We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chicago Getaway Hostel
Nearby Hotels
The Peninsula Chicago(Chicago)
US$550
US$446
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$250
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$241
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$350
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$431
US$345
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$648
US$501
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$215
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$317
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,796)
Filter reviews
1,796 results
Traveller rating
971
576
138
61
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
971
576
138
61
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslincoln parkfullerton stationshared bathroombunk bedshalf bathdorm roombeautiful neighborhoodclark stsafe neighborhoodfree breakfastcommon areastrain stationmin walka great place to stayenjoyed my staythe loopfew blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,146 - 1,151 of 1,796 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

As the daughter of hotel snobs, me sleeping in a Hampton Inn for the night is usually "roughing it." But when I had foreigners staying with me after working a summer camp, they wanted a cheap option for our trip to Chicago. After looking online I decided Chicago Getaway looked nice and that we would try it out. We LOVED this place! Everyone is so incredibly friendly & the neighborhood is safe and is absolutely beautiful! The 4 of us stayed in a private room with a full attached bath and it was clean & comfy! I would absolutely stay there again when traveling with friends!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat_Meadows, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Jayne S:

We love that you love us! We're glad that you had a chance to enjoy hospitality away from the traditional hotels - and hope that you'll be sharing your experience with all of your friends. Can't wait to see you around our friendly confines on a future trip with your friends.

Safe travels!

Mat Meadows
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Had a great time staying at this hostel. Location is great, train station just down the road which gets you anywhere you need to go quickly and easily. The room was good, bathrooms always available and clean and common areas are nice with a good breakfast. Unbeatable in Chicago!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank chloeescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat_Meadows, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2015

Chloeescott,

Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel! Glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back at Chicago Getaway Hostel again in the future.

Best regards,

Mat Meadows
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The rooms were nice and comfortable and the common areas were always nice and clean and there was plenty of space for everyone (not sure if the place was full to capacity though). The location is about as good as it gets in Chicago, tons of restaurants nearby and easy distance from the L and buses to downtown.

Place is a bit more expensive than some other hostels in Chicago but it can be worth the extra $15-20 to stay in Lincoln Park as its so much nicer.

Parking is a bit pricey here too but there's free street parking to be found along Stockton Dr to the east or a few blocks north in the Lakeview neighborhood east of Broadway along the lake. Just gotta be willing to walk around 10 minutes to your car.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat_Meadows, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2015

JT,

Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel! Glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back at Chicago Getaway Hostel again in the future.

Best regards,

Mat Meadows
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

As far as hostels go, this was one of my best experiences. The beds were squishy (not hard as rocks) and although the pillows were pretty flat, I slept like a baby every night. The hostel is very secure, you need a key card to get into the main area after 9 pm, a key card all the time to get into the area with rooms and your card again to get into your room. There is a $5 charge if you lose this card. We went on the Pub Crawl they put on and had an absolute blast. The staff is so inviting and nice, and they bring around a bunch of their friends to hang out with people at the hostel so you're not constantly with other tourists which I thought was really great. The showers and the rooms were super clean (a bit of a hike to the bathroom, and no private area to change after a shower besides the handicapped stall) and I never felt grossed out. Wish there were more outlets in the room--be prepared. Would definitely recommend for a stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one week as a single traveller and the hostel staff was amazing. Love the email they send before you get there to tell you what's going on so you know you won't be bored! Kitchen area is huge and clean and lots of storage to store your goodies! Free breakfast is limited but always help set me up for my day. Audrey and Melanie was great host and knows lots about the area so can tell you where best to eat and drink! Great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojoexplora88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mat_Meadows, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2015

jojo3388,

Thanks for reviewing Chicago Getaway Hostel! Glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back at Chicago Getaway Hostel again in the future.

Best regards,

Mat Meadows
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews