We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a pleasant experience, friendly staff, well-appointed rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Ranked #96 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
bloomfield hills, michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overall a pleasant experience, friendly staff, well-appointed rooms”
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We have stayed at this Crowne Plaza before and found this experience to be very positive....We stayed in a suite which was extremely well laid out with a well-designed bathroom equipped with more shelve space and mirrors than other rooms we've stayed in...We had a nice balcony overlooking the city......Even the coffee provided in the room was of excellent quality and easy to make....

When we arrived our room was not ready, but we stopped in the dining room and our waiter alerted us when it became available, even went out of his way to get the room number for us, making the transition to our room seamless and smooth....

We'd give high marks to the friendliness of the staff and would not hesitate to reccomend this hotel to anyone......

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsheltonChicago, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
Dear qboop,

I would like take this opportunity to thank you very much for taking the time to offer your compliments regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro.

It is our goal to always provide exceptional service to every guest. Based on your feedback, it appears that we did just that during your stay with us.

We value your loyalty and always will look for you to provide us with honest feedback about the service you receive at our hotel. Please be assured that we shared your comments with hotel staff so they can enjoy.

When your travels bring you back to Chicago in the future, we asked that you extend the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro another opportunity to provide you with the level of service you have come to expect from our brand. If I can be of any further assistance, please feel free to contact me directly at (312) 829-5000, ext 2038.

Sincerely,



Ronald L. Shelton II, CHA
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    401
    205
    52
    43
See reviews for
193
216
68
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I recently had a weeks business stay here. It really has everything that the business traveller requires.

The rooms are a good size and well appointed. Very clean, plenty of towels and a quiet environment.

The staff are excellent and always available to assist.

It's only a short walk to the river, but there are always taxis outside the building. From the city every taxi driver knows the hotel and the location.

Good grocery and coffee shops across the road.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dermotm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsheltonChicago, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
Dear Dermotm,

I would like take this opportunity to thank you very much for taking the time to offer your compliments regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro.

It is our goal to always provide a comfortable, exceptional experience to every guest. Based on your feedback, it appears that we did just that during your stay with us.

We value your loyalty and always will look for you to provide us with honest feedback about the service you receive at our hotel. Please be assured that we shared your comments with hotel staff so they can enjoy.

When your travels bring you back to Chicago in the future, we asked that you extend the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro another opportunity to provide you with the level of service you have come to expect from our brand. If I can be of any further assistance, please feel free to contact me directly at (312) 829-5000, ext 2038.

Sincerely,



Ronald L. Shelton II, CHA
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
International
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

The hotel was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. My room was clean. The hotel staff was amazing and friendly. They were always kind, courteous and helpful. There is a grocery store across the street. A Walgreen's right behind the hotel and across the street a Starbucks. We used the meeting room and they were always clean. The sales rep Carol Bader was awesome. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iampinoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsheltonChicago, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
Dear Lapinoy,

I would like take this opportunity to thank you very much for taking the time to offer your compliments regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro.

It is our goal to always provide a comfortable, exceptional experience to every guest. Based on your feedback, it appears that we did just that during your stay with us.

We value your loyalty and always will look for you to provide us with honest feedback about the service you receive at our hotel. Please be assured that we shared your comments with Carol Bader so she can enjoy.

When your travels bring you back to Chicago in the future, we asked that you extend the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro another opportunity to provide you with the level of service you have come to expect from our brand. If I can be of any further assistance, please feel free to contact me directly at (312) 829-5000, ext 2038.

Sincerely,



Ronald L. Shelton II, CHA
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed here three nights to see Bon Jovi at Soldier's Field. We were in a Jr Suite. The stay was perfect. The hotel was beautiful and all of the staff amazing. There is a Grocery store on one side and a drug store on the other.

This property is at the Northern point of Greek Town. We had lots of fun walking around there and we had dinner there Saturday night. It was wonderful. Great food and great people. We will be going there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsheltonChicago, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 3 June 2011
Dear Valinor,

I would like take this opportunity to thank you very much for taking the time to offer your compliments regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro.

It is our goal to always provide a comfortable, exceptional experience to every guest. Based on your feedback, it appears that we did just that during your stay with us.

We value your loyalty and always will look for you to provide us with honest feedback about the service you receive at our hotel. Please be assured that we shared your comments with our team so they can enjoy.

When your travels bring you back to Chicago in the future, we asked that you extend the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro another opportunity to provide you with the level of service you have come to expect from our brand. If I can be of any further assistance, please feel free to contact me directly at (312) 829-5000, ext 2038.

Sincerely,



Ronald L. Shelton II, CHA
Assistant General Manager
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I usually stay here when I come back to my hometown and the staff always makes me feel like a king!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken32648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2011

This was a very nice and clean hotel. The rooms were comfortable and the location is ideal. Restaurants in walking distance, grocery store across the street and drugstore close in case you forget something. The staff was professional and the public transportation is easily accessible to the airport or wherever you need to go.

Room Tip: On line Hotwire
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLCHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Stayed here for 6 nights in February and had a very nice stay. Booked our flight and hotel package through e-bookers and all details were correct when checking in, the room was clean and everything you would expect from a crowne plaza (only thing missing was a mini-bar in the room). The hotel may not be right in the downtown area but you just have to cross the street and there is a bus that takes you there in minutes, our 7 day pass for the CTA was a good buy! We went on the CTA from the airport blue-line to UCL-Halstead and it was just a short walk to the hotel from there. Enough bars and restaurants nearby if you dont want to head downtown.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayrshirelinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bfishmetro, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Dear Ayrshirelinz,

I would like take this opportunity to thank you very much for taking the time to offer your compliments regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro.

We value the loyalty of our all of our guests and always look to them to provide us with honest feedback about the service they receive at our hotel. Please be assured that I will post your comments in our Service Success area for all of the team members at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro to enjoy.

Thank you for taking the time to share you comments. Should your travels bring you back to Chicago in the future, I ask that you extend the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro another opportunity to provide you with the level of service you have come to expect!

Sincerely,

Bryan Fish
Front Office Manager
312.829.5000
bfish@thechicagometro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#119 of 190 in Chicago
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Loop
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago West Loop
Downtown / The Loop
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop

Property: Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Address: 733 W Madison St, Chicago, IL 60661-2401 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Family Hotel in Chicago
#90 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza West Loop. Crowne Plaza West Loop, the closest hotel to the United Center, is a winning choice for your lodging needs. Nestled in the shadow of the Willis Tower, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is centrally located to many of Chicago's finest attractions. Just blocks from the Loop, and Michigan Ave./Magnificent Mile shopping, Adler Planetarium, Art Institute of Chicago and Navy Pier are located a short distance away. From its brilliantly designed architecture, sleek modern interiors, masterfully appointed guest rooms and numerous amenities, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is the perfect choice for the discerning traveler. Experience our highly acclaimed restaurant Dine, with eclectic cuisine to fit every palate served in a charming retro diner atmosphere with an upbeat contemporary style. Our event space and outstanding service make Crowne Plaza West Loop The Place to Meet. Our Crowne Meetings Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for wedding, conference, banquet and meeting planners. The Crowne Plaza West Loop is everything you expect, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro Hotel Chicago
Chicago Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing