We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“38th Revue a thumbs up!”
Review of Second City

Second City
Ranked #5 of 559 Nightlife in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Second City is the world's premiere comedy theatre offering the best in Chicago-style sketch and improv comedy every night of the week and has launched the careers of Tina Fey, Bill Murray, Stephen Colbert, Steve Carell and many, many others.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
178 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“38th Revue a thumbs up!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had seen Second City on NCL cruise ships, so wanted to check out the real deal when visiting Chicago. As luck would have it, one of the cast members from the NCL ship we were on was also featured in this show! A lot of reviews I read complained about the seating. I didn't find the closeness as troubling as the fact that my view was obstructed by the way the seats were laid out. That was a bummer and sort of detracted from the first act. Everything was really funny, though, and the improv bits were definitely the best. I felt like there were bits to appeal to every type of audience. My personal fave was the one with the young couple at the doctor's office inquiring about vaccinations. We're heading back to Chicago and checking out Depraved New World so that should be a good indicator that we enjoyed it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ebbie1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    808
    266
    87
    34
    41
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Depraved new world = hilarious”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Saw a "Depraved new world" while visiting Chicago and it was the highlight of our trip. The sketches were much in line with our current society. I liked that they did not need a big decor or props to entertain us. Huge bravo to the cast!

If visiting Chicago, get there early to visit the neighborhood. Nice little shops/bars/restaurants on Wells street, part of old town.

Helpful?
Thank love_travel_music
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We saw the "incomplete guide to everything" at the UP comedy stage. It was pretty funny but a bit uneven. Is probably try one of the other shows instead.

Helpful?
Thank axlrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A comedy institution”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was one of the first comedy clubs and is still going strong. We saw "Death by Evening" -- a showcase for some of their newer talents. It was a bit uneven, but a few of those on stage looked like they might one day be stars. Price is great: $10 per person. They make their money from drinks, but you can get a soda for a reasonable price.

I assume that this show changes every few months, with different names, but the equivalent is on Tuesdays and Wednesday.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RealityChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Funny funny funny”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the show at Second City. Have always wanted to go. My son's bought us tickets and it was a lot of fun. Ended up being pulled on stage to participate in a silent movie skit which was a bit embarrassing but also funny. Would love to go back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 732dianed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Second City also viewed

 

Been to Second City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing