We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for short business stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Ranked #99 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fine for short business stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Stayed 3 nights on business. It’s a perfectly fine hotel (if a bit older) in an average location, about 5 city blocks across the freeway from the CBD, walkable in nice weather. Free wifi in room is a definite plus. My room was very quiet because it did not face the freeway (it faced Walgreen’s). I didn’t have time to explore the area (only traveling back & forth to the office downtown, so maybe I missed attractions/restaurants in other directions, but just from what I could see, there wasn’t much nearby, except for the nice grocery store across the street.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nijunihk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    381
    194
    49
    42
See reviews for
179
211
66
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Spent nine nights at the Crowne Plaza Metro. Staff were terrific in all aspects! Great location in Greek town--perfect for as much Greek dining as you could ever want. I used the bus routes as well as taxis for getting to work and to Michigan Ave for shopping--both were very convenient and very easy! My room was a little small, but the walk out balcony made up for everything. This is a pet friendly hotel, and being able to have my dogs with me while being away from home for over a week made my business trip much more pleasant. I'll definitely stay here on future visits.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leigh1865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsheltonChicago, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear leigh1865:

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us.

It is our goal to provide a "Pet Friendly hotel" for our guest who travel with their companions, it appears that we totally achieved that during your stay. We thank you for allowing us to share in your experience and our hotel team will love to learn that they've impacted your experience.

With the information received we can ensure your positive experiences will be mirrored and shared with our guests in the future.

We value the loyalty of our all of our guests and always look to them to provide us with honest feedback so we can improve our services.

Again, thank you for allowing us to celebrate with you. Should you need further assistance, please feel free to contact me directly at (312) 829-5000, ext 2038.



Sincerely,

Ron Shelton, MBA CHA
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Great staff. Wonderful rooms, with reasonable rates.

Room Tip: If traveling with another couple..spring for a suite. One gets a bedroom and one get the semi comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Remark504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsheltonChicago, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear Remark504:

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us.

It is our goal to provide a "A Very Nice Hotel" experience with "A good location" to every guest, it appears that we totally achieved that during your stay. We thank you for allowing us to share in your experience and our hotel team will love to learn that they've impacted your experience. With the information regarding your suggestive feedback regarding our suites we can ensure your positive experiences will be shared with our guests in the future.

We value the loyalty of our all of our guests and always look to them to provide us with honest feedback so we can improve our services.

Again, thank you for allowing us to celebrate with you. Should you need further assistance, please feel free to contact me directly at (312) 829-5000, ext 2038.



Sincerely,

Ron Shelton, MBA CHA
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

This hotel was awesome because we drove to Chicago and it's right off of the highway. I liked that it wasn't downtown but that cabs were cheap and readily available!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyKate123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsheltonChicago, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear EmilyKate123:

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us.

It is our goal to provide a "A good location" for every guest who stays with our hotel. It appears that we totally achieved that during your stay. We thank you for allowing us to share in your experience and our hotel team will love to learn that our location impacted your experience. With the information received we can ensure your positive experiences will be mirrored and shared with our guests in the future.

We value the loyalty of our all of our guests and always look to them to provide us with honest feedback so we can improve our services.

Again, thank you for allowing us to celebrate with you. Should you need further assistance, please feel free to contact me directly at (312) 829-5000, ext 2038.



Sincerely,

Ron Shelton, MBA CHA
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

My wife and I are usually stay here using points as a way to get in the city for a weekend getaway from the suburbs. It is the best value as far as I'm concerned. Very nice atmosphere, in a great location, and nice suites. All parking is valet which is really the only inconvenience since it is $30 or $35. There is a grocery store across the street if you need anything for your stay. Walking distance to the train. A little less expensive than staying on Michigan Avenue but no less in quality. One other suggestion would be for the rooms that open up outside, hire an exterminator. There are many spiders that could easily be eliminated either from housekeeping or a weekly inspection. We really couldn't utilize that nice feature of the room.

Room Tip: Be a member of their priority club. We always get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsheltonChicago, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear jjscott:

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us.

It is our goal to provide a "Very nice" experience to every guest, it appears that we achieved that during your stay. We thank you for informing us about your balcony experience and our hotel department responsible will learn of your feedback so we can improve in that area. With the information received we can ensure your positive experiences will be mirrored and shared with our guests in the future.

We value the loyalty of our all of our guests and always look to them to provide us with honest feedback so we can improve our services.

Again, thank you for allowing us to celebrate with you. Should you need further assistance, please feel free to contact me directly at (312) 829-5000, ext 2038.



Sincerely,

Ron Shelton, MBA CHA
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed at Crowne Plaza Chicago in May 2011. The bedrooms are great and clean. There is coffee every morning in the front desk. The wifi is very slow, but there is a business center very good.
The hotel is well located, but we love walk...so, we are not a standard couple.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsheltonChicago, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear gmayer:

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us.

It is our goal to provide a "A good hotel" experience to every guest, it appears that we totally achieved that during your stay. We thank you for allowing us to share in your experience and our hotel team will love to learn that they've impacted your experience. With the information received we can ensure your positive experiences will be mirrored and shared with our guests in the future.

We value the loyalty of our all of our guests and always look to them to provide us with honest feedback so we can improve our services.

Again, thank you for allowing us to celebrate with you. Should you need further assistance, please feel free to contact me directly at (312) 829-5000, ext 2038.



Sincerely,

Ron Shelton, MBA CHA
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

I will start by saying that I am partial to this hotel since it holds sentimental value for me. However, the whole reason we decided to hold such a special event here was because of the impeccable service, individual attention, and higher end vibe we received at the Metro. My husband and I first stayed in a suite that has a balcony that overlooks downtown Chicago. In fact, all of the rooms have full functioning balconies, something you don't see often in Chicago. The staff was very courteous and attentive. The rooms were well decorated and gave you a high end feel. I love, love, love their showers! Perfect water pressure and the hot water won't s boil you! The beds were very comfortable.

The location of the hotel is very unique and is the only large hotel in the Greek Town/ West Loop area. I love this part of Chicago. It's close to spas, shops, tons of restaurants (seriously, TONS), and is close to University of IL- Chicago (UIC), University Village, United Center, Harpo Studios, which are all fun places to visit. Downtown Chicago is literally across the street (well, highway to be exact) and is within walking distance to the Loop.

I definitely recommend this hotel for any trip to Chicago, meetings, or event.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aparad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsheltonChicago, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Dear Aparad2:

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us.

It is our goal to provide a Unique Crowne Plaza experience to every guest, it appears that we totally achieved that during your stay. We thank you for allowing us to share in your wedded bliss during your stay here and our Catering/Banquets Team as well as our hotel team will love to learn that they've impacted your experience. With the information received we can ensure your positive experiences will be mirrored and shared with our guests in the future.

We value the loyalty of our all of our guests and always look to them to provide us with honest feedback so we can improve our services.

Again, thank you for allowing us to celebrate with you. Should you need further assistance, please feel free to contact me directly at (312) 829-5000, ext 2038.



Sincerely,

Ron Shelton, MBA CHA
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#112 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Loop
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago West Loop
Near North Side
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop

Property: Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Address: 733 W Madison St, Chicago, IL 60661-2401 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Family Hotel in Chicago
#90 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza West Loop. Crowne Plaza West Loop, the closest hotel to the United Center, is a winning choice for your lodging needs. Nestled in the shadow of the Willis Tower, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is centrally located to many of Chicago's finest attractions. Just blocks from the Loop, and Michigan Ave./Magnificent Mile shopping, Adler Planetarium, Art Institute of Chicago and Navy Pier are located a short distance away. From its brilliantly designed architecture, sleek modern interiors, masterfully appointed guest rooms and numerous amenities, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is the perfect choice for the discerning traveler. Experience our highly acclaimed restaurant Dine, with eclectic cuisine to fit every palate served in a charming retro diner atmosphere with an upbeat contemporary style. Our event space and outstanding service make Crowne Plaza West Loop The Place to Meet. Our Crowne Meetings Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for wedding, conference, banquet and meeting planners. The Crowne Plaza West Loop is everything you expect, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro Hotel Chicago
Chicago Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing