thanks to the lovely staff as well.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilove2trv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hello ilove2trv,
Thank you for taking time to write a review for the Ivy Hotel. Happy belated birthday to your boyfriend, we are so glad that you both enjoyed your stay. With only 5 guest rooms per floor we are able to offer a quieter and intimate setting for our guests while staying at the Ivy. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – Ivy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indaiatuba, SP
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Friendly staff. They are always ready to help you.
Good restaurant options around the hotel.
You can go on foot to Michigan Avenue, museum and the lake.
The room has brand new furniture, nice TV.
Fantastic architecture.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hello Josroch,
Thank you for writing a review for the Ivy Hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you had such a welcoming experience at our hotel. We are very proud of our location and modern, yet comfortable atmosphere, and are glad that you appreciated it as well. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – Ivy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I am a Chicago resident and recently had a pipe burst in my condo unit; the repairs displaced me from my home for approximately 2 weeks. I contacted the Ivy Boutique Hotel and they were immediately receptive to booking me in a King Suite, the accomodations for which were spacious and luxurious. The hotel has a very nice boutique feel, with personalized service and attention to details. The lobby bar is quaint and intimate and the rooftop lounge has sweeping views of the city. I would definitely stay here again and was wishing I had more time there!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hello Christin L,
We are so glad that we were able to assist you during that time. Being displaced from your home like that can be a stressful situation, we were happy to try and alleviate some of that stress for you during your stay. Thank you for taking time to write a review on behalf of the Ivy Hotel, and hopefully your next stay will be for pleasure and fun! Have a great day, and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – Ivy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here just 1 night for my husbands birthday. We live in Chicago but were spending the whole day downtown and thought it would be fun and nice to be able to sleep downtown. It was so nice!
The location of this hotel is great - really. So close to Navy Pier, State Street, lots of shopping, and the EL.
It's a nice hotel, not pretentious, it's clean, the staff were friendly and you get cookies at turndown!
This is a smaller (not very tall) hotel - hence "boutique" - so there really aren't any views. At least not in our room (though we could see the top of the Trump Tower!).

Overall - I think this place is reasonably priced and a nice, more low key, option.

Also - go to the Sake bar that's right next door (it's great!)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hello Alex M,
Thank you for writing a review for the Ivy Hotel. We are glad you chose our property to celebrate your husband’s birthday! We have 16 floors in total, and can offer street facing views when available, but try to make up for that with our spacious rooms and quality of service! Again, thank you for choosing the Ivy Hotel, and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – Ivy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flossmoor, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We just stayed one night for a little husband and wife getaway. The rooms are very contemporary but comfortable. Also, they were amazingly quiet considering the busy street down below. I loved the TV in the bathroom mirror! You cannot beat this location-it is right off Michigan Ave.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a king suite which was exceptionally roomy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanD618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hello SanD618,
Thank you for taking time to write a review for the Ivy Hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We strive to have a luxurious property with an “at home” atmosphere, and from your review it sounds like we are meeting our goal. Again, thank you for your review, and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – Ivy Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hotel EMC2, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 190 in Chicago
2,093 reviews
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Boutique Hotel

Property: Ivy Boutique Hotel
Address: 233 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-3214
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ivy Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's newest four star boutique hotel located just steps away from the Magnificent Mile on Michigan Ave, Chicago beaches, Navy Pier, and the restaurants of Streeterville. Experience IVY a Hotel like no other... Look to the IVY as your luxury boutique hotel experience in Chicago... Elegant, sophisticated, stylish, incredibly comfortable and quiet, the IVY is everything you’re looking for. The IVY Hotel offers distinguished and discreet personalized service. You'll find its sleek modern decor refined and understated, complemented by works of fine art from local artists. Each room and suite has been custom designed with functionality in mind. Soaring 16 floors high and with 63 rooms mostly composed of suites with your comfort in mind. Amenities at the IVY positively define luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ivy Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing