We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chicago Getaway Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Had a great time staying at this hostel. Location is great, train station just down the road which gets you anywhere you need to go quickly and easily. The room was good, bathrooms always available and clean and common areas are nice with a good breakfast. Unbeatable in Chicago!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank chloeescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat_Meadows, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2015

Chloeescott,

Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel! Glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back at Chicago Getaway Hostel again in the future.

Best regards,

Mat Meadows
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,111 - 1,117 of 1,750 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

The rooms were nice and comfortable and the common areas were always nice and clean and there was plenty of space for everyone (not sure if the place was full to capacity though). The location is about as good as it gets in Chicago, tons of restaurants nearby and easy distance from the L and buses to downtown.

Place is a bit more expensive than some other hostels in Chicago but it can be worth the extra $15-20 to stay in Lincoln Park as its so much nicer.

Parking is a bit pricey here too but there's free street parking to be found along Stockton Dr to the east or a few blocks north in the Lakeview neighborhood east of Broadway along the lake. Just gotta be willing to walk around 10 minutes to your car.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat_Meadows, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2015

JT,

Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel! Glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back at Chicago Getaway Hostel again in the future.

Best regards,

Mat Meadows
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

As far as hostels go, this was one of my best experiences. The beds were squishy (not hard as rocks) and although the pillows were pretty flat, I slept like a baby every night. The hostel is very secure, you need a key card to get into the main area after 9 pm, a key card all the time to get into the area with rooms and your card again to get into your room. There is a $5 charge if you lose this card. We went on the Pub Crawl they put on and had an absolute blast. The staff is so inviting and nice, and they bring around a bunch of their friends to hang out with people at the hostel so you're not constantly with other tourists which I thought was really great. The showers and the rooms were super clean (a bit of a hike to the bathroom, and no private area to change after a shower besides the handicapped stall) and I never felt grossed out. Wish there were more outlets in the room--be prepared. Would definitely recommend for a stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one week as a single traveller and the hostel staff was amazing. Love the email they send before you get there to tell you what's going on so you know you won't be bored! Kitchen area is huge and clean and lots of storage to store your goodies! Free breakfast is limited but always help set me up for my day. Audrey and Melanie was great host and knows lots about the area so can tell you where best to eat and drink! Great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojoexplora88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat_Meadows, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2015

jojo3388,

Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel! Glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back at Chicago Getaway Hostel again in the future.

Best regards,

Mat Meadows
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was the first time I stayed in a hostel since my uni days 13 years ago. I was pleasantly surprised! I stayed here for three nights.

I stayed in a private room which was very basic but met my needs. The bed was comfortable although the sheet didn't quite fit the mattress and I think the blankets could do with updating.
The weather was so cold when I arrived and so the warmth of the hostel was welcoming . However after a day I found my room to be very hot and dried my skin out, and I couldn't adjust the heater as the knob was tight and the window would not stay open. I talked to the cleaners and the desk staff who put me in touch with the engineer who adjusted my heating on the last day. I noticed others had their door open too - to let the heat out.

The desk staff were friendly and knowledgable - advising me of public transport.

I enjoyed sitting in the lobby people watching.

The wifi was excellent.

Breakfast was good too. Was a nice social way to start the day.

I was pleased with the bathrooms but at times there was no toilet paper. The laundry facilities were good.

I'd like to see water stations on each floor. The aircon/heating is dehydrating and it'd be good to be able to easily get some water to drink.

The hostel is located in a nice area. I felt safe walking the street in the day and night. It's close to the bus and the train. There are some good cheap places to eat nearby too.

Room Tip: Ask for a private room if you want solitude. If you want to meet people go down to the a entities ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat_Meadows, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2015

Hi Carly,

Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel! Glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back at Chicago Getaway Hostel again in the future.

Best regards,

Mat Meadows
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I just stayed there for the weekend and it was great!!!! Very clean room, lobby, kitchen. very friendly and welcoming staff. The location is in a very cute and quiet neighborhood. Free breakfast!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank omgitslauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Hello omgitslauren,

Thank you for choosing the Getaway Hostel during your time in Chicago. We are so happy to hear that you had an excellent stay. We strive to be the best hostel in the US and with reviews like yours, it sounds like we're on the right track. We can't wait to have you stay with us again!

Take care,

Jason Schultz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I just stay there this weekend and will provide details as I wish they were published before:

- Location: average. It is located 30 minutes from downtown. If you come from o,hare take the blue line train direction to the loop, then drop off at Washington and get into brown line direction to Kimball. Drop off at Fullerton. Once you are out of the station turn right and look for orchard street, (5 min walking) turn left on Fullerton and orchard then you reach Arlington turn right and there you are. Average travel time from ohare 1:30 hours. Once you learn that all the line trains go to the loop at downtown it's very easy to transport.

Clean: very good. Remember it is an hostal, but not as you imagine. Is clean, I just use it to sleep. Shared bathroom ok. Use a private room, they are very safe you have your own closet to put your stuff and a card to Access the room.

- Service: excellent, the guys answer all your questions and provide solutions when you need it.

- neighborhood: nice and old Classic Chicago. You can tell its safe because there is no graffiti in there, I was last night in a nearby bar and it was nice. There are restaurants at Clark st. Of all kind (pizza, mcdonalds, coffe shops, etc)

Tips: if you decide to stay here, be smart and get a day pass for train and bus (only 10 usd) as I said before only 30 min to downtown. Breakfast is very good with good options. Going back to ohare consider 2 hours of transit to avoid delays. If you want to hang out in downtown take brown line direction to loop and get off at Quincy, go to millenium park, and then the river, Willis tower, etc.

Summary: If you to travel and explore the city this is a good option, it gives you what you need, a place to sleep, clean, safe and breakfast, plus excelent service. If your goal is to rest and stay in an hotel, better get an hotel in downtown

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMgefahren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Hello JMgefahren,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Getaway. We are thrilled to hear about your positive experience. Our staff loves to assist guests throughout their time with us. Every guest is different and we love to make recommendations that suits each guest. We wish you the best on your travels and can't wait to welcome you again.

Take care,

Jason Schultz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#77 of 192 in Chicago
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
Inn at Lincoln Park
#146 of 192 in Chicago
232 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
West Town
Urban Holiday Lofts
Urban Holiday Lofts
#4 of 58 in Chicago
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Getaway Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Getaway Hostel

Address: 616 W Arlington Pl, Chicago, IL 60614-2682
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Chicago
Price Range: £15 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Chicago Getaway Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Style in Chicago's Chic Lincoln Park Located in Chicago's affluent Lincoln Park, the Chicago Getaway Hostel is rewriting the house rules on hostel style. Policies once etched in stone are being cast aside in favor of fresher, friendlier approach. Membership fees are out and hotel-like amenities are in at this stately 1928 Georgian Revival landmark that, ironically, returns to its early 20th century roots as a boardinghouse for women. Today, all guests are welcome to enjoy free breakfast, free WiFi, free linens, free housekeeping, a 24/7 chef-caliber kitchen and a BYOB policy. Add nightly events like pub crawls, brewery tours and barbecues and it's easy to see why Chicago Getaway is fast becoming the city's favorite spot for affordable short-term and extended-stay accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chicago Getaway Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Getaway Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing