We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had the WOW factor”
Review of Ivy Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ivy Boutique Hotel
Ranked #88 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We arrived at the Ivy following a long journey from the UK. Front desk very helpful and all staff were generally pleasant. We had a king suite on the 7th floor and being used to UK hotels this was enormous. We were so grateful to our American friends who had identified the hotel. They arrived the next day and were equally impressed. Location was ideal for seeing around central Chicago. A couple of decent breakfast places nearby. Hotel was busy but not really noticeable. You could hear people in the corridor but as only five rooms on our floor this was not a big issue. For us the AC in the bedroom was a bit too cold and we could not seem to change temperature. No hesitation in recommending this as a place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room looking onto the street and I would imagine that is a better location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hello John W,
Thank you for writing a review on behalf of the IVY Hotel in Chicago. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope that you will visit us again when you are back in the Chicago area. Our central location and modern design are just some of the great features that we offer here at the hotel. Again, thank you for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future! Have a great day.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – IVY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 750 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We just returned from a three night stay over the weekend. The hotel is very nice. There are only a few rooms on every floor. This isn't the place for you if you want lots of activity in the lobby. We got what we wanted a quiet get away after touring Chicago. The location is great because you can walk to Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and boat tours. Lots of great restaurants close by and Garrett popcorn is a two minute walk. We had an enjoyable drink on the terrace. Our room had three tvs, king size bed and a sitting area. It was very large in comparison to standard hotel rooms. The staff were accomdting and there was fresh mini muffins every morning at the front desk. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEvans11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hello JEvans11_11,
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review for the IVY Boutique Hotel in downtown Chicago. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself while staying with us over the weekend. With only 5 guest rooms per floor we are able to provide a quiet intimate setting for our guests to relax and enjoy themselves while staying in Chicago. Again, thank you for the review, and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – IVY Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

stayed from 5/27-5/29. late check in@10:30pm. walked inside to request a valet since that is a no self parking property. front desk assistant did not even say hi or smile. valet shows up without locking my car then follow me inside to check in. he gave me back the key and told me to walk out lock it myself. check in fast but I had to went down again since he have me a wrong receipt to sign. is the guy infront of me live next to my room. different front desk person already, he seems don't like people using hotel tonight to book. fix it right but did not apologize. next day, we came back can open the room door, front desk issue new room keys, did not explain why. House keeping came clean up but did not refill the mini bar. met a person in uniform inside elevator, she saw
me clearly but did not smile, walk out the elevator open the door got a sign hanging "office" . she works here! check out @10:30am, finally see a front desk lady beautiful smile. she said good bye have a nice day. thank god!!!
I worked at hotel industry before, that's not what me and co worker, manager ever do.
- great location walk distance to michigan ave - shower is great - would save you $40 compare to other same hotel level around there. u know when u walk into a hotel or inn... by their front desk!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cool_fax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello Cool_fax,
We appreciate you taking time to write a review for the IVY Hotel. I would first like to apologize for your experience, I am sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay. We appreciate everyone that stays at the IVY while visiting Chicago, and do not have any negative views towards any booking agents. Also, because our keys are magnetic, we do sometimes have to reset them because daily items like cellphones, credit cards, and storefront security sensors can deactivate the key card sensor. I am glad that your issues were able to be resolved, but again apologize that the issues happened in the first place. We hope that you will visit us again, and give the IVY Hotel and our staff another chance to help you enjoy Chicago! Thank you, and enjoy your day.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – IVY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

From our first walk into the beautifully done lobby and the greetings from the front desk. The Ivy Hotel is a first class run operation. We just love the vibe of the place from the house music to all the perfect detail to the décor throughout the hotel. The roof top is a great place to relax with cocktails and unwind. The rooms are sultry and modeled fantastic with all the silver travartine tile, grays’ and dark browns. We will definitely make this our hotel of choice when visiting the city which is quite often.

Room Tip: The King suite is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello Eric M,
Thank you for taking time to write a review for the IVY Boutique Hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and hopefully you will be back to stay with us again in the future. We pride our hotel on having a relaxing atmosphere, while surrounding our guests with a chic and modern interior design. Again, thank you for taking time to write a review for the IVY Hotel, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Enjoy your day.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – IVY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night on Memorial weekend. King suite. Light, airy, clean with comfortable bed and lovely amenities. Close to Michigan Ave. and Rush St. Valet parking and no need to drive once we arrived. Rooftop bar with comfortable seating. Arranged by calling direct. Friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again as we travel to Chicago several times a year.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hello Nat D,
Thank you for taking time to write a review on the IVY Hotel. We appreciate you choosing the IVY as your hotel accommodation while staying in Chicago. Being located in the center of downtown and only 2 blocks off of Michigan Avenue makes our location perfect for guests looking to explore the city. Again, thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Have a nice day and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – IVY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

What a great find! We had a suite that was big and beautifully decorated in a very cool , modern design and clean, clean, clean.The floors are wood and marble. ( Why haven't other hotels gotten rid of their dirt-trapping wall-to-wall carpet?) the bathroom is all marble, as is the euro shower. The great king bed had wonderful sheets and white down duvet. Great looking, highly enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24,813,579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hello 24813579,
Thank you for taking time to write a review for the IVY Hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our King Suite. We appreciate you choosing the IVY Hotel as your lodging accommodation while staying in Chicago, and we hope to see you again in the near future. Enjoy your day.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – IVY Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel doesn't really have a lobby but the rooms were comfortable. Fantastic shower and at least in my room no view as the window was across from the closet. I would stay here again though it wouldn't be my first choice in Chicago

Room Tip: See if they have one with a window that you can see out of
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvl4business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

tvl4business,
Thank you for taking time to write a review on the IVY Hotel. We are glad you were comfortable in your room, but it’s unfortunate to hear that you didn’t enjoy the lounge. In the future, we also have the IVY Sky Terrace open for cocktails and relaxation (weather permitting) on the rooftop if that is more appealing to you than the lobby lounge. Again, thank you for the review, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – Ivy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
dana hotel and spa
#59 of 191 in Chicago
4,121 reviews
Streeterville
Hotel EMC2, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#30 of 191 in Chicago
5,031 reviews
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#21 of 191 in Chicago
2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Boutique Hotel

Address: 233 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-3214
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: £89 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ivy Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's newest four star boutique hotel located just steps away from the Magnificent Mile on Michigan Ave, Chicago beaches, Navy Pier, and the restaurants of Streeterville. Experience IVY a Hotel like no other... Look to the IVY as your luxury boutique hotel experience in Chicago... Elegant, sophisticated, stylish, incredibly comfortable and quiet, the IVY is everything you’re looking for. The IVY Hotel offers distinguished and discreet personalized service. You'll find its sleek modern decor refined and understated, complemented by works of fine art from local artists. Each room and suite has been custom designed with functionality in mind. Soaring 16 floors high and with 63 rooms mostly composed of suites with your comfort in mind. Amenities at the IVY positively define luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ivy Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing